Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement, Mortar & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L

A high-performance, low odour, black coating for use on tarmac and concrete driveways, paths and garage floors
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 Reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Review 1 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great alternative,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 June 2015
Pros: great finish, low cost alternative
Cons: doesn't cover as much as tin claims
" Much cheaper than new Tarmac. My drive was in poor condition but the tins coverage claim would mean I needed 3 tins. I used 7!!!! You will need more than it says unless it is smooth concrete, mine was old Tarmac. The finished result is amazing though, used a roller with a 'speckled finish' roller that looks like a honeycomb as normal rollers were not covering well at all. Infirm lasts minim pressed as looks like new at a fraction of the cost. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
makes your drive look like new,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 June 2015
Pros: drive looks like new
Cons: does fade and any touch up is not recommended as i
" this product makes your driveway look like new. The coverage is not what it says on the tin but I found that by applying by roller makes the coverage much better. Tarmac or concrete or even paving slabs can all benefit from the treatment. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 June 2015
Pros: easy to spread with long haired roller
Cons: probably doesn't go as far as expected
" quality product made the tarmack drive like new. only downside was on my particular driveway it took twice as much than expected but it was still good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job but not very thick,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
08 June 2015
" The coverage area is about half of what is mentioned on the tin as the product is quite thin.
Easy to use on the driveway - just use a broom with softish bristles (rather than a paintbrush), and avoid using it on a very sunny day as it dries too quickly resulting is a patchy appearance. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 June 2015
Pros: value for money
Cons: no cons
" This drive seal is fantastic and great value for money. I would recommend pouring it down onto your drive and use a roller to spread it out. Two reasons for this, 1; you get a better even layer, 2; it saves a lot of back breaking work trying to roll it in. My neighbours are amazed as I am at the results and are going to be doing their drives shortly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
did what it said on the tin!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 May 2015
" Very easy to use but must use a long handled paint brush roller. Best to give the tin a bit of a shake before opening as on some of my tins it settled at the bottom - detailed painting on the edges of drive was easy if you use a normal brush but not too big a brush - coverage was a little less than the tin as my tarmac was very worn and dry however a second coat only used on about 20% of the drive and after a week still no change - oil spills which was the main reason for doing this were covered but you can still see where they were -maybe a second coat in a years time may give it a thicker coat over these areas but still looks great. Don't know why I didn't do this years ago - "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 April 2015
Pros: as good as more expensive drive paints.
" Easy to use, delivered on time and good result on the drive. Would recommend. As long as the Tarmac is well brushed it is easy to apply "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wickes wicked drive seal,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 April 2015
Pros: easy to apply, will last over 2 heavy seasons, deters lichen and moss
Cons: there aren't any
" I cannot speak too highly of this product. It is simplicity itself to put down, just get a cheap roller and paint tray, and don't forget an extension pole. I tend towards putting down two layers, so that any areas I missed first time will be covered by my second sweep. I have a joint driveway, and live next door to a rented house, so using drive seal is not only protecting my driveway, I also makes a great divider on the next door untreated side, preventing many arguments. In my mind this is the best product on the market - there are more expensive versions that are not half as good - I know , I have used them. Don't use the rest, choose the best! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 November 2013
Pros: does ewhat it says on the tin, cant say any more than already quoted
" great material easy to use provided you prepare surfaces properly. has good lasting qualities . have tried other brand s but this one is tops. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 August 2012
Pros: easy to use., does look new when finished, dries within an hour or two if done in good weathe
" I had reviewed a few various products to do my drive and decided to give this a go mainly due to the price.
My drive is 42 square metres, part smooth, part very rough and faded to differnet colours, grey and redish mainly
I wasn't expecting a great finish but.... it really did do a great job. The whole lot came up the same colour, a new looking black!!
I know it sounds a bit "cliche" but it honestly does look new and have genuinely had several comments on what an amazing difference it makes.
Top tips...... Part of mine i did with a 12" roller and tray but this roller was not sufficient for the more uneven gravelly parts. However an easy solution was that i grabbed a old yard soft bristled broom and used that. Spread well to make sure you don't get any small pools and use an emulsion brush to do the edges.
Could not be happier with the finish and only used 3 tins! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+73points
82out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New drive? No need!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 April 2010
" Just a few hours work and it looks like we have a new drive! So easy yet so rewarding! Quick and easy to use. I wish I had a £ for every time someone says 'have you had a new drive laid?' It really does give professional results! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+36points
39out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
17 May 2008
" I bought this to repaint my drive to match some new sections that were put in following an extension.
It does what you expect it to. Nothing fabulous, dries fairly quickly, goes on well, but does mark easily when walked/driven on and requires a good hosing down to remove the marks.
That said, I would buy it again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
17out of 32found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5