Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement, Mortar & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L

A high-performance, low odour, black coating for use on tarmac and concrete driveways, paths and garage floors
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 Reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Review 1 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from old to new,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 August 2015
Pros: excellent
Cons: none
" brilliant coating it has made my tired dull tarmac drive look as if it had just been newly laid , it was done with a roller with a long handle "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 August 2015
Pros: adheres v well, good finish, solvent-base, balance vicinity / bitumen vol
" Simply superb! Slight-matt finish, which is what I expected, initially high enough viscosity to soak INTO the surface I painted, assured good adhering and gives a good forecast for long term durability and weather resistance.
Cheapest of the cheap rollers is good enough to apply, best idea is to try to have a small "puddle" in front of your roller, and PUSH the puddle for your first coat. Excess liquid will soak into any cracks etc.
I'd definitely recommend!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute rubbish,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
23 August 2015
Cons: rubbish
" I bought 5 tins of this product after taking not of previous ratings saying you need more for coverage. I followed the instructions and have put 5 coats on in some ares allowed to dry for 4 days before putting a car on the drive, as soon as the car is driven off the drive you can see where the tyres were, in these areas i put 6 coats on , still the same problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team26 August 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 4 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Results,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 August 2015
" I'd read the earlier reviews & this does what they say. Cleaned & brushed drive with mould remover, let to dry then I applied 1st coat with a brush to get in all the cracks ect.. & then a long roller for the 2nd which was realy quick. The results are worth the effort. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Driveway Seal,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 August 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: sore back!
" As others say, purchase twice as much as you expect! I found this out to be true as my drive was "well worn" & not nice &smoooth as I believe the covering allowance is based upon.
Also, had to use a brush as my roller wouldn't cover properly, again due to it being worn.
The end result was really good & even my wife thought it looked as though it had had a profesional tarmac covering.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 August 2015
Pros: good value, cheaper than other like products
Cons: non
" Really pleased with the result on my worn drive.
Used 4 tins to do about 40 square metres. I gave the first section 2 coats with a roller but had to go back with a paint brush to dab in a lot of pin holes, which you only see when it dry' s .( the tarmac was quite open in some places) The rest of the drive I poured on the material and pushed it out with a roller thus flooding all the holes , much easier and covered in one coat.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mr,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 July 2015
Pros: value for money
Cons: very thin liquid., quick dry. do not use during the hot day(s).
" Very Good Stuff. Easy to use. quick dry. clean finished. amazing result. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worthwhile purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
17 July 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: time consuming
" Does what it says on the tin ..sealed the drive..looks ok "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value and Easy to Use,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 July 2015
" Overall this product is very good, but it remains to be seen how long it will last on the drive. My drive is 54 square metres and in reasonable condition. I used 7 tins to put on three coats. The drive was carefully prepared beforehand with wire brushing up all moss and lichen, sweeping with stiff broom, and then washing with spray attachment on garden hose set as powerful as possible. The product is very thin which may not be a bad thing. I could see bubbles coming to the surface on the drive as the product worked its way into all of the cracks and crevices. I used a very long pile, good quality roller with a long handle. Very easy and fast to apply. It needs to be applied generously. It dries very fast. The finish looks very good. It is a good matt black which looks like fresh tarmac, not shiny like some other drive sealers. Tyre marks do appear when it is first driven on, but these are superficial and wash off with the rain. All in all, good so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great alternative,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 June 2015
Pros: great finish, low cost alternative
Cons: doesn't cover as much as tin claims
" Much cheaper than new Tarmac. My drive was in poor condition but the tins coverage claim would mean I needed 3 tins. I used 7!!!! You will need more than it says unless it is smooth concrete, mine was old Tarmac. The finished result is amazing though, used a roller with a 'speckled finish' roller that looks like a honeycomb as normal rollers were not covering well at all. Infirm lasts minim pressed as looks like new at a fraction of the cost. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
makes your drive look like new,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 June 2015
Pros: drive looks like new
Cons: does fade and any touch up is not recommended as i
" this product makes your driveway look like new. The coverage is not what it says on the tin but I found that by applying by roller makes the coverage much better. Tarmac or concrete or even paving slabs can all benefit from the treatment. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 June 2015
Pros: easy to spread with long haired roller
Cons: probably doesn't go as far as expected
" quality product made the tarmack drive like new. only downside was on my particular driveway it took twice as much than expected but it was still good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job but not very thick,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
08 June 2015
" The coverage area is about half of what is mentioned on the tin as the product is quite thin.
Easy to use on the driveway - just use a broom with softish bristles (rather than a paintbrush), and avoid using it on a very sunny day as it dries too quickly resulting is a patchy appearance. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 June 2015
Pros: value for money
Cons: no cons
" This drive seal is fantastic and great value for money. I would recommend pouring it down onto your drive and use a roller to spread it out. Two reasons for this, 1; you get a better even layer, 2; it saves a lot of back breaking work trying to roll it in. My neighbours are amazed as I am at the results and are going to be doing their drives shortly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
did what it said on the tin!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 May 2015
" Very easy to use but must use a long handled paint brush roller. Best to give the tin a bit of a shake before opening as on some of my tins it settled at the bottom - detailed painting on the edges of drive was easy if you use a normal brush but not too big a brush - coverage was a little less than the tin as my tarmac was very worn and dry however a second coat only used on about 20% of the drive and after a week still no change - oil spills which was the main reason for doing this were covered but you can still see where they were -maybe a second coat in a years time may give it a thicker coat over these areas but still looks great. Don't know why I didn't do this years ago - "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 April 2015
Pros: as good as more expensive drive paints.
" Easy to use, delivered on time and good result on the drive. Would recommend. As long as the Tarmac is well brushed it is easy to apply "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wickes wicked drive seal,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 April 2015
Pros: easy to apply, will last over 2 heavy seasons, deters lichen and moss
Cons: there aren't any
" I cannot speak too highly of this product. It is simplicity itself to put down, just get a cheap roller and paint tray, and don't forget an extension pole. I tend towards putting down two layers, so that any areas I missed first time will be covered by my second sweep. I have a joint driveway, and live next door to a rented house, so using drive seal is not only protecting my driveway, I also makes a great divider on the next door untreated side, preventing many arguments. In my mind this is the best product on the market - there are more expensive versions that are not half as good - I know , I have used them. Don't use the rest, choose the best! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 November 2013
Pros: does ewhat it says on the tin, cant say any more than already quoted
" great material easy to use provided you prepare surfaces properly. has good lasting qualities . have tried other brand s but this one is tops. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 August 2012
Pros: easy to use., does look new when finished, dries within an hour or two if done in good weathe
" I had reviewed a few various products to do my drive and decided to give this a go mainly due to the price.
My drive is 42 square metres, part smooth, part very rough and faded to differnet colours, grey and redish mainly
I wasn't expecting a great finish but.... it really did do a great job. The whole lot came up the same colour, a new looking black!!
I know it sounds a bit "cliche" but it honestly does look new and have genuinely had several comments on what an amazing difference it makes.
Top tips...... Part of mine i did with a 12" roller and tray but this roller was not sufficient for the more uneven gravelly parts. However an easy solution was that i grabbed a old yard soft bristled broom and used that. Spread well to make sure you don't get any small pools and use an emulsion brush to do the edges.
Could not be happier with the finish and only used 3 tins! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+75points
84out of 93found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New drive? No need!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 April 2010
" Just a few hours work and it looks like we have a new drive! So easy yet so rewarding! Quick and easy to use. I wish I had a £ for every time someone says 'have you had a new drive laid?' It really does give professional results! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>