Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Plaster & Plasterboard or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm

A tough, impact-resistant glass fibre reinforced backing board ideal for tiling in wet and humid areas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 Reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Review 1 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid stuff,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 September 2015
Pros: solid
Cons: none really
" Heavy stuff, will certainly make a solid job, but note that this is a water resistant board not water proof board so if you want to prevent water getting through to the supporting structure you will have to tank as well.
Also if using normal plasterboard screws and you want the screws below the surface you will have to countersink otherwise the board will pop if you try and go too deep with the screws at the edges
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does what it says on the tin,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 July 2015
" I find it harder to cut than standard plasterboard and, despite being told you can score and snap it, I've never managed this and have always used a hand saw. It is substantially heavier than normal board, but does a great job - really sturdy & it stands up to a good soaking without falling apart. Don't forget to use the proper screws in case the tiling or grout fail - apparently, they don't rust. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did The Job,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 July 2015
" These are superb for bathroom or shower room installation to tile onto.
Be warned they are very heavy,much heavier than plasterboard and you may need a hand when installing.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 June 2015
Pros: easy to attach to wall, easy to cut
Cons: none
" It did just the job we wanted. taking the old tiles off brought the plaster off too. Saved having to get a plasterer in. Perfect answer to the problem? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are "The Dogs",
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 May 2015
Pros: gives a good flat finish for tiling
Cons: none other than they are heavy
" They are heavy , but they cut easy with a good Stanley knife to score them. They are ideal for tiling surface for bathrooms and the like, I have used them a few times , they need screwing to the wall , you cannot dot and dab them alone (because they are too heavy ) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As easy as using plasterboard,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 February 2015
" These panels are great for walls around bath and showers. I have just used them in this situation after having spectacular failures with standard plasterboard. They are quite heavy compared to plasterboard but these sizes are easy enough to handle single handed.
The boards are a bit more expensive than plasterboard but I would expect them to survive for a lot longer so I consider the price an investment. So far I would recommend them
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always use this behind tiles,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 December 2013
Pros: waterproof, tenant proof :)
" I have been using Wickes Aquapanel for about fifteen years now. I love it.
I have a number of rental flats, and always use it to replace any plasterboard behind tiled baths.
I have even found a way to use it on walls that were previously 'dot & dabbed':
I remove all the loose plasterboard, and finally use a wood chisel to remove the final bits attached to the dots of mortar. I cover the dots with tile adhesive, and push the Aquapanel into place, then remove it. This leaves a trace of tile adhesive on the back marking where the dots are. I drill a hole through the Aquapanel in the centre of each trace, apply more tile adhesive to each trace, and then re-attach to the wall. I go 2" down through each hole with a 6mm masonry drill, and then insert a red rawlplug. I tap this in with an Aquapanel screw, and finally screw the Aquapanel down. Next morning the whole thing is solid as a rock.
Another rare use I made of Aquapanel was in repairing the concrete canopy over a friend's front door. I screwed a sheet of painted exterior plywood to a sheet of Aquapanel, then screwed the whole thing into the bottom of the remaining canopy. (Wood at the bottom supported by legs.) I was then able to repair the cracks with mortar which stuck very well to the Aquapanel. It is still there ten years later, and has required no further repair. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+53points
63out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beware of measurements,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 November 2013
" Panels delivered safely. Corners OK.
Found that width was 895mm, not 900mm.
Needed to reframe studding to fit.
So check panels before getting the hammer out.
Otherwise panels are solid. They are heavy - wear builders gloves to save hands.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
25out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aquapanel Board,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 November 2013
Pros: cuts like plaster board
" Easy to use and cut "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-6points
14out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good boards,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
19 November 2013
" Great Boards attached to a wooden frame:
Recommend using cement board screws and a saw to cut the boards as the stanley knife was a bit weak against the boards.
Ensure your frame is secure as these boards are heavy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Must for Tiled Showers,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 November 2013
" Used these for my daughters shower room. Had to build a stud wall to hide the valve and these were excellent to build a waterproof level surface to tile.
I noted the comments about fixing and as I only do this a few times a year, I felt it was worth spending the time to pre-drill and countersink the fixing holes. It only takes a few minutes extra and makes fitting and tiling very easy.
Do use the recommended stainless screws.
This is probably the most important aspect of your shower construction, so do it right first time and you can forget it forever!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 July 2013
Pros: the best for bathrooms
" I used six of these to board up a wall while building a new shower. Much more stable than marine ply & PVA coating. Once you have fixed them in place (the special screws ARE recommended) you can tile straightaway. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A brilliant product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 September 2012
" I use Aquapanel about 5 years ago for my bathroom. It was very easy to use and cutting was first class. As for tiling,it made the job easier and quicker. Well done wickes for suppling "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
14 October 2010
Pros: it works
Cons: none
" Used this to build a shower cubicle and it was easy to handle and cut. Dont use pva on this in a shower room tho, its not needed, just tile straight onto it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
18out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use this !!,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 March 2010
Pros: peace of mind, very simple to cut to size
Cons: heavy but it is concrete after all.
" I used this to make up the new walls in my bathroom and shower. The large sizes made it real easy to get a nice straight wall that i know I havern't got to worry about in the future. The special sealer is a little dear, but really has to be used, albeit more than they say if you want to make sure of a perfect seal. And really really really DONT get the sealant on your hands. It took about a week and a bit for it to fully disappear even with me picking at it all the time !! The board did break a couple of times in corners, but this was probably me being a little heavy handed or innaccurate with my fixing points. As a previous reviewer said, you must use the right screws aswell or it goes horribly wrong. It's far easier to have two people to hang a full size panel as they are quite heavy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff,
  • Top 10 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
07 September 2009
" Good board, very hard and stiff cement type board. I've used it in my bay window where the vent is and there has been damp problems. Easily hung a radiator on it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 December 2008
" I agree with my fellow reviewers, this is a good quality product that does what it is supposed to do. Cutting is easy. They are much heavier than plasterboard so bear this in mind when erecting your studwork. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 October 2008
Pros: excellent quality product
" I have used Aquapanel to line the walls around the bath and shower, it is very easy to cut and fit. The manufacturers Knauff have an excellent DIY section on their website with lots of advice. I would recommend that the correct Aquapanel screws are used, I tried drylining screws but soon gave up and used the correct screws which are ceramic coated.
I shopped around, Builders marchants etc before deciding where to buy the panels and Wickes were the cheapest by far.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 September 2008
" I have used aquapanels around the sink and the shower cubicle. They are very sturdy and easy to install. The reason I have used aquapanels instead of ordinary plaster boards is because I have heard so many disasters of failing plaster boards in wet areas. Their size makes it really practical as well. Don't forget your joint adhesive or tape. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Knauf Aquapanel Tile Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cement based boards,
By
Expertise: Trade
03 July 2008
" I always use this aqua board on stud walls in showers or above the bath if a bath shower is fitted. Then tile onto it using water proof tile adhesive.
My trade is bathroom fitter, I often have to rip off rotten plasterboard on stud walls that was just skimmed then tiled (asking for trouble), I replace with this stuff. It works great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>