Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Roofing or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.

Product Reviews

Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100

Wickes stock a huge range of Nails for every possible DIY job or home improvement project.
Average Customer Rating:
3.471 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 Reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
0
11 of 17(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Review 1 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good and bad,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 February 2016
Pros: looks professional
Cons: nails instead of screws
" if you replace the nails with screws, this product would be better. With screws, you are in control of fitting, and less prone to puncturing the sheets or breaking the plastic covers, by hitting them with a hammer. Fitting the caps have a knack, by starting to push on from the hinge side, they go on no bother. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 February 2016
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
" These nails were used on corrugated bitumen roofing sheets. They come with instructions (you don't get those with normal nails!). Nailing into the top of the corrugations is easy - no need to pre-drill as they penetrate quite easily, without collapsing the shape. They nail easily into the support timber and when driven in far enough it is fairly easy to fit the cap. They look reasonably smart - the 'seat' part of the flexible cap bends to neatly fit the curve. The old nails had been in place for about twenty years, but were still holding tightly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pirrock,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 January 2016
Pros: easy to fit.
" product really good. easy to use,and does what it says on the advertising. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 November 2015
Pros: nice finish
Cons: nails not suitable use screws instead.
" The product works better with replacement screws of the same length as the nails. The black caps do snap into position usually but if not a drop of P V A will help. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the Job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 October 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: putting the caps on the nails
" Having read the reviews I was a little unsure whether to buy them or not but was glad I did as they were so easy to use and Job done. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why nails?,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
26 October 2015
" I used these to fasten down the BLACK CORRUGATED BITUMEN SHEET 950X2000MM.
I don't understand why nails are used in this product. Several times, mostly due to lack of talent admittedly, I slipped off the nail damaging the corrugation. Luckily I had bought some roofing sealant which i was able to seal over my damage.
I the changed my tact to using similar spec screws & never had another problem and was able to work much quicker, completing the task with no further damage.
The caps almost completely will not fasten down unless you hit them hard with a hammer.
I now have a really nice pile of 70mm zinc nails I can use elsewhere.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team28 October 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 7 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interesting product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 October 2015
Pros: ease of use, length ok
Cons: protetive cap fiddly
" Found the caps fiddly,unable to snap them with the thumb,lost some through miss hit with a hammer,did get to more or less get the right spot for closure. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Go easy,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
13 October 2015
" Product works fine until too much pressure is put on the plastic weather shield - then the plastic caps will not push on. So go gentle with the hammer "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
poor fitting Cap,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
30 August 2015
" I found these slowed down the installation of the roof sheets. Due to having to assemble the cap onto the nail & then there is the difficulty that the cap does not clip into the base unit. I purchased other fixings from another supplier these had fully moulded plastic heads & made the fixing faster & more simple "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team04 September 2015
We would like to thank you for choosing to shop at Wickes, we are sorry to hear of your experience. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 03301234123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind Regards, Wickes.
Review 10 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
26 August 2015
" The caps do not fit onto the washer part very well. They keep popping off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Could be better,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
01 July 2015
Pros: look good
Cons: don't work as they should
" They were ok apart from the head closures which kept popping open.
As a result, each time one pops open I stick it with superglue.
Bit of a pain! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fiddly but durable,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
04 June 2015
Pros: looks and feels bulletproof
Cons: inevitably end up with few caps that won't close
" Takes time to learn how far to hammer nail in before head distorts the plastic cap to much for it ot close. A very smart and tough looking end product but I think there are easyier to use verions out there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average product that does the job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
03 June 2015
" Used this on the corrugated roofing found it the be fairly simply to use, only problem it the plastic clips don't always click down over the nail head, that exposes the nail to the elements, not sure if it will affect the seal.
It does the job, not sure there's anything else on the market, I've put some silicon sealant on top of the clips that didn't close for extra protection... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Awkward & Expensive,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
01 June 2015
Cons: expensive, difficult to use properly, take a long time to put together
" When you open the bag, all the nails are heavy so they're at the bottom. Al the caps are light so they're are at the top. Consequently, its best to open the bag in the workshop and put all the nails through the fixings while standing on Terra Firma. This takes about 20 minutes a bag and is incredibly boring!
When nailing the sheets to the roof with this product, you have to remember you will probably be on a ladder and, quite possibly, leaning at a stretch. The cap on these nails will only shut if the nail is hammered in exactly right. If its not in hard enough, the cap wont fit over the nail; if it's in too hard, the base is distorted and the cap wont "clip" onto it. And if your nail has gone in at a slight angle, the cap wont close either. About 10% of mine had the cap break off and roll down the roof while I was hammering the nail in.
At this price, I would have expected something MUCH better and will not be using them again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team05 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 15 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
27 February 2015
" Nails are ok but the plastic head covers could be better as they split. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase ever,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 November 2013
Pros: perfect
" very easy to fix sheets. we made put timber rail in recomend places and with the fixing was just so simple "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Profile Sheeting Nails 70mm Black PK100
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality needs better supporting products,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 November 2013
Pros: tough resists kinking
" Excellent product, doesn't tend to bend or kink. A good wide flat head (you don't want to miss the head when your putting Coroline on a roof (!) ). One problem I've found is wickes doesn't supply a grade of structural board that these nails won't punch right through. I'd like to see a nail that buries itself in the underlying structural board. (low pitch roofs)
That said if your going into beams (and you've done your maths right) then it's difficult to fault this product.
Oh and make sure you finish hammering before you put the cap on. They are a cow to get off once they're clipped down. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.