Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement, Mortar & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg

Bostik Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound is a flexible, rapid setting sub-floor levelling compound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.024 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 Reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
33 of 42(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Review 1 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st time user. Easy,
  • Featured
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
29 July 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none really
" I have just jused this product today, this was my first go a leveling a slightly uneven concrete floor, I am not a professional but found this product very easy to use and achieved an excellent finish. I followed th bag instuction exactly, its up to you if you want add a little more water, I did'nt and had no trouble floating the liquid around the floor. I used 2.5 bags to cover 19m sqaure, I did not PVA the floor even though it was slightly porous in small areas, If you use the higher quality product then you have to seal the floor, but I would go for this latex solution again. Mix with a drill and paddle, dries quickly but also goes down quickly so just keep moving it around the area to be covered. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+72points
103out of 134found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb product, best decision ever made,
  • Featured
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 May 2010
Pros: simple to use, very fast
Cons: not very cheap when levelling large areas
" I needed to level out a concrete floor prior to laying tiles. I've been researching self levelling screed for the last few weeks and was suprised by the large amount of negative reviews. After a quick chat with one of the lads at Wickes I decided to give it a go.
I bought a paddle for the drill to do the mixing and a large soft bucket to make pouring easier.
Was very easy to mix up and soon was at the desired consistancy.
When pouring the trick seamed to be to spread it all out and then use the trowel to join it all together. Once all the gaps are filled it really does self level.
It dries very fast, luckly I had the drill to mix it all up, as would have been a total nightmare if I was mixing by hand.
I had an area of 12 m2 and used 3 bags which would be 4 m2 a bag. I do think that you would really need a lot of experience to get 8m2 out of each bag but I'm sure with practice it could be achieved.
I was really put off by all the negative reviews out there. I'm glad I decided to give it a go, as now it will be so much easier to lay the tiles and will give a much better finish. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+72points
81out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't be afraid!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 July 2015
Pros: easy
Cons: none
" Just finishing levelling my 3 x 4 metre concrete floor with this compound. Took 7 packs and it did exactly what it says on the packet. Mixed in a soft bucket with a cheapo paddle mixer attached to my drill. Just mixed it until all lumps were removed then threw it down. Requires minimal trowelling and looks just the job. Definitely one of my more pleasant DIY experiences "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid ! its cheap for a reason !,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
03 June 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: easy to remove !
" I bought this to level my garage floor and followed the instructions to the letter, the problem is is that the surface remains dry and chalky like and dusty, you can rub trough it easily with your finger !
I worked hard to make a lovely finish that i could paint but its too soft to be of any use and i'm having to do the job again with some decent stuff and is now going to cost me double for the same job.
I'm very disappointed and will never buy this product again ! but i guess you get what you pay for !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-13points
1out of 15found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team05 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 5 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 May 2015
Pros: easy to use, great finish
Cons: the prep work took a while
" I purchased this and my son and a couple of his mates laid it and we are all novices at this sort of thing, so if we can do it; anyone can. Once you make sure that you properly prep the surface (we had to remove an old layer of tile cement first) get it dust free, then just put down a 50/50 layer of PVA/water and you are good to go.
If you have some areas that you don't want it to go - we laid it down in a kitchen and we didn't want it to go right under the units - glue down some 2"x1" batons on the floor and put bathroom caulk along the edges. Then just mix it as it says on the bag and pour it on the floor, using a trowel to push it into the corners.
Bear in mind that it's pretty 'wet' when you lay it and if your doing multiple bags you need to work quite quickly so each batch merges together. We found that one person mixing with a drill and one spreading worked really well.
Although this product is a little pricier than some of the others, I'd say it's well worth it for ease of use and the end result being great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great compound,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 May 2015
Pros: quick and easy to use
" Compound used for levelling a kitchen and dining room floor, with a half inch difference in levels? It was easy to mix by hand in a large flexible bucket. Levelled out in a short while and feathered out the edges with a float. The laminate flooring is sitting proudly on top. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simples,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 April 2015
Pros: easy to use
Cons: definitely requires a paddle to mix
" Following previous reviews, especially one that said 'for the non professional ' I went for this one, which also happened to be the cheapest. It was easy to lay following mixing with a purchased cheapest 'Paddle'. The finish not only looked good it was also waterproof no doubt due to the Latex additive. It was used to smooth out a poorly laid ballast concrete base for a greenhouse. it also gave a very hard surface. Brilliant. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good & simple to use,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
11 April 2015
Pros: simple
" Garage floor had surface like the moon.
Bought 3 bags, followed instructions, very simple,
(I made a drill paddle to mix with).
Now my garage is ready for a nice coat of paint.
Perfectly smooth and level!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works fine,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
07 April 2015
" Works fine, the only thing i found was that when following the mixing instructions it came out too thick but didn't notice until i poured a load out! check it first by pouring a small amount, i needed to add around another litre of water to the mix. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 March 2015
Pros: easy to apply than most others
" I've tried 3 types of self leveling compound and this one is the best for novice users. With most others you need to be skilled like a plasterer, but this latex compound its far more forgiving and blends into each pour without causing ridge lines.I will note 2 things. I Always had to add at least 1 litre more water than what the bag says,(sometime more) don't worry about adding too much water it will set in the end.If you make a mistake and try to repair a hole or dip after it's set, be aware a second layer will dry extremely quickly on top of the first layer. (draws the water out). If you paint the compound flooring, than use a polyurethane paint for general use, but use a Epoxy paint for heavy use or areas that will have wheel rollers on it . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked Like A dream,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 March 2015
Pros: mixes smoothly, settles quickly, nice smooth finish
Cons: a little bit pricey
" Used to cover a concrete floor prior to tiling. Floor was rough, with some cracks and dips that would have been challenging to even out with the tile cement. Read the reviews and mixed at exactly 6l of water per bag. Covered 8sqm from two bags. Need to be ready to get the second lot down before the first goes off. Generally spread well, I just encouraged it lightly into some edges and corners with a float. I mixed the powder into 6l of water in a Wickes 30 litre high-sided bucket with a paddle attachment on my drill. Gives a nice smooth mix in minutes. i wouldn't want to mix it all by hand, particularly if you have to lay more than one batch. As it dries it releases a lot of water, which I didn't think about. So in a sealed conservatory there was a lot of condensation next day - opening a few smaller windows would have helped! My father-in-law (whose floor it was) was delighted with the result and thought he might not tile it after all (joking I think!). Overall, whilst it might be considered a bit pricey, it gives a great finish and is very easy to put down. I would guess about 30 minutes start to finish for 8 sq.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Patchy,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
02 March 2015
Cons: cracks over taped sections, not as flexible as expected
" Used over floorboards, applied tape between floorboards to cover joints, primed my floorboards with PVA solution as recommended. Left to dry then applied the product as per the instructions but after it had dried it started to crack and come away in places, mainly over the taped sections but also some parts where it was just floorboard underneath. I thought it might be ok to put flooring on top but more of it started coming away so I am now having to remove it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-18points
3out of 24found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team27 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to learn you’re having trouble with your new Wickes Latex Self Levelling Floor Compound 25kg, and we really want to understand why this has happened. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 03301234123. Thank you, Kind Regards Wickes.
Review 13 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice product,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 March 2015
" found that i needed to add more water than what is on the cover for it to level out, otherwise good for leveling. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WICKES LATEX SELF LEVELLING FLOOR COMPOUND 25KG,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 February 2015
Pros: good self leveller with xtra water
" After reading previous reviews I mixed the bag in one go with extra water as it does start to go off very quick.
This allows it more time to find the right level.
I mixed 3 bags one after the other and poured at different parts of the room and left it to find its own level.
By adding more water it took longer for it to dry , in my case about 18 hours in certain deeper corners until it was good to walk on.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Economical option for deep filling,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 February 2015
Pros: cheap smooth result
Cons: adding extra water might weaken screed
" I had a deeply uneven floor. To start I followed the instruction for bolstering with sand. This made a heavy mix. An 810 watt drill with paddle struggled. I wouldn't try with any thing less or you'll burn it out. When absolutely fresh the mix self smooths to a degree but quickly starts to thicken and ridges form while floating off. I filled from a depth of about 25mm, going down to a thin scraping and was reasonably happy with the result for a first attempt. You'll need practice though for a smooth result, but I was going to put a self leveling coat on top so the unevenness wasn't a problem. The good thing here, is that a bag of sand costs a lot less than a second bag of deep base self leveling.
Onto the self leveling, I followed recommendations to mix with 6 litres of water. My experience much the same as other reviewers who did this. My 4th mix showed pin holing from bubbles. I think this was rotation of drill. To start you need paddle forcing water down or it sprays everywhere. Once powder is added, reverse rotation so it forces the mix up. the paddle sucks down and makes sure no thick sludge is left at the bottom of the tub. On my 4th mix I left the paddle forcing mix down for much longer and as I moved it up and down I think it forced air down into the mix. Just a guess, but it's the only difference between that and the other 3 bags that I mixed, and they had no bubbles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
try it,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 July 2014
Pros: easy to mix with drill and mixing paddle
Cons: none
" never done this before,but after reading reviews decided to give it a go rather than paying someone to do it for me.PVA`d the floor first to seal it (covering glazed quarry tiles)and waited till dry.Mixed as per instructions but added an extra half litre of water with addition of strong pva concentrate.Used a jug to pour the mix and let it find its own level,did the job, 5m x 3m kitchen floor in 15 mins.Brilliant result,like glass.Dried completely in 4 hours and have had lino laid on top.Would recommend to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+57points
81out of 105found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good if you ignore instructions,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 June 2014
" You need to add much more water than the instructions say. Mix to a medium thickness soup. It then levels fine you can help it a bit with a trowel but I didn't need to really. Anything less and it won't self level and it will set far too quickly for you to do anything with it. See other reviews. I sealed the underlying concrete floor with a waterproof PVA mix and let that set first before adding the latex covering. Nice smooth resilient finish. I am a DIY novice and I managed this fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+39points
58out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesnt Self Level,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
11 March 2014
" Followed instructions to the letter including using Wickes own recommended primer onto WPB. Used two bags mixed and laid within 5 minutes using 5.5 litres per bag. Spread it out with a squeegee and plasterers trowel to get it relatively even but it started to set within 5 minutes, and didnt find its own level AT ALL. Id barely got the first bag down before it started to set hard. It ended up with swirls in the surface all over the place and Im now having to take the whole lot up today and start again with a different product as I need it to be perfectly level before laying Amtico. Might have gotten away with it if laying tiles. Absolutely useless stuff. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-9points
41out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 February 2014
Pros: easy to use
Cons: a little pricey
" If you plan what youre doing, give yourself plenty of time and space to work, use one of those rubber buckets and a mixing paddle, this stuff works very well. 5L of water worked ok, but I can see if a little more is used how it could help in some situations ie I used a trowel to make sure it got into a couple of nooks, maybe a weaker fluid wouldn't need that.
I did one bag and 5L of water, mixed it up well, poured it and fettled it, then straight back for another bag. Worked quickly but not rushed and poured the second lot well before it started going off. No problems.
Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+37points
46out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cempolatex Floor Levelling Compound 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints..great stuff !!,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 January 2014
Pros: does a great job if you mix it correctly.
Cons: i didn't discover it years ago !!
" This was the first time I had used a floor levelling compound. I wanted to lay vinyl flooring over a concrete bathroom floor that had the remains of adhesive...fluffy carpet stuff...and general 'chips' out of it. I did work hard to scrape off as much as the old stuff as possible.You NEED to get as much loose stuff vacuumed up as possible.I looked at You*ube to see the way others had mixed it and only used the water instructions as a rough guide. I used a drill paddle and made it up like watery mud...(soup somebody said..tomato soup).. I had a couple of depressions...and for speed I used a car body type flexible type chemical filler...so that it was set in 30 minutes. Used ordinary PVA to prime it with a 50/50 mix (very thick) .Poured it and it flowed all around like water and I trowelled it into nooks. Set quickly..no air holes..nice finish...level..Excellent...delighted...will use again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
28out of 38found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>