Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cork Flooring Tiles or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Sealed Cork Tiles

Pack of 9 covers 0.84m2. Precoated with a tough acrylic surface. Ideal for use in kitchens and bathrooms. To ensure an even distribution of natural shade variation, shuffle the tiles before fixing. Prior to installation, acclimatise the tiles by removing from the packaging and lay them out in the room where they are to be fitted, 24 hours prior to fixing. Install using Wickes parquet and cork adhesive. If installing in areas prone to dampness or moisture, a further coat of Wickes polyurethane varnish is recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.789 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sealed Cork Tiles
Review 1 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cork tiles look good easy to fit,
By Garethwp
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 December 2013
Pros: look great easy to fit, durable and and natural product
Cons: none
" Fitted these tiles using wickes own parquet and cork tile adhesive which worked fantastic, just followed the instructions on the cork tile pack and the adhesive tub and hey they stuck down.
I glued 250 tiles and didn't have a problem with any of them. they were glued through a kitchen, hallway and toilet. and have provided a warm, comfortable durable and fantastic looking floor covering.
"
+61points
61out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A successful job done!,
By Rhoderick
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
24 October 2013
" Excellent quality cork tiles which were easy to cut to shape where needed. I used a traditional impact adhesive (still obtainable via an internet site), applying it just to the floor, and obtained perfect adhesion and a totally smooth flat floor. "
-49points
28out of 105found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value fro money,
By smallgirl
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 July 2013
" Great to see Wickes still stock more than most other DIY suppliers :) We needed these to infill a pre completed floor and Wickes was the only place locally that could supply them, phew for Wickes! "
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good tiles, poor glue,
By harmanmogul
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 November 2012
Pros: nice product and economically priced
Cons: very poor adhesion using supplier's glue
" Cork tile flooring seems to have fallen out of fashion, and this is the only product I could find. The tiles are of good quality and economically priced.
But beware! The recommended tile cement is not. The tiles were laid on a flat cement screed, cured long since, and given a PVA primer coat as recommended. Despite this, and following maker's instructions, many tile joins curled up, and significant re-laying work was required.
Re-work is nowhere more unwelcome than in laying floors, when it holds up the next work stage.
This tile and glue combination may work fine on other types of subfloor but my recommendation is to avoid it for cement screed subfloors. "
+62points
66out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not for me,
By iscashe
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
07 August 2012
Pros: lovely material
Cons: not ready-glued
" I bought a few packs as a last resort, as I had tried everywhere else to buy ready-glued ones previously used, but found it totally impractical having to spread glue and lay the tiles - fine maybe for vinyl tiles but cork tiles vary in size too much.
If Wickes would stock the ready-glued (where you just pull off the back paper) tiles I would do my whole house with them. "
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks good initially.....,
By Retiredandhappy
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
04 April 2012
Pros: cheap-ish
Cons: fade very badly in sunlight
" I wanted solid flooring in my lounge, but not laminate or wood. I searched everywhere for cork, and apart from Wickes, everywhere else was outrageously expensive. Although these are recommended for kitchens and bathrooms, so far they've worked out very well in my lounge - they're fairly warm, very quiet, and the cork grows on trees, so is a renewable source - ideal.
However, they've been down for less than a year, and even though they've been coated with an extra TWO coats of varnish, they have faded very badly in the sunlight. I'm deeply disappointed, and the end result is that Now I have to have another new floor.. So not such good value after all.
Okay, My lounge faces South and gets quite a lot of sunlight in one area, but the fading is only in that area. The original coloured tiles look lovely and the faded area looks washed out, cheap and nasty. There is no warning on these tiles that they are not to be used in Sunlight - so if Wickes ever has these reviews read, then take note of this massive and dreadful fault. Expensive!
"
+28points
34out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy,
By barbie1
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 August 2011
Pros: cheap and expensive looking
Cons: messy glue
" was dreading this project after laminate ...but surprise!. easy and stick well .look expensive. Only prob was glue very messy and not easy to get off hands, but really happy and want to do whole house "
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CORK TILES,
By ETTIE
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 January 2011
" brilliant price. cheaper than any local shops or other internet sites. great quality cork tiles. warm underfoot. Easy to lay. great to look at and nothing breaks if you drop it on the floor! "
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Size varies,
By Donotbuythis
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
16 October 2010
" Bought several packs of tiles but the size varied between packs by up to 2mm, therefore making it difficult to mix and lay to a high standard. Even ended up cutting some to size! "
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
By Melodeon
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 May 2010
" I spent ages loooking for a supplier of cork tiles - Wickes is the only company to sell them in reasonably small quantities for domestic use.
The tiles are beautiful and are perfect for my bathroom. they went down very easily and I used a thixotropic adhesive for them.
They are easier than ceramics to lay and feel lovely and warm underfoot.
"
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely Finished Product,
By SoloJazzy
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 December 2009
" Lovely quality, and warm underfoot. I put them shiny side down, and then added a pale wash before sealing them. They look very glamorous in my Art Deco style bathroom. "
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
By JJEPD
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 October 2009
" Good value for product which is almost unavailable anywhere else value and very efficient delivery service. "
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cork tiles,
By Gareth
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 September 2008
" These cork tiles are very good and quickly go down on a prepared floor. For the edges, the tiles are easy to cut with medium duty scissors or a Stanley knife. I have used non glossed tiles previously but I do prefer these as excess glue is easy to wipe off and the tiles stay clean so that they can have an extra surface gloss. Tiles can always be flipped over (to the non gloss side) if a stained pattern is required on the floor. The recommended Wickes glue has worked well. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy Flooring,
By dogman
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 August 2008
Pros: easy to lay and cut, look great and hard wearing, sweep and mop clean
" I needed a replacement for my worn out bedroom carpet. These were easy to lay, are warm underfoot and absorb sound really well. Once the partical board subfloor was prepared with a PVA solution mess became minimal and no sawdust! Recommended. "
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sealed Cork Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By nicoleg
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 August 2008
" I bought these to make my children a pin board, for the endless artwork they produce. Very great value and they look pretty cool to. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sealed Cork Tiles
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
RatingsOverall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5