Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wickes.

Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg

Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound is a flexible, rapid setting sub-floor levelling compound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 Reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
40 of 49(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Review 1 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st time user. Easy,
  • Featured
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
29 July 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none really
" I have just jused this product today, this was my first go a leveling a slightly uneven concrete floor, I am not a professional but found this product very easy to use and achieved an excellent finish. I followed th bag instuction exactly, its up to you if you want add a little more water, I did'nt and had no trouble floating the liquid around the floor. I used 2.5 bags to cover 19m sqaure, I did not PVA the floor even though it was slightly porous in small areas, If you use the higher quality product then you have to seal the floor, but I would go for this latex solution again. Mix with a drill and paddle, dries quickly but also goes down quickly so just keep moving it around the area to be covered. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+83points
129out of 175found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb product, best decision ever made,
  • Featured
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 May 2010
Pros: simple to use, very fast
Cons: not very cheap when levelling large areas
" I needed to level out a concrete floor prior to laying tiles. I've been researching self levelling screed for the last few weeks and was suprised by the large amount of negative reviews. After a quick chat with one of the lads at Wickes I decided to give it a go.
I bought a paddle for the drill to do the mixing and a large soft bucket to make pouring easier.
Was very easy to mix up and soon was at the desired consistancy.
When pouring the trick seamed to be to spread it all out and then use the trowel to join it all together. Once all the gaps are filled it really does self level.
It dries very fast, luckly I had the drill to mix it all up, as would have been a total nightmare if I was mixing by hand.
I had an area of 12 m2 and used 3 bags which would be 4 m2 a bag. I do think that you would really need a lot of experience to get 8m2 out of each bag but I'm sure with practice it could be achieved.
I was really put off by all the negative reviews out there. I'm glad I decided to give it a go, as now it will be so much easier to lay the tiles and will give a much better finish. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+87points
96out of 105found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does not dry that easily,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 February 2016
" Using it was not a problem as such.. but it took almost 4 days to dry out completely and i ended up using portable heaters to dry it out before the installer could lay laminate... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You need stong arms but buy the extras,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 February 2016
Cons: bags are very heavy
" After reading other reviews I purchased three bags of compound plus Wickes Heavy Duty Paddle Mixer 120 x 600mm and Wickes Soft Bucket 40L. The paddle made it easier to mix and the large bucket with handles made it easy to move about once mixed. I used three bags for 11 sq m's.
The only issue I had was lifting the bags up to pour into the water in the bucket and using the drill to mix at the same time, unless you have strong arms either put half the bag in another bucket to pour in or hold the bag between your knees.
Initially I was sceptical of this product but I'm really pleased with the outcome and finish
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 February 2016
" This is a quality product and I would buy it again without hesitation. I used it to add a flat finish to the sub-base floor in my new extension (the sub-base was a sand/cement screed). The mix can be as runny as you like, it still sets (it also set over a wooden door threshold). I used a weak PVA mix to seal the sub-floor first (why not? its really cheap). No cracks after 2 months, and its even had loads of water over it from my rendering the internal walls and washing tools It self-levels very nicely - I did use a floor trowel to help it along and avoid any doubt. You won't be disappointed "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it claims,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 January 2016
Pros: easy to use, good results if you follow the instructions
Cons: none
" I followed the instructions to the letter, using the quantity of water the manufacturer specifies. Although tempted, I didn't use any additional water as some reviewers advise. Application was easy and the end result was fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bostic cempolatex,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 September 2015
Pros: does what it says on the bag
" I found this product to be exellent it does what it says I had a 27ft lounge and a hall to do and it was all over the place but I did it with some ease because of the difference in levels I did it twice it dries in about 3 to 4 hours now have a lovely level floor very pleased mixed it in a dustbin but you need a mixing paddle and only mixed 2bags at a time and for a woman I think it was a breeze "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 September 2015
Pros: easy to spread with the right gear.
" Used over mat underfloor heating to create surface to tile on, great results, followed the instructions for water amount per bag and all was good, make sure you have a decent spreader, makes life easier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
27 August 2015
" Like making pancakes - by the time you do the last one you've just about got it right.
Power stirrer essential. I found it needed about an extra litre of water per mix, then it flowed, levelled and gave you time to work it.
Used a garden rake to spread it. Bought a spiked roller specially which just put loads of holes in a decent smooth finish
Used as a garage floor surface. Not sure how it wears yet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't be afraid!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 July 2015
Pros: easy
Cons: none
" Just finishing levelling my 3 x 4 metre concrete floor with this compound. Took 7 packs and it did exactly what it says on the packet. Mixed in a soft bucket with a cheapo paddle mixer attached to my drill. Just mixed it until all lumps were removed then threw it down. Requires minimal trowelling and looks just the job. Definitely one of my more pleasant DIY experiences "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid ! its cheap for a reason !,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
03 June 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: easy to remove !
" I bought this to level my garage floor and followed the instructions to the letter, the problem is is that the surface remains dry and chalky like and dusty, you can rub trough it easily with your finger !
I worked hard to make a lovely finish that i could paint but its too soft to be of any use and i'm having to do the job again with some decent stuff and is now going to cost me double for the same job.
I'm very disappointed and will never buy this product again ! but i guess you get what you pay for !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-23points
1out of 25found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team05 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 12 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 May 2015
Pros: easy to use, great finish
Cons: the prep work took a while
" I purchased this and my son and a couple of his mates laid it and we are all novices at this sort of thing, so if we can do it; anyone can. Once you make sure that you properly prep the surface (we had to remove an old layer of tile cement first) get it dust free, then just put down a 50/50 layer of PVA/water and you are good to go.
If you have some areas that you don't want it to go - we laid it down in a kitchen and we didn't want it to go right under the units - glue down some 2"x1" batons on the floor and put bathroom caulk along the edges. Then just mix it as it says on the bag and pour it on the floor, using a trowel to push it into the corners.
Bear in mind that it's pretty 'wet' when you lay it and if your doing multiple bags you need to work quite quickly so each batch merges together. We found that one person mixing with a drill and one spreading worked really well.
Although this product is a little pricier than some of the others, I'd say it's well worth it for ease of use and the end result being great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great compound,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 May 2015
Pros: quick and easy to use
" Compound used for levelling a kitchen and dining room floor, with a half inch difference in levels? It was easy to mix by hand in a large flexible bucket. Levelled out in a short while and feathered out the edges with a float. The laminate flooring is sitting proudly on top. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simples,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 April 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: definitely requires a paddle to mix
" Following previous reviews, especially one that said 'for the non professional ' I went for this one, which also happened to be the cheapest. It was easy to lay following mixing with a purchased cheapest 'Paddle'. The finish not only looked good it was also waterproof no doubt due to the Latex additive. It was used to smooth out a poorly laid ballast concrete base for a greenhouse. it also gave a very hard surface. Brilliant. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good & simple to use,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
11 April 2015
Pros: simple
" Garage floor had surface like the moon.
Bought 3 bags, followed instructions, very simple,
(I made a drill paddle to mix with).
Now my garage is ready for a nice coat of paint.
Perfectly smooth and level!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works fine,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
07 April 2015
" Works fine, the only thing i found was that when following the mixing instructions it came out too thick but didn't notice until i poured a load out! check it first by pouring a small amount, i needed to add around another litre of water to the mix. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 March 2015
Pros: easy to apply than most others
" I've tried 3 types of self leveling compound and this one is the best for novice users. With most others you need to be skilled like a plasterer, but this latex compound its far more forgiving and blends into each pour without causing ridge lines.I will note 2 things. I Always had to add at least 1 litre more water than what the bag says,(sometime more) don't worry about adding too much water it will set in the end.If you make a mistake and try to repair a hole or dip after it's set, be aware a second layer will dry extremely quickly on top of the first layer. (draws the water out). If you paint the compound flooring, than use a polyurethane paint for general use, but use a Epoxy paint for heavy use or areas that will have wheel rollers on it . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked Like A dream,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 March 2015
Pros: mixes smoothly, settles quickly, nice smooth finish
Cons: a little bit pricey
" Used to cover a concrete floor prior to tiling. Floor was rough, with some cracks and dips that would have been challenging to even out with the tile cement. Read the reviews and mixed at exactly 6l of water per bag. Covered 8sqm from two bags. Need to be ready to get the second lot down before the first goes off. Generally spread well, I just encouraged it lightly into some edges and corners with a float. I mixed the powder into 6l of water in a Wickes 30 litre high-sided bucket with a paddle attachment on my drill. Gives a nice smooth mix in minutes. i wouldn't want to mix it all by hand, particularly if you have to lay more than one batch. As it dries it releases a lot of water, which I didn't think about. So in a sealed conservatory there was a lot of condensation next day - opening a few smaller windows would have helped! My father-in-law (whose floor it was) was delighted with the result and thought he might not tile it after all (joking I think!). Overall, whilst it might be considered a bit pricey, it gives a great finish and is very easy to put down. I would guess about 30 minutes start to finish for 8 sq.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Patchy,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
02 March 2015
Cons: cracks over taped sections, not as flexible as expected
" Used over floorboards, applied tape between floorboards to cover joints, primed my floorboards with PVA solution as recommended. Left to dry then applied the product as per the instructions but after it had dried it started to crack and come away in places, mainly over the taped sections but also some parts where it was just floorboard underneath. I thought it might be ok to put flooring on top but more of it started coming away so I am now having to remove it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-21points
4out of 29found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team27 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to learn you’re having trouble with your new Wickes Latex Self Levelling Floor Compound 25kg, and we really want to understand why this has happened. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 03301234123. Thank you, Kind Regards Wickes.
Review 20 for Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice product,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 March 2015
" found that i needed to add more water than what is on the cover for it to level out, otherwise good for leveling. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>