Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Bathroom Suites or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Portland Toilet To Go

Clean and simple styling with pre-fitted cistern, includes fittings for quick and easy installation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.781 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 Reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
50 of 64(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portland Toilet To Go
Review 41 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for the money,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 October 2012
Pros: follow the instructions!
" Fitted this at the weekend in under an hour and really impressed.
For the money it looks great.
Far better IMO then what I could buy locally from a certain other DIY store :) and the service in store was a bonus "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
get what you pay for,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 October 2012
" The toilet was cheap, overall look great.
Wished we had looked at reviews before purchasing but after a lot of sealant it has now stopped leaking.
Although the toilet it self was straight and level, the cistern wasn't The fixing holes were out of line so that when it was fitted together the cistern didn't sit inline with the curve on the bowl.
But ha ho its in, working and servicable.
"
+53points
70out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
toilet,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
30 September 2012
" It is as expected, a relatively cheap toilet, needed to get a few extra pipes and bits n bobs to fit this, but looks fine now "
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value; works well,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 September 2012
Pros: price
Cons: instructions
" As has been said before, take time to refit the flush mechanism, water inlet valve and cistern-to-pan bolts with silicone seal. If you do this you will have a leak-free toilet for a modest price.
The instructions though are woeful. Dimensions are only on the box so had to cut them from there otherwise you have no idea how to position the pan!! And the flush mechanism instructions could do with some words. The diagrams are not enough. "
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolute rubbish,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
26 August 2012
" out of the box product looked OK. fitting first time round very simple, (wish id been here and read the reviews before I started fitting it).Turned water back on within 2 mins more water on the floor than in the cistern. Tried to tighten everything to no avail. Went on to buy all new washers, do nut and seals for everything. Cured most of the leaks but still one persistent leak around the inlet. Totally done my head in. This product has severely dented my faith in Wickes . Buy with caution "
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great toilet,
By
Expertise: Trade
11 August 2012
Pros: easy to install
" bought this toilet after reading all the reviews on it and what a bargain.the bits inside the cistern are all factory installed but after reading the reviews i stripped it down and reinstalled them myself .gota say i had no problems with this toilet no leaks and it worked first time and with a 6 litre tank it uses a fraction of the water my old toilet used to use .i recomend this toilet to anyone so simple to fit. "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 August 2012
" Have fitted 4 of these WCs and if you get a plumber to fit, then no problems. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid at all cost,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
28 July 2012
" My plumber has 40 years experience and spent 4 hours fitting this toilet. The fittings are of very poor quality, it leaked from three different places on first fitting and only when he replaced the supplied fittings with some of decent quality did he eventually get it to stop leaking.
What you'll save on the cost of the toilet you'll pay in the plumber's bill.
I'm afraid you get what you pay for, avoid at all cost. "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use Silicone!,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 July 2012
Pros: value for money
Cons: silly factory assembly practice.
" Good product for the price. Seat a bit flimsy but ok. However the factory assembly could do with using some silicone when assembling! For the want of 10 or 20p worth of silicone round inlet and flush ring to seal against porcelain the thing would not leak on final assembly...!
Like others have found, a dismantle and reassembly with sealant works fine. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 July 2012
Pros: good price
Cons: none
" this product was a budget item and with time and care went together well NO LEAKS like so many have said,you just need to take your time when installing or if your not sure what to do get a plumber. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Leaks,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
19 June 2012
Pros: cheap
Cons: leaks
" In the process of fitting and despite doing everything as it should it leaks profusely from around joins. Hard to establish where exactly but I'm guessing the doughnut or bolts that connect pan and cistern. Rang the help line and they're sending new d ring and bolt seals. Failing that it's a faulty ceramic mould and entire unit needs returning.Wish I'd gone for the 1pc eco unit again. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LEAK!!!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 June 2012
Pros: nice looking for price
Cons: seals not up to job
" Leak, Leak, Leak.
Check all seals and use seal and SILICONE, lovely toilet for the price but if you get a leak you have to take it all apart and start again as the seals supplied with it are not adequate. BE WARNED.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bargain,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 May 2012
" have fitted a few of these and they are great value for money, especially when i needed a corner toilet but didnt want to pay those extortionate corner toilet prices. i just set it at the angle i required and made a corner shelf out of an offcut of bathroom worktop, to fit the gap. looks brill, saved the customer a fortune. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leaks,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 May 2012
Pros: ok for the price..
Cons: not as pretty as some!
" As others have mentioned the cistern fittings needs checking for tightness, I had already put another one of these units in with no problems, so I thought there should be no issues this time, however it leaked from the cistern coupling screws, so sealed those and refitted, only to find the cistern connection leaked under the big nut that holds the flushing unit to the ceramic cistern (I had checked it for tightness) so all apart again, I applied some silicone around the rubber seal before fixing back into the ceramic unit and tightening the nut, all ok now! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap but Leaky,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 April 2012
Pros: cheap and product quality
Cons: leaky
" The problem is with the cistern. The main flush pipe was leaky, as mentioned by another user, the join was not as tight as it should be.
The second leak was the inlet pipe, where the rubber seal was no adequate. There was a dribble, so had to take it apart and use sealant.
After, reassembling three times, I managed to get it installed, and working.
Quality of the product is good, but expect possible leaks. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent wc,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 April 2012
" when i first purchased this wc i was a bit concerned because of the cheap price , but once fitted , which was easy with no probs at all was amazed by the quality of the wc , flush works brilliantly ,
absolute bargain .
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 April 2012
Pros: price, value
" Can't fault this for the price. If you're after a cheap toilet, you can't beat it! I've never fitted a toilet before, but it was straightforward enough. What was a bit frustrating though was that I fitted the cistern and it leaked - the siphon wasn't fitted tightly enough at the factory. You'll need something with an 8cm span to grip it and tighten it up, I used 12" water pump pliers (10" ones are too small). I'd recommend testing it before fitting by placing the cistern on some bricks and filling it to see what happens. Connecting up to the water supply - it's bottom fill, on the right hand side. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the money,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 April 2012
Pros: value for money, looks good
Cons: check the contents of box, check pre fitted items to prevent leaks!!!
" In my opinion this is quite impressive for the money. The bowl and cistern dont look cheap and are cast very well. Yeah the seat is a bit plasticy but thats to be expected at that price. Only down side was firstly the bag containing the cistern to pan bolts etc and push buttons were missing from the box (wasn't packed inside the cistern at the manufacturer). My local Wickes sorted that straight away. Secondly i agree the instructions are very poor, not that i needed them. Oh and thirdly, mine did leak a lot from the seal on the syphon. Looked fine and nice and secure so installed it but wish i'd checked the seal first......so i'd check yours before fitting!!! Apart from those trivial things its well worth the money. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 March 2012
Pros: nice new toilet for not a lot of money
Cons: worth checking before you fill with water
" fitted 2 of these in the last couple of weeks, overall quite good.
first one was fine, the second however was leaking from cistern, after messing around with it for an hour i decided to take it all apart to find that the rubber washer (syphon to cistern) wasnt fitted correctly in the factory.
just because it comes assembled doesnt mean it was assembled correctly i suppose!
"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 March 2012
Pros: compact cistern
Cons: instructions are non-existent
" This WC offers great value for money, and the quality is better than expected for the price. The instructions are awful though, and consist of a booklet showing you how to fit the cistern internals, which come pre-fitted! There is nothing on how to attach the cistern to the bowl. This is attached by two nylon bolts with conical rubber seals, and mine leaked. You don't feel like tightening it too much in case the plastic bolts break. I took it to bits twice before I got a seal, the problem being the holes in the cistern base not being round, I think. The seat is cheap but effective enough. The bowl is fitted to the floor by two headless screws with chromed hex nuts on top. This works fine when fitting, but if you need to take the bowl out again to redo the seal, then the nuts come off, leaving the screws behind, and you have to lift the bowl over the top of the screws. Not easy if you use a short adapter to the soil pipe. Apart from that, it looks a quality item when installed, and the dual flush works well. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>