Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Decorative Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW

For fast easy removal of all types of wallpaper and some textured coatings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 Reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Review 1 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Complaints Here!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 February 2015
Pros: light weight, long steam hose, two sized attachement heads, good sized water tank
Cons: a power button would be nice, the water tank gets very hot
" Used this twice now, worked perfect each time with no hassle or problems. It came with two different attachment heads, one large and one small which I didn't expect to get so that was a nice surprise.
The power cable isn't that long on it but not to worry there is a nice sized steam hose with this so you have plenty of room to move about whilst doing your stripping.
The item didn't take to long to warm up from a cold start or a refill start, sure you have to wait a little while but not as long as I thought. Once it starts on a full tank of water you are going for a really long time which is really good so you are not constantly refilling it.
My only quibble would be to be aware that the water tank gets rather hot whilst in use so ensure there are no children around when you use this but this is in the guide booklet as a advisory. It does spit a little bit of water out at the start and sometime whilst using it but this is also mentioned the guide booklet but steamers do this anyway
Very happy with my item and think it was worth every penny. Thanks Wickes! "
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke down after being used twice,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
27 February 2014
Pros: none
Cons: poor quality
" Very disappointed with this product as it stopped working after being used twice. "
-4points
20out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wallpaper Steamer,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 February 2014
Pros: unbeatable price, simple to operate
Cons: none
" Unbeatable price, I searched several days using the internet, very well priced indeed & a really well made robust product, choice of steamer pans come included, small for tight areas & large for other easy to reach areas, includes a long hose to reach up to ceilings with ease, quickly heats up to produce steam & ready to use in no time, the steam once filled up with water in the supplied water tank last a very long time whilst stripping paper, giving the user more operator time to actually strip the paper than keep filling it up with water, I am well impressed with this product. "
+10points
20out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 January 2014
Pros: fast stripping minimal resin left behind, sturdy enough constrauction
" This is brilliant at stripping wallpaper, very easy to use and quickly peels away after the glue has been effected. Given the price, this is superb value.
Can spit water out initially before steam starts arriving, and if you leave the panel in one place for too long you get drips of water, so be careful around light switches, etc. Definitely wear gloves! "
+7points
19out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 November 2013
" We were having problems removing the bottom 2 layers of wallpaper, so decided to try this stripper.
It is wonderful, so lightweight & easy to use.
If you make sure to leave the steam long enough to completely soak through the paper, using from the top, working slowly downwards, the paper just peels off.
A absolute doddle.
"
-9points
26out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Item,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: long reach with steamer plate.
Cons: no on/off switch on unit.
" Bought this item to remove wall paper from 3 rooms, including woodchip. The steamer operated excellently and after scoring paper the steamer made short work of removing the paper. My only criticism is there is no on/off switch on the unit and has to be turned off at the wall socket. Other than this i would highly recomment this item. "
+1point
12out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
" We'll worth the money, saved an awful lot of elbow work, wear rubber gloves when using the small pad. "
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cant fault it,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 June 2013
Cons: none
" I have had one of these for years now and every time I dig it out and use it it works without problem. It is fantastic. Does exactly what it is designed for. My aunt bought one and has had the same experience.
Would be good if it had attachments to allow for domestic steam cleaning, too, as the hose is a superb length.
"
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent artex stripping power,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 September 2011
Pros: excellent steaming power, long length cable & hose, heats up quickly from cold
" Bought in a hurry to replace a steamer which had broken. It is much cheaper than B&Qs budget steamer. This has worked brilliantly for 12 hours a day stripping off artex. If you keep it full of water it will keep on going...if you do forget to fill it up, it has a safety cut out before the element burns out. Just fill it up again with some cold water (so the thermistor cuts in again) and you'll be away. Only slight downside is it doesn't have wheels, but this is a minor gripe. "
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wallpaper steam stripper,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 August 2011
" exellent piece of kit, at a very good price, also wicks service was second to non, from ordering to receiving polite staff and very efficient. "
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Savioue,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 January 2011
" I used this to strip the wallpaper from one bedroom, with one layer or paper and 2 coats of paint on top, this worked like a charm!
Heats up very fast and lasts for a decent amount of time.
Will it last for the next time I want to use it? Who knows... "
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When it worked it was fine, but...,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
28 November 2010
Pros: cheap to buy
Cons: cheap quality too!
" I bought this in April and used it for one small room, it worked fine, then dug it out recently, got through half an average wall and it just stopped working. Fuse wasnt gone, it had enough water in it, just stopped. Randomly started working after about 15 mins, so must have been thermal cut out. You don't want equipment that only works when it feels like it though!
Oh and the flat steamer end isn't very good, could do with actually sitting flat up against the wall rather than being as flimsy as it is, but I guess you get what you pay for!
"
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 October 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: nothing bad about it
" Excellent product. Unbeatable value for money. Made the job easy. Would certainly recommend this product. "
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 October 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
" My old stripper gave up the ghost. I was amazed when I used it for the first time as it was so easy to assemble and light in weight. What a job it does as it takes a tenth of the time my old one did.
WHAT A PRICE AS WELL, A REAL BARGAIN! "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
steaming,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
08 September 2010
" This steam stripper is excellent in all respects.
Simple to use, removes old wallpaper easely and cleanly, and is great value for money.
I would strongly recommend this product
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy it,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 June 2010
Pros: great piece of kit
Cons: none
" Fantastic value for money, and comes with two different size attachments. "
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best £20 I have spent for some time,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 May 2010
" Did exactly what I wanted it to do. Well worth the outlay even if you only use it for 1 or 2 jobs. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WALLPAPER STEAM STRIPPER,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 April 2010
" GOOD EFFICIENT SERVICE AND DELIVERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY PRODUCT "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 April 2010
" I bought this because it was the cheapest I could find and it has been better than I expected. I used it to strip paper and a lino floor, it handled both jobs easily. In all, this is a good quality product at a great rpice. "
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Wallpaper Steam Stripper 2.3kW
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WALLPAPER STEAM STRIPPER,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 April 2010
Pros: great to use
Cons: none
" WALLPAPER COMES OFF VERY QUICK AND EASY, SIMPLE TO USE,GREAT VALUE,GREAT PRICE YOU DO NOT NEED TO BUY EXPENSIVE. WELL PLEASED. "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>