Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement, Mortar & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lafarge Postcrete 20kg

A quick-setting ready-to-use blend of selected sand, cement and additives formulated for fixing wooden, concrete and metal posts
Average Customer Rating:
4.628 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 Reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
82 of 86(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Review 1 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good stuff,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 April 2011
" This is a really good product. It sets very quickly, is dead easy to use and holds brilliantly. I've used 20 bags of it in the last 2 days without any problems. "
+20points
48out of 76found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The proper stuff !!!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 March 2015
" Excellent for fence posts.
(Always dig the hole deep enough).
And don't use those silly fence post spikes !!!
"
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stuff,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
25 March 2015
" Use as it says on the bag and you'll have no problems. "
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
21 March 2015
" I used two bags to secure a wooden fence post. The instructions are clear, it set within the 5-10 minutes advised, and the result is great. That post will never come out. "
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cement,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 March 2015
" Solid , easy to use, just and water simple. A child could use it. "
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 March 2015
Pros: ease of use, economical
" I have used this product for years.
Brilliant results, so easy to use.
"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
17 March 2015
" So easy to use, no hard graft required. Gives you time to set posts in correct position. "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fast and easy,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 February 2015
Pros: no waiting around
Cons: none
" didn't have none of the problems some reviewers talked about, set very quickly and no cracks "
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 February 2015
Pros: perfect for fixing posts quickly
Cons: no real cons.
" Does exactly what it says on the tin. Dig a hole, put your post in the hole, put a little water in the hole, pour in the postcrete top up with a little more water if required. Position post with spirit level. Hold post for a couple of minutes. Hey presto solid post. I would wait ten minutes before supporting anything against it. "
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good results.,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
27 February 2015
" have used this before for the odd fence post, which was handy. i needed to fill several deep, wide potholes on a long tarmac drive so thought i would give this a try rather than use bags of bitumen. the look of the finish was not important as the whole drive will be resurfaced.
this turned out to be a great fix. have had loads of heavy traffic....scaffold lorries....brick/sand/ballast & timber deliveries.....ro-ro skips, as well as "normal traffic" and this has stood up really well for more than 4 months. i suppose if you wanted the finish to be more visually pleasing you could paint it with bitumen paint !!!
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 February 2015
Pros: quick, very easy
" Its just so easy to use.
Anyone can use this stuff so crack on without any fear
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 December 2014
" Simple to use, did the job. Used on 3 fence posts, which are still sturdy 9 months later. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wickes - Lafarge Postcrete 20kg,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
14 September 2014
Cons: gaps & cracks have appeard
" Project. I viewed the Wickes How to for some additional help on a certain website. Installed new posts x6 (3?x3?x1.8m) and x6 new fence panels (6ftx4ft) and gravel board. Followed the instructions to secure posts in hole. Each hole took one bag plus extra. Left for nearly a day to allow to harden better.Installed fence panels and gravel boards. Installed gravel boards first to create a staggered level on a sloped garden. I was very proud at this stage. Fence panels just slid in between fence clips, a couple we had to help in. It?s now been 7 days and I am very disappointed with the postcrete end result. The posts were really solid and not moving before installation of panels. Now severe cracks have appeared and there is a white crystallised residue on top. Postcrete just looks damp and brown, like wet sand. Several of the posts are moving and there are also gaps on all four edges of the post as they are sitting in the postcrete. This will now allow water to make it? sway into the postcrete. Very very disappointed. My wife and I really enjoyed this project but are now disappointed with how secure/solid the posts are. Only time and weather conditions will tell how they will hold up. This experience has made me realise that this product is not good and you should stick to the traditional option and mix it yourself, which someone did suggest to me. It's a little extra work but end result might be better. If there is a next time I will mix using traditional methods.Gave 2 stars because of end result.I wish I could add pictures to show. Wickes, how can I add pictures? "
+2points
26out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Postcrete,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
29 August 2014
Pros: none
Cons: useless
" Thought this would be ideal to set a number of wooden fence posts , how wrong could I have been. Followed the instructions to the letter, however, within a couple of days the postcrete had cracked on every single post and as such all the posts were loose and unsecure. Had to remove all the postcrete with a hammer and chisel and replace with conventional sand and cement. So don't go for the quick option would be my advice, use something that is up to the job as postcrete is dreadful. "
-15points
19out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Postcrete,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 July 2014
" I used this to make a ramp to get my mobility scooter into my shed. Just pour out of bag, smooth to nice slope, sprinkle with watering can, job done. Lasted over 2.5 years so far! "
+24points
38out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 May 2014
Pros: cheaper than b&q, easy to use
" use 2 bags per hole,the bigger hole the better
use 2 bags per hole,the bigger hole the better
use 2 bags per hole,the bigger hole the better
"
-140points
37out of 214found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 April 2014
" Excellent product. Dig a hole, put in the post, fill hole with water and add Postcrete. Sets in approx 10 mins. Simples!! "
+65points
82out of 99found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top product,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 April 2014
Pros: sets quicker than ordinary ballast cement
" No messing with ballast and cement and all the mixing, just do what it says on the pack and wallop, Job done, you have a very stable fence post in a short time, wouldn't use anything else now. "
+38points
78out of 118found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it's gone hard already,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 March 2014
" I've always mixed up my own blend of postmix, propped the posts until hard etc hoping they'd stay upright...
This stuff is excellent, goes off in minutes and makes the job far easier/quicker.
"
+41points
57out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lafarge Postcrete 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick but pricey,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
27 March 2014
Pros: foolproof
Cons: pricier than mixing your own
" Easy to use. Good results. "
-7points
17out of 41found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>