Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Portland Toilet To Go

Clean and simple styling with pre-fitted cistern, includes fittings for quick and easy installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 Reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
9
88 of 107(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portland Toilet To Go
Review 41 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 May 2015
Pros: really good price
Cons: flimsy toilet seat and lid
" Basic design and good price though toilet seat and lid rather flimsy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap and Chearful - no issues,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 April 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: no cistern fixing bolts
" Bought this BUDGET tem for a rental property. followed instructions, installed easily and without issue. Make sure you crank the cistern screws down to compress the rubber washer - no leaks in our install.
Please note you do NOT get any cistern wall fixings! you need to supply your own bolts - I use frame fixing screws with a rubber washer both outside and inside the cistern to cushion the ceramic, and a big steel washer to hold in place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lasted a week,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
01 April 2015
Pros: its very white, style is okay, easy to fit
Cons: only lasted a week
" Fitted, all seemed to fit okay. Worked for a week, maybe 10 flushes and now runs constantly. So, now have to find a new inlet valve. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK, but there are problems,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 March 2015
Pros: cheap and generally ok
Cons: may not last for guarantee period
" Looks OK, worth getting a better seat though. The rubber seals leaked because the ceramic is quite rough: a bit of silicone sorted that out. Long term worry is the use of zinc plated steel screws underwater - I cannot believe these will last the guarantee period.
If you buy one of these, refit the seals with silicone, cover the steel screws in silicone, and keep the receipt!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Leaks,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
04 March 2015
Pros: looks nice
Cons: seal dosent fit so leaks, issues with cistern mechanisum
" I brought this toilet on a budget as had just brought a house as it seemed good value for money at the time and looked great. When we first tried to fit it the seal was no good and kept leaking so had to buy a separate seal to fit better which solved the issue of the leak however 6 months down the line we are now having issues with the mechanisms in the cistern where it get stuck and keeps flushing. I know this can be common with toilets but would not expect it to happen 6 months after its been installed. I wish id of seen some of the reviews before I brought this toilet and i would not recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team27 March 2015
We would like to thank you for choosing Wickes to purchase your Portland Toilet To Go, although we are sorry to learn of your experience. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 03301234123. Thank you, Kind Regards Wickes.
Review 46 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
01 March 2015
" Bought this with the Basin offer, be aware that the soil outlet is 102mm, so you will probably need a new soil connector, it went together ok, the quality is basic and the seat is quite flimsy, the basin was only the ceramic unit and did not include any drain fittings,, you have to purchase these extra so it makes it less of a bargain "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team27 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to learn you’re having trouble with your new Portland Toilet To Go, and we really want to understand why this has happened. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 03301234123. Thank you, Kind Regards Wickes.
Review 47 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 February 2015
Pros: well made
Cons: none
" Was a bit concerned about this loo after reading some of the other reviews, so first thing I checked was that the holes lined up and they looked ok. My Dad a plumber of the best part of 50 years was assisting so warned him about the reviews advising that you should take apart, seal the fittings, and not to use the doughnut. He looked at it and felt it was not necessary and that the doughnut was totally useable. Guess what perfect first time so well done wickes for taking note of other reviews supplying a suitable doughnut, and improving the quality control for this product. Cistern did lean forward quite a bit but tightend to the wall ok. Did not tighten to much in case it caused the doughnut to leak, over all looked ok when fitted. Was abit concerned as the colour did not look as white as the rest of suite but did not notice once fitted. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
portland toilet,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 February 2015
Pros: ready to go toilet as described on box
" After reading the reviews asked myself loads of questions, should I or not. Needed a toilet, bought from wickes for years always good quality gear.
Decided to play it safe spot of silicone on the rubber washer seals all round. On top of the doughnut itself & on the ceramic were the doughnut sits on the pan.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works out of the box,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 November 2014
" I fitted one of these a couple of months ago straight out of the box, methodically and following the instructions. I read comments here about stripping out the syphon and using sealant, wobbly cisterns and leaks. Mine went in first time, no leaks, no hassle and is operating perfectly. For the price, it is excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and easy to fit,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 August 2014
" Never fitted a toilet before but didn't think it could be that hard.
Wasn't put off by the reviews saying it leaks and did what some of the other reviews said and just followed the instructions.
Yes the cistern does tilt forward very slightly when you tighten everything up but it looks OK.
Toilet has been fitted 2 months now and no leaks. Uses far less water than the previous loo and the dual flush is great.
One thing I would recommend is checking the wing nuts holding the cistern on after filling with water. Water weighs a lot more than you think! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+52points
62out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good W.C.,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 June 2014
" For the price this is as good as you get. Leaks? When they say the cistern is ready assembled for ease of installation the first thing you do is take it apart apply sealant to the seal ,replace &you won't have a problem I,ve been a plumber for fifty yrs and sanitary ware has been rubbish for twenty of them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+66points
76out of 86found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor fit of cistern to pedestal,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
31 March 2014
Pros: cheap
Cons: manufacture fault
" After reading reviews regarding leaks. I took a chance and after trying to fit cistern to pedestal it became apparent why some people were having problems. Whilst the three holes in the pedestal were in line, symmetrical and correct, the holes in the bottom of the cistern were not, causing the cistern to tilt forward when tightened up! After taking back and inspecting several others all of which appeared to be the same I decided to have my money refunded. Those who have purchased the same and not had problems have either been lucky or had to use some form of sealant. As I have to dismantle and remove toilet again in near future this is not an option (nor should it be)
So my advice is inspect the holes for alignment in the bottom of the cistern before purchase and if they are not, leave well alone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+48points
77out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do it right,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 March 2014
Pros: good looking good price easy to fit.
Cons: lots of scaremongers
" I fitted one of these 3 years ago, being a careful moderate DIYer I followed the instructions to the letter and hey presto ! a good job with a brilliant loo that lives up to its promises. Having moved house I needed to fit another but the reviews almost put me off with all the leaks and holes not lining up,however, I needed to fit one quite quickly and had no time to search or a lot of money to spend so bought another Portland, I also bought loads of sealants and a spare doughnut and a new mop ready for the onslaught ! Again I followed the instruction like a nerd, holes were slightly off alignment and the doughnut was spongy but I persevered. If anyone needs any sealant, a spare doughnut or a mop just ask and if you need advice about fitting a Portland READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. another successful DIY job. Thanks Wickes, I would recommend this loo to anyone who can read and do as they are told ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+47points
72out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 March 2014
" Fitted 2 months ago no leaks flushes well and fills quickly seat a bit flimsy but overall pleased with the toilet "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leaking Toilet,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
25 February 2014
Pros: bath &wc
Cons: leaks
" Purchased a Portland suite, bath and hand basin are excellent.
The toilet is of really poor quality and the leaks have left us demented. My plumber with 40 years experience just cannot stop the leaks between the WC and the pan. I have reached the end of my tether and am going to fund a replacement from another supplier.
I wish I had read the reviews prior to purchase.
Wickes need to take notice of poor reviews and sort out the quality control, because with the negative and positive reviews you would not believe that people were talking about the same product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+22points
32out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thorough flush, quick refill,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 December 2013
" Other much more expensive toilets don't flush anything like as good as this one, or refill as quickly. Glad I got a plumber to fit it though. He had to come back and put some sealant round the rear outlet as the seals don't seem to be sufficient. Perfect since then (3 months later) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst buy ever,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
17 December 2013
Pros: looks nice
Cons: not water tight
" Carefully considered this toilet before buying and followed all advice of taking time and care to fit the cistern to the pan. It took a couple of failed attempts but then it was great. Looked lovely and worked well for about 4 months, then for no apparent reason the doughnut seal failed. Water ran out between the cistern and pan with every flush.
When taken apart to investigate the foam doughnut supplied was totally worn. I contacted Wickes and they supplied me with a regular rubber doughnut to try, but this doesn't fit around the hexagonal fitting at the bottom of the cistern, so this failed. They then supplied a second cistern but this made no difference.
The fittings don't align well, its spent more time off the wall than on and has consumed more of my time trying to fix it than the cheap price justifies. Very flawed design. Avoid!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 4 money...,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 December 2013
Pros: cheap and easy to fit.
Cons: poor seal between toilet and cistern.
" Wanted a small, compact and cheap toilet and this fitted the bill at Wickes. Easy to fit and all the parts were present. Only 1 problem and this has already been mentioned by other reviewers - the plastic seal between the cistern and the toilet is very poor and leaks. The answer is to supplement the seal with a coating of bathroom sealant. This does the trick. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Variable quality,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 December 2013
Pros: excellent flush, good value for money
Cons: manufacturing tolerances too wide, poor quality donut
" I fitted my first one of these toilets about 8 months ago - worked perfectly with an excellent flush using very little water, no leaks or problem. The seat & lid seemed flimsy at first but turned out to be fine (hovever I wouldn't risk sitting on the lid!).
On the strenth of this I fitted a second one a couple of weeks ago, disappointed to find it leaking from the cistern / pan coupling donut.
The problem was caused, as other reviewers have said, by the cistern outlet not lining up very well with the pan, and an inferior quality donut.
I eventually cured the leaks by fitting a good quality donut and fixing the pan slightly askew to compress the donut sufficiently.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Portland Toilet To Go
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EXCELLENT purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 December 2013
Pros: value for money, all fittings already fitted inside, duel flush button, excellent parts, no miss leading information, easy instructions, nice design, small and compact
Cons: screws included for fitting to the back
" I brought a toilet same to this one from another place big diy company (which i can't name) the fittings was everywhere, things were missing and they miss advertised duel flush.. i got a refund and then brought this one even with the bad reviews. This toilet is EXCELLENT! all fitted insides easy to put on and no leaks, really is a great buy, value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>