Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Floor Levelling Compound or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg

Suitable for underfloor heating.. The product is flexible and rapid setting.. Easy to mix and apply, just add water as per the guidelines.. Suitable for concrete, sand/cement screed, and rigid timber floors such as plywood or block board. Sets in 2-3 hours depending on thickness and temperature. Ready for floor topping such as carpet or wood flooring in 16 hours.
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
20 of 27(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Review 1 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st time user. Easy,
By Gazter
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
29 July 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none really
"I have just jused this product today, this was my first go a leveling a slightly uneven concrete floor, I am not a professional but found this product very easy to use and achieved an excellent finish. I followed th bag instuction exactly, its up to you if you want add a little more water, I did'nt and had no trouble floating the liquid around the floor. I used 2.5 bags to cover 19m sqaure, I did not PVA the floor even though it was slightly porous in small areas, If you use the higher quality product then you have to seal the floor, but I would go for this latex solution again. Mix with a drill and paddle, dries quickly but also goes down quickly so just keep moving it around the area to be covered."
+33points
54out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb product, best decision ever made,
By DiyPrincess1984
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 May 2010
Pros: simple to use, very fast
Cons: not very cheap when levelling large areas
"I needed to level out a concrete floor prior to laying tiles. I've been researching self levelling screed for the last few weeks and was suprised by the large amount of negative reviews. After a quick chat with one of the lads at Wickes I decided to give it a go.
I bought a paddle for the drill to do the mixing and a large soft bucket to make pouring easier.
Was very easy to mix up and soon was at the desired consistancy.
When pouring the trick seamed to be to spread it all out and then use the trowel to join it all together. Once all the gaps are filled it really does self level.
It dries very fast, luckly I had the drill to mix it all up, as would have been a total nightmare if I was mixing by hand.
I had an area of 12 m2 and used 3 bags which would be 4 m2 a bag. I do think that you would really need a lot of experience to get 8m2 out of each bag but I'm sure with practice it could be achieved.
I was really put off by all the negative reviews out there. I'm glad I decided to give it a go, as now it will be so much easier to lay the tiles and will give a much better finish."
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesnt Self Level,
By jim2607
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
11 March 2014
"Followed instructions to the letter including using Wickes own recommended primer onto WPB. Used two bags mixed and laid within 5 minutes using 5.5 litres per bag. Spread it out with a squeegee and plasterers trowel to get it relatively even but it started to set within 5 minutes, and didnt find its own level AT ALL. Id barely got the first bag down before it started to set hard. It ended up with swirls in the surface all over the place and Im now having to take the whole lot up today and start again with a different product as I need it to be perfectly level before laying Amtico. Might have gotten away with it if laying tiles. Absolutely useless stuff."
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
By bodgitandskarper
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 February 2014
Pros: easy to use
Cons: a little pricey
"If you plan what youre doing, give yourself plenty of time and space to work, use one of those rubber buckets and a mixing paddle, this stuff works very well. 5L of water worked ok, but I can see if a little more is used how it could help in some situations ie I used a trowel to make sure it got into a couple of nooks, maybe a weaker fluid wouldn't need that.
I did one bag and 5L of water, mixed it up well, poured it and fettled it, then straight back for another bag. Worked quickly but not rushed and poured the second lot well before it started going off. No problems.
Recommended."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints..great stuff !!,
By Bobbybass
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 January 2014
Pros: does a great job if you mix it correctly.
Cons: i didn't discover it years ago !!
"This was the first time I had used a floor levelling compound. I wanted to lay vinyl flooring over a concrete bathroom floor that had the remains of adhesive...fluffy carpet stuff...and general 'chips' out of it. I did work hard to scrape off as much as the old stuff as possible.You NEED to get as much loose stuff vacuumed up as possible.I looked at You*ube to see the way others had mixed it and only used the water instructions as a rough guide. I used a drill paddle and made it up like watery mud...(soup somebody said..tomato soup).. I had a couple of depressions...and for speed I used a car body type flexible type chemical filler...so that it was set in 30 minutes. Used ordinary PVA to prime it with a 50/50 mix (very thick) .Poured it and it flowed all around like water and I trowelled it into nooks. Set quickly..no air holes..nice finish...level..Excellent...delighted...will use again."
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy peasy,
By witch1
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 September 2013
Pros: fairly easy to use
Cons: a bit pricey
"The floor in our new extra large porch ended up with a terrible floor, unlevel and badly pitted and that was after the installed screeded it. Fed up I decided to have a go at floor levelling and would now definitely have another go at doing it.
We bought a paddle - which is cheaper at BQ by the way - and 2 bags of leveller. Decided to by the proffesional acrylic sealant stuff as well just in case as it does say on the bag to seal the floor. PVA is probably the same thing and cheaper but Im not sure. Anyway I decided to do two weak sealant solutions, just in case.
Then came the mixing which OH did in a 40l flexi bucket. He added 5.5ltrs of water instead of 5ltrs as on the bag. I then set to work spreading it.
Bloomin hard work I can say but once you get the knack its easier although I thought it was still a bit thick and drying too quick.
Second bag he added 6ltrs of water and it was only slightly thinner but much easier to use as it flowed better.
The join from one bag to the next isnt perfect as the first lot was drying rapidly but its not too bad.
I would suggest that one person mixes the next bag as one person puts down the first so there is a continuous flow rather than put down, mix, put down, mix.
The porch is 4mtrs by 2mtrs and took 2 bags. 4 hours later it is already set and the floor is vastly improved with no pitting or holes anywhere and looks pretty good if I do say so myself.
Im female and 60 next birthday. Ive never done anything like this before so if I can do it anyone can."
+21points
26out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 September 2013
Pros: good workability
Cons: price quite expensive for large areas
"great product was a bit worried about useing product as it quite expensive and didnt want to get it wrong or have a bad finish, but follow instructions on the bag and it was perfect done exactly what i wanted it to do. if you are looking to cover a small or large area this product really does work."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Life,
By Cheesey
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
22 October 2012
"After reading the differing recommendations of how to mix this product I decided, with some trepidation, to give it a try.
I decided not to follow the mixing instructions on the packaging and go for a consistency that I was sure would flow rather than one that would need spreading (as some reviews had said). If I had to describe the consistency I went for, I would say it was something resembling that well known brand of tinned tomato soup.
Having mixed in a big flexible bucket (definitely a two person job), I poured it on the area and it immediately went to work spreading out. I has access to all sides of the area so didn't need to worry about only pouring that i could reach. It needed some encouragement to flow into the corners but other than that no need to touch it.
In conclusion, as others have said. It is all in the mix, get the mix correct (like soup) and the rest is so easy you wouldn't believe it. Would definitely use again."
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rubbish,
By mugcustomer
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
17 October 2012
Pros: none
Cons: its existence
"Utter rubbish. 8sqm? no chance. As seems to have been said before, it needs a tad more water as its a bit too stiff to flow well. Had 7sqm to cover at depth of 3mm, bought 2 bags of this gear and that just stretched to 6sqm. And yes I mixed it as insrtucted the floor was not at all porous, it didn't all run down a mouse hole either. Now left with an extra sqm to cover plus go over the whole lot again to level out the small scale countryside scene I have along my hallway. Will I be using this stuff to go over again? No I won't. I think I'd be better off throwing baked beans on the floor and hoping it goes hard."
-39points
6out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
misleading instructions,
By Rober
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
03 October 2012
Pros: easy to brake up
Cons: false instruction
"This product would be fine if they would give correct instructions with it. I needed to brake it up because as it said I put 5 litre water to it and due to my lack of previous experience I thought it is fine. It just did not spread nice, even with a little help. I bought 4 bags of it. To the last two bags I put 6 litre of water and although it needed a little bit more time to dry, it spread perfectly. Just wasted a day for me plus the cost."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!!,
By nrawlins
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
21 June 2012
Pros: super level floor, very easy to do
Cons: does not go up to 20mm, has air bubbles in it
"This is a great product and solved many issues for me. Works brilliantly, especially in conjunction with the liquid DPM.
However, I must add that this does *not* level up to 20mm if adding sharp sand as the description says. If you read the packet it can only bring *depressions* of the floor up to 20mm by adding sharp sand and troweling it in.
So only add sharp sand for area's... it cannot be used to fill 20mm all over as it appeared to advertise. Caused me to have to mix up concrete first.
The only other negetive thing is the fact it seems to be full of air when using a drill attachment. This then caused hundreds of tiny holes all over the floor as the air escapes. Not sure if I did anything wrong here but i'll be laying flooring on top.
I would also recommend using the Wickes primer first if going on concrete. I used PVA glue as a cheaper alternative and i have hairline cracks all over it but it seems to still be fine.
Recommended!"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use :o),
By Capelgreen1
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 March 2012
Pros: easy to lay, a bag will do 3mm at 5sqm
Cons: none really
"I was very impressed with this product, being an intermediate DIYer, I searched the web high & low for a decent self levelling product. I needed to self level 3mm, in just under 5sqm for a bathroom & wanted to do it easily & quickly. Preparation took me about an hour, the actual pouring & spreading, about 10mins, very quick. I used a 40Litre flexible bucket to mix with a paddle, the 25kg bag, with 5 litres of water added, took up about half the bucket. First I PVAd (4 part water to 1 part PVA) the floor as my floor was already screeded but dry & pourous. I then waited about 15mins to dry. Sealing the floor prevented the liquid drying out, whilst spreading. I Mixed the while 25kg in the bucket (remember to add powder into to water !). The consistancy was exactly as expected, a thick, but runny enough solution. I wanted to use 1 bucket for the job so I knew how far I was going as I poured. So I poured about 4, 15 inch circles, in a line so they all touched each other. This was along the length of the room, at one end, covering about half a metre in width. using a plasterers float, I just joined the edges of the circles & pushed some of the liquid to the wall. good news is that the liquid flows well and is easy to move around to get good coverage. I did about 3/4 rows of this, working backwards to the door (yes dont get boxed in). I didnt need to add any extra water, it didnt need it ! Though its a latex solution it drys to an African Grey (parrot) colour & does harden well (its not soft as I suspected). A few air bubbles appeared but I expected this. I also noticed, once dried, that all the light grey areas were the high spots & dark grey areas were all the low spots which I had noted (now levelled out) ! Its a very quick product to lay & was runny enough TO self level, though you must spread with a float or flat sided object, to get the liquid aup against walls etc. I used duck tape & cardboard to form a seal at the doorway, about an inch in height. Luckily it was a low spot so the liquid didnt exceed over the trshold BUT I would imagine other DIYers MUST do this to stop overflow damaging a carpet etc."
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product,
By Kasandy
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 March 2012
Pros: easy to use, perfect results
Cons: not cheap
"Wow, I can't believe the brilliant results using this product - and no, I'm not a Wickes employee, and have nothing to gain from promoting the stuff.
It seems that back in 2010, it was getting bad reviews, but something's changed - either the instructions, or the ingredients.
This was my first attempt at using a self-levelling compound, and it went on smoothly and easily. Admittedly, it was only the downstairs toilet, and it took under two minutes to pour out, and gently spread around.
I started with the specified Wickes primer, and allowed it to dry for 30 minutes. This prevents rapid drying, and aids flow. I then mixed the whole bag of compound with exactly 4.5Lt of water (and no more) using a drill mixer and one of those huge yellow tubs (for at least two minutes).
With some trepidation, I poured the product first to the right side of the room, and then the left, finishing at the doorway. It only needed a small amount of coaxing into the corners with a trowel (plasterers). I guess the more you pour on, the easier it flows. I went for about 5mm, but it should be good for 3 – 15mm.
I left it overnight, and the following morning I inspected the solid, flat, hard grey surface - perfect!
I wouldn’t hesitate at using this product again, but I guess a larger area requires careful planning in order to get all the mixture down without delay.
"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple DIY'er,
By Maskie
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 September 2011
Pros: easy and does what it states
Cons: instructions not clear when adding sharp sand!
"I used this product with a leep of faith as I have never done anything like this before. Ready the reviews.
I mixed min to the letter with 5ltrs of water and even added nearly a full bag of sharp sand. Prepared the area sealing the gaps in the floor boards with some masking tape, put down an board in the large area to help fill the void, I was filling 1.3m x 2m level to a dip of 23mm adding the board means less compound needed. poured it. moved it around with a plained block of wood. Even though I mixed mine quite thick and plyable. It was easy play with and the finish is very smooth. Dont get why people are bothered about the finish as they are putting something on top of it...(other reviews said not ahppy with the finish). Took a bit longer to dry more on the 4 hours side no the 2 it states. Over all I have a very nice kitchen floor now thanks to this product. Thanks and hope this helps the people who might be thinking I dont know what to do with this stuff....PS Wickes mixing paddle only cost me £6, its a must for this stuff.
When adding a bag of sharp sand just add it slowy to the mix and do not add more water it is not needed and you may effect the setting of this stuff."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
useful product,
By godave
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
13 August 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
"I found it easy to use and the finished surface made tiling easy.A builder friend gave me a tip that was to wet the floor before pouring the mix and this seem to work well"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rapid Setting,
By ptfe15
Expertise: Expert DIYer
06 April 2011
Pros: works well, dries quickly
Cons: dries quickly, don't breath it in :-)
"This is good stuff - no need to buy the master stuff, but be aware that it sets quickly so only mix up enough for the job and clean up tools quickly."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does work, just need more water,
By ImpartialReviewer
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
04 March 2011
Pros: works
Cons: need more water than instructions suggest
"As others have said adding more water does allows the compound to settle better and give a little more time to run a trowel over before it starts to set. I went for a consistency of creme of tomato soup.
I've tried this product twice - In the first attempt i used the exact amount of water specified, and despite it being a cold day, the finish was far from perfect, setting far too fast and requiring some remedial work to get rid of trowel ridges.
So use a little more water than the instructions suggest, add the powder to the water, use a paint/plaster mixer attachment for a drill, avoid using it on a hot day, use a trowel to aid spreading, and get it laid as soon as it's mixed up."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Give it a go,
By Girlpower4
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 January 2011
Pros: very easy to use
Cons: difficult to get the 8m2 out of it
"I needed to level a utility floor of about 5m2. I reviewed all the comments make about this product and with a 50/50 review I thought that I should give it a go.
I followed the instructions to the letter and found it very easy to mix using the drill attachment suggested in the other reviews. To mix the 25kg bag took about 10 minutes to make sure the consistency was right and then a further 10 minutes to lay.
I did use the whole 25kg bag to cover the area so a little practice I feel would be needed to get the 8m2 as it states.
Using a level I found that the product was easy to move round and filled all holes some of which were deeper than 5mm.
It did start levelling straight away and took a good 24 hours to dry as the room is quite cold at the moment but a heater helped to speed the process.
Now I have a flat surface for tiling.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Fine,
By DrNick
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
09 January 2011
Pros: smooths well to a nice finish
Cons: other products dry faster
"I used this to level my kitchen floor, after taking up some very springy laminate that had been installed by the previous owners of my house. It mixed up fairly well using a drill with a 60cm long mixing attachment, and tipping the powder into the water while stirring. There is no way you would be able to do this by hand, it took a lot of mixing on full power to get to a good even liquid mix. I found it flowed well on the floor, and once smoothed over it gave a good level finish. There were a lot of tiny bubbles that rose up and popped at the surface, so a spiked roller would give a better finish. The drying time was between 5 and 6 hours to walk on, at depths of 2-5mm with a few small bits that might even be 6-7mm, but it is quite cold at the moment. Overall, this seems to have done the job and the finish is fine. My only complaint was a few solid lumps in one of the two bags I purchased, and that the pouring spout on the bags was a pain to fold out."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Latex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent results!!,
By minus161
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 December 2010
"In preparation for laying 13m2 of Black Granite tiles on our concrete kitchen floor the use of a levelling compound was required. The kitchen was off by approximately 15mm from end to end.
After reading the reviews on this product I was cautious about attempting to use it as I had never levelled a floor this way before.
Bought a flexible 40l bucket/tub and a 600mm long mixing paddle.
Built shutters around areas that required blocking off, PVA'd the floor prior to mixing and waited for it to dry. Dragged the missus in for help as i was expecting to have to rush. Put 5.5litres of water in the tub and cut open the bag corner, missus starts drill paddle in water and i started pouring in the powder. First mix looked good and was ready in about 2-3 minutes. Started pouring in and around at one end and it immediately started finding its own level. Didnt even have to touch it. Had the next mix on the go straight away and was ready about 5 mins later. Did the same again only pouring further on and slightly into the first covered area. Used an old garden rake to move it around and again it found its own level and mixed in with the first lot. Repeated this for 6 bags.
Results are amazing! Only factor to consider is that any shuttering needs to be sealed well as i lost quite a bit through very small gaps....clearly i cant fault the product for that!
Spoke to the manufacturers of this product (Bostik) they said you can add a 25kg bag of sharp sand to a 25kg bag of this mix with the same 5litre quantity of water for deeper discrepencies. It doesnt require sealing after use. They did say not to add more water as it wont cure and after i have used this product 5l is the correct ammount. Be sure to add the powder to the water and not the other way round as i fear some people may have attempted judging by some of the reviews.
No problems encountered and im very happy with the results!
Hope this review helps!"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>