Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Decorating Supplies or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre

All-purpose fungicidal wash will kill moss, lichen, algae and mould on affected timber and walls, helps to prevent regrowth and is ideal for treating decking and garden furniture prior to oiling or staining.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 Reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Review 1 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value product,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 July 2016
Pros: price can't be beaten anywhere
Cons: none
" Does what it is supposed to for a fraction of the price of a big brand name product sold for the same purpose. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
effective,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 June 2016
Pros: works well
Cons: need to be patient
" Easy to apply.
Only used it neat.
Need to be patient and leave for 24-48 hours.
May need 2 applications on heavily stained surfaces. This is mentioned on the instructions.
Cheap enough for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fungicidal Wash,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 March 2016
Cons: difficult to find.
" Used it to get rid of the lichen on my fence before wood stain/treatment. Cleared it within 48 hours, although did need a second go on heavy bits. Also sprayed one paving slab just to see how it went, without cleaning it or anything. Removed lichen OK. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the proof will show later,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 February 2016
" Used it to keep at bay fungus growing on my oak raised here having cut the off prior to being the fungicide.
Time will tell a thought us seems strong enough to do the job.
A larger container would have been useful to save me buying another.
Wearing protective clothing is a must and wash down thoroughly where it was prepared and diluted.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Product I've Used,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
02 February 2016
Pros: works like a charm
Cons: need to use undiluted for best effect.
" I've been using Wickes Fungicidal Wash for almost 20 years now and have tried other brands now and again but nothing works as well. I have natural stone paving which looks wonderful when clean but is like the outdoor equivalent of having a beige carpet - it shows every stain and turns pea green after prolonged rainy spells.
I don't dilute the product, just scrub it in neat and leave it to dry and the paving comes up like new. I did once try diluting it in accordance with the label but it didn't work as well, I find full strength is the way to go, although that doesn't come cheap as I need 4 containers to do my entire outdoor area and I do that twice a year. Worth it though to keep everything looking pristine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't do anything,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
23 December 2015
Cons: doesn't do as it says
" Had a mould growing on some new racking shelves, brushed it off with a stiff brush and applied the wash using a roller and a paintbrush for the edges, the mould was back in just over a week, now about to try Ronseal total wood preserver. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for maintaining my drive,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 December 2015
Pros: less work next year.
Cons: difficult to find quite often out of stock.
" I am so pleased with this product. I had trouble removing algae from our drive, we cleaned it with our power washer first and then applied this. It has lasted for months and despite the awful winter rain bringing the usual dirt with it, that part of my drive remains clear. The ground was very green in the area we used it despite power washing but this made it disappear. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Well,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 November 2015
Pros: works quickly effects long lasting
Cons: often out of stock
" Tried several but this one seems to work well both as a killer of existing algae and as a preventative measure. Applied to patio at start of last winter and it kept it clear all winter. When applied to paths etc results can be seen in a day, just make sure no rain is forecast.
Wickes please up your stocks of this, it's often hard to get hold of in store or on line. Best to stock up when you see it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did nothing to the mould,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
24 July 2015
" I used loads of this on my garden furniture and it did nothing at all to the mould on the wood. Soaked it, rubbed it, let it dry and repeated to zero effect. Complete waste of time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 May 2015
" Used to rid my fence panels of excessive green growth. Most panels were clear after 24 hours. Only those that were very bad took longer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: cheap, very effective
" Maintaining the old sheds has never been an easy job, but I was surprised at how effective this stuff is! When I came down the next day and looked at the feed shed it looked brand new.
All in all this is fantastic value, easy to apply and very effective. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 April 2011
" I use this product as a undiluted spray on my conservatory roof, garden fences and patio area. It works very fast and all green algae disappears for around 6 months. It is excellent value for money with other DIY stores selling inferior products at higher prices. I highly recommend the product for same or similar uses. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fubgicidal Spray,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 January 2010
Pros: good value easy to apply
Cons: none
" I have used this product a number of times now, the last time spraying a roof to kill and prevent moss from re-drowing. Its very effective and easy to apply with a sprayer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+43points
47out of 51found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes All Purpose Fungicidal Wash 4 Litre
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5