Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Wallpaper or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW

For fast easy removal of all types of wallpaper and some textured coatings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 Reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
46 of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Review 1 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Steam Stripper,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 May 2016
Pros: easy to use
Cons: the electric cable did come out a couple of time
" I am so pleased with this product, we bought it as the reviews were really positive.
I must agree the value for money is excellent, we have used it shortly after we moved in to get rid of wood chip wallpaper, which must have been up for 40 years. It was a doddle. Highly recommend this product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good buy,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 May 2016
Pros: quick & easy
" I purchased this product to help strip a very difficult room. It certainly did what it said On the box. It halved the time it would of taken with just soaking the wall. I used hot water to fill the tank, which heated up much quicker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wicked Steam Stripper,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 May 2016
Pros: quick easy and effective
Cons: none
" Having started to strip our Hall,stairs and landing we needed some serious assistance. Buying this Stripper during the sale event made it incredible value for money and the results were even better. Easy to use and highly effective. Full water loads last about an hour and the steam generation is superb. Two steam plates allow for all area access and for the quick removal of hard to budge paper ( it made light work of the dreaded wood chip)
Would definitely recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 March 2016
" A simple piece of kit. Does the job well.
Keep the paddle on a new patch whilst scapeing your steamed patch.
The small paddle that comes with it is very useful for tight areas like around windows.
Tip: have a bag/container handy and put the stripped paper into it as you work, you'll be glad you did as there will be no big clean up when you've finished. The wet paper sticks to everything as it dries out.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 March 2016
Pros: cheap, easy to use
Cons: attachments could be better
" Had a look around online for a wallpaper stripper and this one was by far the best value. The stripper takes a few minutes to get up to operating temperature, but then you have a good constant supply of steam.
The larger attachment works well, but the smaller one requires some care as hot steam escapes from it when in use.
I found it easier to remove the attachment altogether and just use the hose to get into awkward corners around door and window frames. This allowed me to steam wallpaper and easily remove it with the scraper.
Works well, would have given 5 stars for quality if the smaller attachment was better designed "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stripper,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 March 2016
Pros: lightweight head, long flexible hose
" I'd never used a wallpaper stripper before, but thought it was worth risking some money to see if they were any good. Bought this item and was delighted. It is easy to assemble and "does exactly what is says on the tin". Fill it with water, plug in and in about five minutes you're ready to go. I didn't time how long one tankful lasts but it was a good long time (and refilling is an excuse for a coffee break!). I was stripping a room with numerous layers of paper, some of which had been painted, but with an application of steam all the paper almost fell off the wall. The instruction book suggested scoring the paper with the edge of your knive/trowel before applying steam and that certainly was the secret to success. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
steamer,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 March 2016
Pros: good, cheap
" Great wee steamer, strips paper quickly, and no mess involved "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful item,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 March 2016
" Used it for the first time - to remove several layers of old wallpaper in a bathroom.
It heated up quickly and really made the job a lot easier than it would otherwise have been.
Very satisfied with this purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wickes wallpaper steamer,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 February 2016
Pros: easy to use, non
" very pleased with purchase made stripping wallpaper easy and the job quick happy person "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what was needed,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 February 2016
Pros: light and easy to use
" Purchased the Wallpaper stripper in the morning and put it to use the same day. Did a really good job. Much more efficient than our old one.
Click and collect was efficient, reservation confirmed within minutes and product collected from store with two hours. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes stripping light work!,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 February 2016
Pros: big water reservoir, easy and light to use
Cons: not found one yet
" Has made stripping off the wallpaper a doddle and so much quicker than using a wet sponge and elbow grease. So pleased we purchased it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wallpaper stripper,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 January 2016
Pros: one fill lasts a hour so not filling up all the ti
" So glad we bought this,it made our life so much easier. Our daughter moved into a flat and every wall was covered in wood chip, it came off so easy with this machine. Excellent value for money and saved hours of back breaking work "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appalling,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
23 December 2015
Cons: everything
" I bought this steamer in November and am now having to return it for a 3rd time!! All 3 steamers have only lasted 5 goes each, I have followed all the instructions and even used limescale remover in case that was causing the problem but it just cuts out and then refuses to switch on again. DO NOT BUY unless you like visiting Wickes every over weekend! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and Does the Job,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 December 2015
Pros: simple, value for money
" I'm no pro... I'm a DIY'er, but I found this perfect for what I needed. I also had a proffesional round whilst I was using it... and he thought it was a great bit of kit too! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent wallpaper stripper,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 November 2015
" Does what it says on the box. Nice long hose so no problem reaching high places. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 November 2015
" As expected really, not the cheapest steamer around however really easier to use. Slight rim around product lid with collects water on filling but nothing a towel doesn't soak up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value wallpaper stripper,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 May 2015
Pros: quick to steam
Cons: none for the money
" Desperate to strip some wallpaper quickly I rushed to Wickes and bought one of these. Easy to use it did the job better than expected. If you fill it with hot water it produces steam quickly and its not bad from cold. You also get a small tool for difficult to get at places, but be warned this gets hot so wear gloves (there is a warning in the instructions ). Everything is plastic so I don't know how long the screw fittings will last but you can't complain for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard work made Easy!,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 April 2015
" I would definatley recommend this product.mi only wished I'd discovered it soon after years of decorating! Makes a horrible job easier and more bearable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth the money,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 April 2015
" This item is well worth the money it made the stripping of the paper so much easier "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Complaints Here!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 February 2015
Pros: light weight, long steam hose, two sized attachement heads, good sized water tank
Cons: a power button would be nice, the water tank gets very hot
" Used this twice now, worked perfect each time with no hassle or problems. It came with two different attachment heads, one large and one small which I didn't expect to get so that was a nice surprise.
The power cable isn't that long on it but not to worry there is a nice sized steam hose with this so you have plenty of room to move about whilst doing your stripping.
The item didn't take to long to warm up from a cold start or a refill start, sure you have to wait a little while but not as long as I thought. Once it starts on a full tank of water you are going for a really long time which is really good so you are not constantly refilling it.
My only quibble would be to be aware that the water tank gets rather hot whilst in use so ensure there are no children around when you use this but this is in the guide booklet as a advisory. It does spit a little bit of water out at the start and sometime whilst using it but this is also mentioned the guide booklet but steamers do this anyway
Very happy with my item and think it was worth every penny. Thanks Wickes! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-5points
19out of 43found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>