Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Plumbing Tools & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece

Professional polypropylene kit with brass connecting joints for unblocking drains and cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 Reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 of 29(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Review 1 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gutter cleaning,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 June 2016
" Very good quality , done the job spot on, good product for unblocking to "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Drains yes - gutter no,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
08 June 2016
Pros: good for drains
Cons: no good for guttering if it is above you.
" I bought this kit to clean my guttering. However, when joining the ples together with the cleaning tool on the end it dips and bends erratically. I was stood the the ground and wanted to clean the gutter about 20 feet up. No control whasoever. It may "work" if you are level with your guttering and can lodge it so it does not bend. Better for me to climb a ladder oro use bamboo cane sticks with a hook attached.
The kit is really for drains and have used it also for that purpose.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adequate,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
29 March 2016
Pros: satisfactory for a limited length
Cons: difficult to control over four metres
" Able to clean the gutter using a step ladder from first floor flat roofs.
Maximum number of extensions used four and worked well. But I very much doubt that if additional extensions had been required that you would be able to control the rod.
Therefore before buying think about the length of rod that you will require to use
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fine, fits with other sets,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
03 February 2016
" Got this to fit with a similar set bought many years ago from another well known DIY retailer and it fits perfectly. The rods are lighter and more plastic than my previous set so don't look as if they will last as long but for the few occasions that I need to rod the long drain under the house will do fine and they were reasonably priced. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 January 2016
Pros: very long reach, good quality
Cons: very unstable with all sections screwed together
" Did the trick for me cleaned my gutters without me having to climb ladders, it's a bit whippy if you use all the sections but I would imagine for drains it would be fine "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not do the job for me :(o,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 December 2015
Pros: good quality
Cons: no good for gutter cleaning
" We had a problem with a blocked gutter high up at the top of the house and most other tools were far too short to reach the problem. I was so pleased when I saw this on the Wickes website and immediately bought it. I rushed home, put it all together and went into the garden to clear my gutter. WELL it was so funny this massive pole swayed and swung around bending backwards and forwards with no way it would end up in the gutter - I couldn't stop laughing... Cut a long story short although it is called WICKES DRAIN AND GUTTER CLEANING KIT - I believe it would be great for drains but simply not any use at all for gutters. I packaged it up and returned it without a hitch. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says ...,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 November 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: tools can unscrew in use
" Bought this on recommendation from this site. Click and collect, went together easily (without reading instructions!) and drain was clear within 15 mins. Only criticism would be that the 'claw' came off - possibly due to me twisting it too vigorously - and I had to mess about getting it out of the drain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value & Quality,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 October 2015
Pros: sturdy and easy to use.
Cons: wont work if angle is too tight to access drain
" This is a very good piece of kit that easily unblocked my drain.
I have since used it at friends house and wasn't able to carry out the task of unblocking their pipe. This was because drain hole that emptied all the water from the kitchen was close up against the wall of the house and the pipe went away perpendicular to the house so the cleaning kit wasn't able to bend at such a sharp angle. I believe Wickes sells a long metal spring type tool which may be more suited to this situation. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 September 2015
Pros: easy to use, value for money
" Had a blocked drain outside. Clicked and collected and 1 hour later the drain was clear.
Knowing my DIY skills, my wife advised to get a man in.
Glad I went with my gut, got this kit and did it myself.
Good instructions and easy to assemble. Very sturdy bit of kit which was easy to use.
The bonus for me is that it comes with a gutter scraper attachment which will be getting used next spring "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saved A Fortune,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 July 2015
" I had a seriously blocked kitchen drain. I tried conc sulphuric acid, caustic soda (not at the same time!), soda crystals and boiling water etc etc. Nothing worked. I bought these rods on offer and they did the job in 15 mninutes. They are flexible enough too - I had borrowed some old wooden ones but they were too rigid to get into the pipe. Good tool selection too. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was so easy!!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 July 2015
Pros: easy to use
" Had a problem with my drains and an even bigger one trying to get someone out!!
Googled blocked drains .... Ordered on wickets .... Collected within an hr and drains unblocked within 30 mins!!!!
Saved £80! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 July 2015
" I had a blocked drain in my driveway so I bought these after reading other reviews and I must say I was very happy with the quality of this product. The blockage was stubborn and I had to use the full length to clear it but the rods did the job well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
did the job perfectly,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 March 2015
" Had a plumber out twice to unblock on external drain but it kept blocking again. Bought this and did it myself. Did the job and the problem hasnt come back again this time. Definitely recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 February 2015
Pros: robust quality, easy to use
Cons: need to check the joint tightness periodically
" Great quality piece of kit . Used it to clear a heavily clogged drain with ease . Went together easily and came apart just as easily . 3 tools for the end for different situations . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bit of kit,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 December 2014
" Had a blocked drain and fixed it in no time.
Like previous review said, every home should have one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Distinctly average,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
01 February 2014
" This is probably better suited to drains rather than gutters which is what I needed. Its so flexible to be unwieldy when trying to drag the coil through leaves and moss in the gutter. The semi circle blade designed for gutters kept catching on the gutter supports to be unusable. The double coil did make a difference and I was able to clear some of the muck. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product for a messy job!,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: sturdily built
Cons: think about what you are doing!
" Bought these to unblock a sewer. Worked very well and removed all of blockage easily. Do need to be careful to ensure it doesn't get stuck and that blockage does not just get pushed further down sewer. My sewer is not very deep so not really had to bend them very much - remember to twist the right way when in sewer to ensure they don't become disconnected!! Have now also used to clear gutter blocked with leaves - excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 April 2013
Pros: build quality, easy to use, fraction of the price to call out specialist
Cons: a little more expensive than competitor products
" Great product! Well built and easy to put together and use.
Took a chance and bought this instead of calling out a specialist to unblock our drains. I was surprised just how easy it was. 10 minutes of pushing and turning with the screw head and the blockage was removed.
Awesome!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
16 January 2012
" Worked like magic without any problems at all, every home should have one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Drain & Gutter Cleaning Kit 11 Piece
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
money well spent,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 June 2011
Pros: built for the job
Cons: none
" Bought this and 1 hour later my drain was clear. Well made with flexible rods and good quality brass fittings.
Saved me a few bob on plumbers bills!
Additional rods are also available, so if you have a long pipe you don't need to buy all the tools again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>