Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Ceramic Floor Tiles or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Riven Slate Floor Tiles

Pack of 5 covers 0.45m2. Now available with next-day delivery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Review 1 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A cautionary tile,
By boundbyDIY
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
03 December 2013
Pros: nice colour and not flakely
Cons: a nightmare to lay, there will always be raised spot to catch your toe
"I have lifted all the tile that have been laid. I don't mind an uneven surface but the fact that a an edge can vary by up to 5-6mm across a single tile means that the floor will inevitably have raised edges that will catch your toes or heels of shoes.
Maybe if I spent a lot longer finding the perfect tile for a particular spot and packed it out with more adhesive, it may have turned out better but i doubt it. As it was i had to continually lift tiles that had already been placed to find a better match, which resulted in a few breakages. Before starting I sorted the tiles into piles of similar thicknesses but this wasn't enough. If you can find someone who has successfully laid a similar tile and are pleased with the result and they are willing to do it again, go for it. If not, I'd go for something calibrated.
This isn't my first time tiling and previous work looks great, maybe this was a step too far.
I now have to pay to level floor again and write of the cost of the tiles! An expensive mistake."
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riven Slate Floor Tiles,
By Nefertitti
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 November 2013
Pros: good quality, hard wearing
Cons: not suitable for upstairs where there are floorboa
"Purchased these tiles for the ensuite bathroom. Sadly my builder said these would not be suitable as there was too much movement in the floor and they would break. So, I have spoken with the shop, I have up to six months to return them which is brilliant. There was one tile broken, but they look to be excellent tiles and very good value for money. In a kitchen they would be invaluable."
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If a novice handle with care,
By Stevet416
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
21 October 2011
Pros: solid and look rustic
Cons: hard to lay on uneven floor, hard to clean grout off
"As other reviews say these are uneven in nature and hard to keep pristine
I had to lay and grout these on an already uneven floor and it was very time consuming to get anywhere near even. Cleaning off the grout (grey grout not recommended, try charcoal or darker) was a nightmare.
Tough job for a novice to get a good fininsh
"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great floor tiles,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 February 2011
Pros: relatively even thickness for slate
Cons: need sealing to keep the look.
"Paid a little more for these slates than an equivalent at Topps tiles and I am very pleased with the result. Although they are varying thicknesses they are no where near as varied as others I looked at. The colour is nice and even and the surface finish and blemishes add to the natural look. It was my first time laying tiles and was told by a pro that I had selected a baptism of fire! But they have gone down well. As said in other reviews select the tiles well and start with the thick ones as you can then make up the bed on the thinner ones. A tile saw is a must for speed and ease of cutting both straights and curves. I hired a big one from a hire shop."
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality, hard to keep clean,
By Pacman
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 December 2010
Pros: look good
Cons: hard to keep that way!
"We had these tiles laid by a professional in our downstairs loo. He did a really nice job cutting them around the sink and toilet bases, so it can be done.
Tricky thing is that any splash makes a mark on the floor. I think they need to be sealed or coated somehow to make them easier to keep looking good."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beautiful and rustic [uneven surface],
By Kieran
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 July 2010
Pros: look great, natural, easy to lay
Cons: think before laying (particularly thickness)
"These tiles are cheap, a uniform size, natural, and look great where a rustic appearence is required. They are easy to lay, but as another reviewer has pointed out, they vary in thickness noticably - from 5mm in one corner to 10mm in another, not to mention from tile to tile! This makes getting a half decent level requires a bit of thinking when laying adhesive (top tip - match the tiles and orientaitons on the floor, then shuffle around so the thicker ones are in one area/higher traffic areas; then lay the thicker ones first).
Furniture WILL be wobbly on these tiles, but not too bad, and no worse than in 99% pubs/restaurants.
They look great, are non-slip, but take some time when down to treat with the realvent polishes."
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By Tieler
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 June 2010
"Natural looking tile at a good price. But be aware that thickness does vary between tiles"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Flooring but Buyer Beware...,
By NabootheEnigma
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 April 2010
Pros: good value compared to other suppliers, looked great when first laid
Cons: difficult to keep clean, uneven surface
"We bought these tiles largely on the strength of other reviews on this site, as we wanted good value natural slate flooring in our kitchen. These tiles are good value compared to other similar products elsewhere and they are generally of excellent quality.
However, do not be fooled into thinking that all the slates in these packs are the same. Many have large and uneven surface variations or are different thicknesses. For some this is part of the beauty of a natural riven slate floor. For others its a pain in the bum, since your tables and chairs will all wobble on the uneven surface, and there will be large gaps under your skirting boards where the tiles are uneven. The defects make the floor difficult to keep clean, and some of the tiles are unusable because the natural variations are so severe that it makes them look as though they are broken or damaged, so order more than you think you need.
We had the tiles laid by a pro, and they looked wicked when done. I wouldn't want to do them myself even as a relatively competent DIYer. However, they are difficult to keep clean and we have yet to manage to get them back to their former glory of when they were first laid.
This is high maintenance flooring.
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed,
By BiGD78
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 April 2010
Pros: look very good
"I was very impressed with these tiles. They look nice when laid down and the backing is very sticky meaning 'when they are down, they are not going to move'.
Easy to cut and you do not have to worry too much about matching the pattern."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
By Donut
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 August 2009
"Laid a hall floor with the riven slate tiles and it looks wonderful! Very easy to keep clean (especially with 2 children, a dog and a cat!) and makes the hall look larger. Very easy to cut, although there is a lot of dust (as expected!). Being riven slate, the surfaces can be slightly uneven, which is what I wanted, so don't choose these tiles if you want a very flat, shiny floor."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Natural Slate Floor,
By Taffnut
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 July 2009
"Have laid approx 30m2 of these in my house.
There is a bit of variation in thickness as you would expect , but only small and adds to the character.
To 'seal' the surface there are some smelly chemical 'Slate Sealers'. Personally I've not found these very good. If you are going to use one suggest you test out on a spare tile first. I used flax oil (applied sparingly) - matt finish, and maintains the great natural look.
"
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Quality and Value for Money,
By IainandSian
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 October 2008
Pros: good quality
"The title says is all! We managed to tile our entire kitchen (18m2) for less than £400; really good value for tiles of this quality, would definitely recommend. Also, delivery was problem-free and driver was really great in helping us unload."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent VFM,
By themoneypitmaster
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 August 2008
Pros: price quality
Cons: none !
"Tiles were delivered on time next day.
Very good quality and cut to size well.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Riven Slate Floor Tiles
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5