Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Portland or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Portland Toilet To Go

Toilet set includes pan, push button cistern and seat. Water-saving dual-flush cistern components are pre-fitted for ease of installation. Supplied with all necessary fixings and fittings. Waste not included, available separately.
Average Customer Rating:
3.768 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
44 of 56(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portland Toilet To Go
Review 41 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use Silicone!,
By ubloke
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 July 2012
Pros: value for money
Cons: silly factory assembly practice.
"Good product for the price. Seat a bit flimsy but ok. However the factory assembly could do with using some silicone when assembling! For the want of 10 or 20p worth of silicone round inlet and flush ring to seal against porcelain the thing would not leak on final assembly...!
Like others have found, a dismantle and reassembly with sealant works fine."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy,
By sparky2909
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 July 2012
Pros: good price
Cons: none
"this product was a budget item and with time and care went together well NO LEAKS like so many have said,you just need to take your time when installing or if your not sure what to do get a plumber."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Leaks,
By AndiC
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
19 June 2012
Pros: cheap
Cons: leaks
"In the process of fitting and despite doing everything as it should it leaks profusely from around joins. Hard to establish where exactly but I'm guessing the doughnut or bolts that connect pan and cistern. Rang the help line and they're sending new d ring and bolt seals. Failing that it's a faulty ceramic mould and entire unit needs returning.Wish I'd gone for the 1pc eco unit again."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LEAK!!!,
By weddinglegs
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 June 2012
Pros: nice looking for price
Cons: seals not up to job
"Leak, Leak, Leak.
Check all seals and use seal and SILICONE, lovely toilet for the price but if you get a leak you have to take it all apart and start again as the seals supplied with it are not adequate. BE WARNED.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bargain,
By cappy
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 May 2012
"have fitted a few of these and they are great value for money, especially when i needed a corner toilet but didnt want to pay those extortionate corner toilet prices. i just set it at the angle i required and made a corner shelf out of an offcut of bathroom worktop, to fit the gap. looks brill, saved the customer a fortune."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leaks,
By mack2222
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 May 2012
Pros: ok for the price..
Cons: not as pretty as some!
"As others have mentioned the cistern fittings needs checking for tightness, I had already put another one of these units in with no problems, so I thought there should be no issues this time, however it leaked from the cistern coupling screws, so sealed those and refitted, only to find the cistern connection leaked under the big nut that holds the flushing unit to the ceramic cistern (I had checked it for tightness) so all apart again, I applied some silicone around the rubber seal before fixing back into the ceramic unit and tightening the nut, all ok now!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap but Leaky,
By DIYTiger
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 April 2012
Pros: cheap and product quality
Cons: leaky
"The problem is with the cistern. The main flush pipe was leaky, as mentioned by another user, the join was not as tight as it should be.
The second leak was the inlet pipe, where the rubber seal was no adequate. There was a dribble, so had to take it apart and use sealant.
After, reassembling three times, I managed to get it installed, and working.
Quality of the product is good, but expect possible leaks."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent wc,
By springercharlie
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 April 2012
"when i first purchased this wc i was a bit concerned because of the cheap price , but once fitted , which was easy with no probs at all was amazed by the quality of the wc , flush works brilliantly ,
absolute bargain .
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
By RenovationRich
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 April 2012
Pros: price, value
"Can't fault this for the price. If you're after a cheap toilet, you can't beat it! I've never fitted a toilet before, but it was straightforward enough. What was a bit frustrating though was that I fitted the cistern and it leaked - the siphon wasn't fitted tightly enough at the factory. You'll need something with an 8cm span to grip it and tighten it up, I used 12" water pump pliers (10" ones are too small). I'd recommend testing it before fitting by placing the cistern on some bricks and filling it to see what happens. Connecting up to the water supply - it's bottom fill, on the right hand side."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the money,
By pergolies
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 April 2012
Pros: value for money, looks good
Cons: check the contents of box, check pre fitted items to prevent leaks!!!
"In my opinion this is quite impressive for the money. The bowl and cistern dont look cheap and are cast very well. Yeah the seat is a bit plasticy but thats to be expected at that price. Only down side was firstly the bag containing the cistern to pan bolts etc and push buttons were missing from the box (wasn't packed inside the cistern at the manufacturer). My local Wickes sorted that straight away. Secondly i agree the instructions are very poor, not that i needed them. Oh and thirdly, mine did leak a lot from the seal on the syphon. Looked fine and nice and secure so installed it but wish i'd checked the seal first......so i'd check yours before fitting!!! Apart from those trivial things its well worth the money."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
By acorn
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 March 2012
Pros: nice new toilet for not a lot of money
Cons: worth checking before you fill with water
"fitted 2 of these in the last couple of weeks, overall quite good.
first one was fine, the second however was leaking from cistern, after messing around with it for an hour i decided to take it all apart to find that the rubber washer (syphon to cistern) wasnt fitted correctly in the factory.
just because it comes assembled doesnt mean it was assembled correctly i suppose!
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
By banquo
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 March 2012
Pros: compact cistern
Cons: instructions are non-existent
"This WC offers great value for money, and the quality is better than expected for the price. The instructions are awful though, and consist of a booklet showing you how to fit the cistern internals, which come pre-fitted! There is nothing on how to attach the cistern to the bowl. This is attached by two nylon bolts with conical rubber seals, and mine leaked. You don't feel like tightening it too much in case the plastic bolts break. I took it to bits twice before I got a seal, the problem being the holes in the cistern base not being round, I think. The seat is cheap but effective enough. The bowl is fitted to the floor by two headless screws with chromed hex nuts on top. This works fine when fitting, but if you need to take the bowl out again to redo the seal, then the nuts come off, leaving the screws behind, and you have to lift the bowl over the top of the screws. Not easy if you use a short adapter to the soil pipe. Apart from that, it looks a quality item when installed, and the dual flush works well."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice looking toilet,
By Boyo
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 March 2012
Pros: looks good in a small bathroom
Cons: non
"Saw this toilet in store and ordered online.Toilet recieved was nothing like the in store model but still acceptable.After fitting had to call plumber back to a leak which after a second visit was found to be a crack in the casting below the cistern.Contacted Wickes and collected a replacement from Bulwell store, they not only replaced the item but covered the cost of having the plumber back to refit which entailed alterations to the piping.Very pleased with the product and with Wickes excellent staff."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Value For Money,
By BakingCrazyMrsJ
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 January 2012
Pros: durable, easy to install, sleek, stylish, cheap, modern
"This toilet is not only extremely good value for money but the quality is brilliant - it is easy to install and durable. It looks stylish an modern and not at all cheap looking. I would highly recommend this."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant toilet,
By chellr
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 December 2011
"I needed a white toilet that was simple and unfussy. This one was perfect. Its very modern and compact. flushes well and looks good too. Great value for money."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Value,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 June 2011
"Really impressed with this toilet, excellent value. Our plummer thought it was a lot dearer than it was when he saw the weight and quality of the pan and was very impressed with the ready to go cistern. I would definately recommend to anyone."
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3