Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Underlay or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes General Purpose Underlay

Wickes General Purpose Underlay is the cost effective method to add thermal and sound protection as well as help to resist moisture to the underside of the flooring. Suitable for all flooring types.
Average Customer Rating:
4.327 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 Reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
49 of 52(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Review 1 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not fit for purpose,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
29 March 2016
Pros: none
Cons: item glued all way round roll, to thin
" When we opened the bag the underlay had been glued so we try end to un roll it and we lost a full turn cos it went all the way round ripping the underlay. This was very thin and of no use not for going under laminate waste of money were stuck with it, it's only good for wrapping stuff for a house move or something like that "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 March 2016
" Simple to use easy to cut I tape the joints with parcel tape to hold secure no need for expensive gaffa tape "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does its job,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 February 2016
" This is the cheapest underlay but it does its job perfectly. I did not feel the need to buy another one more expensive. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
15 February 2016
Pros: good value
Cons: cant think of any
" Good value have used it many times, dont know why anybody would pay for more expensive underlay. Put it down over 12yrs ago under wood floor in living room .....lots of traffic, have never had a problem with it, just bought a load to do my Sons living room "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 February 2016
" Easy to cut and put down. Rips easily but was on brand new floor so didn't need anything more substantial "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 February 2016
" Product is ok for the price , I think the better quality thermal with foil version is better. This one was fine for the bedroom and does feel fine under the flooring. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Underlay,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 December 2015
" Just used the product it seems to do the job alright. I would recommend it.!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 October 2015
" Good value for money, not too thin. Would have liked more info before buying. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It doesn't make floor level,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
16 October 2015
" I bought it for the whole house but it didnt make the floor level. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-25points
0out of 25found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team22 October 2015
Dear Fizz43, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry to learn that you found our product information unclear. I would like to clarify that the 2mm underlay can not be used to level any floor. The main purposes of underlay are to stop moisture from affecting your new floor from underneath, sound reducing and thermal insulation. You may be interested in one of our levelling compounds. Kind Regards, Wickes.
Review 10 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good underlay,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 September 2015
" Great underlay no problems great price would buy again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
you get what you pay for,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
14 September 2015
" it does the job no need to pay out loads of money it does the job very good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 June 2015
" Does the job, excellent value for money. I would recomment this product to a friend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 May 2015
" Good quality product does exactly what Is says on the pack "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
16 April 2015
" Thin foam, I used it under beech effect laminate on top of an old wooden floor. It smoothed out minor irregularities. Not sure if it makes any difference to noise "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 March 2014
" Completely satisfied with the product and I recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-5points
15out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Underlay,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
21 January 2014
Cons: maller than advertized
" This product is average quality. The edges are not very straight, making it difficult to keep an equal margin. Lastly, the product is stated as being 15sq mtrs, but the roll I purchased had only 13.8 metres! I had to use the packagiong of the laminate flooring for last required 1.2 metres! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Highly versatile,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 November 2013
Pros: versatile & flexible, cheap, soft & insulates
Cons: bit iffy, bit thin
" This laminate is good value for money only problem is it's a bit thin so i usually just use 2 layers which works well even on slightly uneven floors. It's a bit all over the place so i tend to tack one end down while I work so that it doesn't move as I'm laying the flooring on top. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy lay!,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 December 2010
" This cushioned underneath b4 we put down the New England oak flooring, gives a lovely feel once complete and was really easy to cut! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
18out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purchase,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
04 December 2010
" hello as the underlay for the floor, it has a good quality and woul lay it again thanks tom "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes General Purpose Underlay
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A bit flimsy,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
27 November 2010
" Being so thin, it can be a bit fiddly to handle, especially when laying down the first piece. Even after that, it tends to curl up at the sides so you have to cut it and tape it down in places. Once it's down though, it does the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>