Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Bathroom Suites or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Portland Toilet To Go

Clean and simple styling with pre-fitted cistern, includes fittings for quick and easy installation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.872 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 Reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
9
62 of 78(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portland Toilet To Go
Review 41 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bog standard!,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 August 2013
Pros: neat and compact, good dual-flush action.
Cons: seat is flimsy - best replaced, cannot use with swan-neck connector.
" I needed a low-cost but reliable and compact WC for a refurbed bathroom and this appeared to score over its competitors. I checked it carefully before final assembly and installation and found nothing amiss (apart from a very small chip at the back of the cistern which will not show).
This was to replace a low-level WC, with soil pipe through floor which required alteration to line up with new pan. The rear projection on the latter prevents use of a swan-necked connector, which might cause problems to some purchasers. Apart from this, I had no difficulty with the installation and no leaks occurred anywhere. I am surprised that some others have experienced problems and think it likely that the fitter rather than the manufacturer was to blame.
The foam doughnut is adequate but do care care when locating it and lowering the cistern onto it. Be aware that the water inlet is vertical and on the RH side. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portland toilet - not a bargain,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
15 August 2013
Pros: looks great for the money
Cons: not right first time
" Good standard ceramics let down by the cheap seat, but more importantly by the impractical foam gasket meant to connect the pan to the cistern. It compresses and has no resilience so consequently lets water out after a few days. This has cost me two return visits to the property - and a good rubber gasket courtesy of the other high street DiY store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap but awful quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
25 July 2013
Cons: terrible quality
" the toilet is cheap - that's undeniable but with it there appears to be a total lack of QA on the line.
When fitted the base of the cistern was flush and the top sat over an inch away from the wall!! it simply hasn't been made well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but watch out,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 May 2013
Pros: great price, looks good, works well
Cons: make sure you get a good one
" As another reviewer said, check that all the bits are in the box before leaving the car park. While you're at it, run your hand around the outside of the soil pipe. There were several "craters" in the one I had that made it a pain to seal.
As other reviewers have said, dismantle the cistern and reassemble it looking out for stray bits of ceramic that would cause leaks when trapped under rubber washers and seals. There were plenty on the one I had but they were easily removed prior to reassembly. The supplied fittings were more than adequate and, as has been said, the floor fittings are awkward (but not impossible).
Once fitted, the toilet looks great and works well.
Would recommend - but take care!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 March 2013
Pros: relatively inexpensive and all fittings included
Cons: fitting instructions poorly written
" I read the reviews expecting a leaky toilet, i was pleasantly surprised, I fitted the doughnut washer carefully over the coupling nut and gently lowered the cistern onto the toilet, i carefully leant down on the cistern to squash the seal as I tightened up the nuts, I made sure it looked level and square then positioned the toilet and bolted down. I had no leaks, used no sealant and used the supplied plastic bolts.
The toilet has a powerful flush and I would recommend it. The seat is thin and basic but looks well designed, the fittings and screws are plastic which is useful as they won't corrode.
I used a flexible stainless tap connector pipe bought at wickes with built in shut off valve to connect the water to the cistern, this avoided forcing the 15mm copper pipe onto the cistern which didn't match from the old toilet I had removed. This also avoids the risk of pulling the cistern out of square to suit poor plumbing.
I don't normally write reviews but did find reading these helpful in choosing which toilet to buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+55points
55out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just Neat :-),
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 February 2013
Pros: neat compact, modern looking, very effective flushing, easy to clean, very easy to fit
Cons: none
" Great appearance.
Very compact.
Very effective flush action.
Really simple to, fit it took me 20 minutes from unpacking to the final clean-up.
I can't understand how some of the previous reviewers had problems getting an effective seal between the cistern and pan, just take care the seal is in the correct place before screwing the nuts down evenly. Then offer the assembled toilet into final position. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+22points
33out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replacement for renovation,
  • Top 25 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 January 2013
" I bought this toilet to replace the old, the best time to fit this is when the weather is good because its advisable to test it outside before installing it, that way you can check that its watertight. When I first opened the box the doughnut which came with was not rubber so I replaced it with a rubber and sealed the flush cistern with plumbers mait, that was the only concern a had but its quiet normal with plumbing sometimes ok sometimes not ok like I mentioned test it outdoors before putting in service this makes the job easier "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
can't be bettered,
  • Top 10 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 January 2013
Pros: good price, easy to fit if you know about these things
Cons: none really especially considering the price
" I have now fitted three of these in different places (as an amateur) and have had none of the problems reported by others, though on the latest one, I did have to reposition the cistern inlet valve as it was partially covering the hole for the pan fixing bolt!
It is worth doing a bench test on the cistern if possible, as it can ensure that leaks from this are eliminated. I have never had to redo any of the joints or use sealant. After that, the only place where you may get a leak is the cistern/pan connection. It is important to ensure that the doughnut washer sits properly in the recess on the pan. When placed around the cistern flush pipe, it can easily slip when lowering the cistern on the pan, and so it may be partly resting on the rim of the recess, which will lead to leaks.
After the washer is correctly seated, tightening the cistern connection bolts should ensure no problems. I agree with another reviewer; metal bolts would have been better, but the plastic ones supplied have been fine for me.
As for the loo itself, you can't better an in-stock toilet at such a low price. Although 'pre-fitted', all that means is that the inlet pipe and flush mechanism have been bolted in, hardly a major task, and you still have to fit the pan connection bolts and the fiddly flush buttons. Still, anything which saves time is good.
Good powerful flush, as easy to fit as any WC. The seat is a bit flimsy and the seat fittings even cruder, but hey, they're virtually thrown in for the price.
And, apart from designer specials, I really can't see the difference between this loo and those which retail for far more - it's only a toilet, after all! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
  • Top 100 Contributor
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 January 2013
Cons: seat could be better quality
" I've fitted a few of these and generally pretty pleased with the result. The problems others have had are probably due to not be careful enough in getting everything square and tight when fitting it all together. Looks pretty modern when finished. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheap and cheerful,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 January 2013
Pros: cheap
Cons: toilet seat
" very pleased with this toilet - not only is it cheap and looks good it works well! I can only say these positive comments though as i read the reviews first and decided to see for myself! Im not a plumber and have never fitted a toilet before so had my dad to do it for me whilst i 'supervised'!! He knew what he was doing which was a good thing as the instructions were in picture form and to the likes of me i would have been lost! the one side of the instrusctions shows the inside of the cistern which is already fitted so pointless really but the other side has instructions on how to cut the tubes for the flush (simple enough) but why are they not already precut?? So to anyone who buys this, firstly silicone the doughnut (black ring that the cistern sits on) to the pan then silicone the top of it to ensure no water seeps through, secondly silicone the washers on the inside of the cistern (the ones that fix the cistern to the pan, thirdly use different screws to fix it to the floor, lastly (although this isnt part of the toilet package) buy a new connector to attacth the toilet to the outlet water pipe (i made the mistake of using the old one - it leaked- my fault !!) Also i personally changed the toilet seat - this is the only thing that makes it look cheap and i didnt use it so cannot comment on the sturdiness or usability of it - have been using this toilet for a few days now and its fab - using this advice you cant go wrong! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
could be better wickes,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 December 2012
Pros: good price, already pre plumbed
Cons: plastic fittings, flimsy toilet seat
" as a plumber/heating engineer i have to say the overall quality of this product isnt bad...the price is great and my merchants cant get any where near it..so thumbs up for that..its a toilet and it does what it says on the box....
however it does have draw backs...when i 1st started using these many years back the fittings were much better...
the others on here who have had it leaking is due to the flimsy plastic bolts that go through the cistern..they used to be metal and so this never happened, but now they have switched to plastic you just cant do them up tight enough without thinking they are going to snap...SO WICKES IF YOU READ THESE REVIEWS, GO BACK TO METAL FITTINGS AND YOU WONT HAVE THESE ISSUES...
the toilet seat is very thin and flimsy again not what they used to be like...it seems the price is the same but the standard has dropped some what...
generally though this is a good product and a great price...would i use this product again...yes but i know to take a set of metal bolts with me to fit the cistern to the toilet thus eliminating the leak issues..AND NOT A DROP OF SILICONE IN SIGHT "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but frustrating,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 November 2012
Pros: cheap and good quality
Cons: having to take apart and re assemble
" Wish I had read the reviews before fitting the toilet it would have saved me a lot of time! Just as the majority of reviews mine leaked too! All I did was as suggested and re sealed all of the fittings on the cistern with a little silicon and hooray it is fine!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 November 2012
Pros: easy to assemble and fit, good price
" after reading several mixed reviews decided to go ahead and purchase. assembled in garage to check for any leaks, non evident so i fitted a couple of days later. Their were no leaks whatsoever, didnt use any silicone, the donut sealed well, the fastenings for the cistern to the pan worked fine. Connected to mains using a flexi hose and again no leaks. Instructions are very basic, but as it is all virtually done for you not really an issue. Not a plumber myself but found it very easy to put together, no issues whatsoever regarding leaks. Overall very happy with the purchase. Would definately recommended to anyone considering buying one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 November 2012
" Read the previous reviews of this toilet and as suggested refitted all parts using silicone sealant. There were no instructions on how to fit the cistern to the toilet and the washers provided were not suitable, and thus used flat rubber washers instead of the domed washers that came in the box. It easier to fit into the cistern the two plastic bolts that fasten the cistern to the toilet when the flush and filler are removed. Not sure why these plastic bolts are so long!! Anyway found the toilet generally easy to assembly and fit. No leaks when the water was turned on - hooray!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for the money,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 October 2012
Pros: follow the instructions!
" Fitted this at the weekend in under an hour and really impressed.
For the money it looks great.
Far better IMO then what I could buy locally from a certain other DIY store :) and the service in store was a bonus "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
get what you pay for,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 October 2012
" The toilet was cheap, overall look great.
Wished we had looked at reviews before purchasing but after a lot of sealant it has now stopped leaking.
Although the toilet it self was straight and level, the cistern wasn't The fixing holes were out of line so that when it was fitted together the cistern didn't sit inline with the curve on the bowl.
But ha ho its in, working and servicable.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+53points
70out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
toilet,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
30 September 2012
" It is as expected, a relatively cheap toilet, needed to get a few extra pipes and bits n bobs to fit this, but looks fine now "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value; works well,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 September 2012
Pros: price
Cons: instructions
" As has been said before, take time to refit the flush mechanism, water inlet valve and cistern-to-pan bolts with silicone seal. If you do this you will have a leak-free toilet for a modest price.
The instructions though are woeful. Dimensions are only on the box so had to cut them from there otherwise you have no idea how to position the pan!! And the flush mechanism instructions could do with some words. The diagrams are not enough. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolute rubbish,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
26 August 2012
" out of the box product looked OK. fitting first time round very simple, (wish id been here and read the reviews before I started fitting it).Turned water back on within 2 mins more water on the floor than in the cistern. Tried to tighten everything to no avail. Went on to buy all new washers, do nut and seals for everything. Cured most of the leaks but still one persistent leak around the inlet. Totally done my head in. This product has severely dented my faith in Wickes . Buy with caution "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great toilet,
By
Expertise: Trade
11 August 2012
Pros: easy to install
" bought this toilet after reading all the reviews on it and what a bargain.the bits inside the cistern are all factory installed but after reading the reviews i stripped it down and reinstalled them myself .gota say i had no problems with this toilet no leaks and it worked first time and with a 6 litre tank it uses a fraction of the water my old toilet used to use .i recomend this toilet to anyone so simple to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>