Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Water & Damp Proofing or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L

A high-performance, low odour, black coating for use on tarmac and concrete driveways, paths and garage floors
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 Reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
32 of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Review 1 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
concrete blocks,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 June 2016
Pros: works well
" Can this drive seal be used on a block drive, which I,m sure are made from concrete blocks, I've tried it on a couple which look ok, i may try it on my full drive, any advice would help "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wickes drive seal,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 June 2016
Pros: easy to spread using a masonry paint roller, second coat done in half the time of the first one
Cons: none
" Read the reviews mostly good with just a few negative cooments but as I had already used Wickes patio sealer and found that do exactly what it said I had no hesitation in buying this product and I was right to do so, brushed the drive and left it dry put on two coats as suggested 4 hours apart, left cars of the drive for 24 hours just to be sure it was completely dry and the drive looks great, even my neighbours are impressed and are going to do their drives. Don't hesitate to buy Wickes Drive Seal you will not be disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the money,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 June 2016
Pros: brilliant
Cons: none
" I read other people's reviews and decided to try this for my own drive. Only needed to do 2 coats and the drive looks great. It's very easy to apply and I can't fault this product. Totally recommend it.
The price also made it even better.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 May 2016
" Good stuff. Had a rough cheap Tarmac job done on my drive 15 years ago. In 2015 applied 2 coats of this stuff and it looked great. Put another coat on in 2016 to spruce it up. Cheap as chips but makes a big difference. Doesnt flake or fade.
I used a soft sweeping brush, pour straight from the tin on to the drive and brush on.
If your being picky then it doesn't compare to a new Tarmac drive but for not a lot of money makes a big difference.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the product on my driveway,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 May 2016
Pros: as above
Cons: as above
" I use 7 cans of the product on my concrete drive
every couple of years , but do wish it would last
longer.
Best way to apply is with a long handled broom from a
decorators bucket, and use a Long Tom boat brush
to cut-in
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Efficient, fast service,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 May 2016
Pros: just what i required.
" Good covering, easy to apply and passing neighbours think it is a completely new drive. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A DIY success,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 March 2016
Pros: quickly improves appearance, water based so easily cleans
Cons: can be difficult to comprehensively cover to base
" I looked on U Tube to see how to improve my tired looking drive which is 16 years old and stained with moss and grass cuttings. As a result I power hosed and brushed drive then applied Drive Seal with a long handled paint roller. After two coats the results are amazing, just like a newly laid tarmac drive. Neighbours have stopped and asked me how I did it. Important to use a good quality thick roller (12 inches) to get down to the base of the tarmac. Fully recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't stop splashback,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
26 December 2015
Pros: looks good after application
Cons: didn't bind the particles of my tarmac drive, tin hard to open
" I bought this to stop the bottom of my garage door getting covered in small particles from my tarmac drive after heavy rain. Disappointed to find it didn't fix the problem - there was no noticeable improvement.
ps: the tin is difficult to open as mentioned by a previous reviewer "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-13points
3out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Covers well,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
10 November 2015
" The drive looks really well - I would recommend using a large paint brush rather than roller, it's more time consuming but the coverage is so much better... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 October 2015
" Great product, easy to apply, dries quickly and looks great. Hoping it lasts well & if it does it's brilliant!. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drive sealant,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 September 2015
Pros: thinner than proprietary brand but better finish
Cons: cans hard to open with screwdriver.
" Used Wickes own brand rather than proprietary brand and found it to be better and cheaper. Easy to roll on the drive with a standard roller brush and tray. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really does the job,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 September 2015
Pros: seals the drive and stops deteriation
Cons: coverage is poor on unsealed drives
" I had used one coat three years ago (should be two) as a test, it wore where tyres scrubbed but the rest was great, so have know given two coats ( using a soft sweeping brush, unless the drive is smooth rollers don't do the job. Because the drive had been done once the sealer covered more than I expected .
Can't recommend it enough, I'm made up. The drive looked good the first time, but now it brill .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
from old to new,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 August 2015
Pros: excellent
Cons: none
" brilliant coating it has made my tired dull tarmac drive look as if it had just been newly laid , it was done with a roller with a long handle "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 August 2015
Pros: adheres v well, good finish, solvent-base, balance vicinity / bitumen vol
" Simply superb! Slight-matt finish, which is what I expected, initially high enough viscosity to soak INTO the surface I painted, assured good adhering and gives a good forecast for long term durability and weather resistance.
Cheapest of the cheap rollers is good enough to apply, best idea is to try to have a small "puddle" in front of your roller, and PUSH the puddle for your first coat. Excess liquid will soak into any cracks etc.
I'd definitely recommend!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute rubbish,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
23 August 2015
Cons: rubbish
" I bought 5 tins of this product after taking not of previous ratings saying you need more for coverage. I followed the instructions and have put 5 coats on in some ares allowed to dry for 4 days before putting a car on the drive, as soon as the car is driven off the drive you can see where the tyres were, in these areas i put 6 coats on , still the same problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team26 August 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 16 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Results,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 August 2015
" I'd read the earlier reviews & this does what they say. Cleaned & brushed drive with mould remover, let to dry then I applied 1st coat with a brush to get in all the cracks ect.. & then a long roller for the 2nd which was realy quick. The results are worth the effort. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Driveway Seal,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 August 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: sore back!
" As others say, purchase twice as much as you expect! I found this out to be true as my drive was "well worn" & not nice &smoooth as I believe the covering allowance is based upon.
Also, had to use a brush as my roller wouldn't cover properly, again due to it being worn.
The end result was really good & even my wife thought it looked as though it had had a profesional tarmac covering.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 August 2015
Pros: good value, cheaper than other like products
Cons: non
" Really pleased with the result on my worn drive.
Used 4 tins to do about 40 square metres. I gave the first section 2 coats with a roller but had to go back with a paint brush to dab in a lot of pin holes, which you only see when it dry' s .( the tarmac was quite open in some places) The rest of the drive I poured on the material and pushed it out with a roller thus flooding all the holes , much easier and covered in one coat.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mr,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 July 2015
Pros: value for money
Cons: very thin liquid., quick dry. do not use during the hot day(s).
" Very Good Stuff. Easy to use. quick dry. clean finished. amazing result. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Quick Drying Drive Seal 5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worthwhile purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
17 July 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: time consuming
" Does what it says on the tin ..sealed the drive..looks ok "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>