Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Plasterboard or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wickes.

Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm

Fire resistance to Class 0 and is non-combustible. Will not rot or warp. Performs in wet and humid areas including showers bathrooms and kitchens. Prevents tiles cracking. Very strong even when wet. Easy to fix onto battens. Can be cut by knife or a fine toothed saw.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Review 1 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always use this behind tiles,
By james0
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 December 2013
Pros: waterproof, tenant proof :)
"I have been using Wickes Aquapanel for about fifteen years now. I love it.
I have a number of rental flats, and always use it to replace any plasterboard behind tiled baths.
I have even found a way to use it on walls that were previously 'dot & dabbed':
I remove all the loose plasterboard, and finally use a wood chisel to remove the final bits attached to the dots of mortar. I cover the dots with tile adhesive, and push the Aquapanel into place, then remove it. This leaves a trace of tile adhesive on the back marking where the dots are. I drill a hole through the Aquapanel in the centre of each trace, apply more tile adhesive to each trace, and then re-attach to the wall. I go 2" down through each hole with a 6mm masonry drill, and then insert a red rawlplug. I tap this in with an Aquapanel screw, and finally screw the Aquapanel down. Next morning the whole thing is solid as a rock.
Another rare use I made of Aquapanel was in repairing the concrete canopy over a friend's front door. I screwed a sheet of painted exterior plywood to a sheet of Aquapanel, then screwed the whole thing into the bottom of the remaining canopy. (Wood at the bottom supported by legs.) I was then able to repair the cracks with mortar which stuck very well to the Aquapanel. It is still there ten years later, and has required no further repair."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beware of measurements,
By Chopman
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 November 2013
"Panels delivered safely. Corners OK.
Found that width was 895mm, not 900mm.
Needed to reframe studding to fit.
So check panels before getting the hammer out.
Otherwise panels are solid. They are heavy - wear builders gloves to save hands.
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aquapanel Board,
By lionsfoot10
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 November 2013
Pros: cuts like plaster board
"Easy to use and cut"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good boards,
By Borat216
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
19 November 2013
"Great Boards attached to a wooden frame:
Recommend using cement board screws and a saw to cut the boards as the stanley knife was a bit weak against the boards.
Ensure your frame is secure as these boards are heavy!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Must for Tiled Showers,
By GoodOldDad
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 November 2013
"Used these for my daughters shower room. Had to build a stud wall to hide the valve and these were excellent to build a waterproof level surface to tile.
I noted the comments about fixing and as I only do this a few times a year, I felt it was worth spending the time to pre-drill and countersink the fixing holes. It only takes a few minutes extra and makes fitting and tiling very easy.
Do use the recommended stainless screws.
This is probably the most important aspect of your shower construction, so do it right first time and you can forget it forever!
"
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
By Bobthebogbrush
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 July 2013
Pros: the best for bathrooms
"I used six of these to board up a wall while building a new shower. Much more stable than marine ply & PVA coating. Once you have fixed them in place (the special screws ARE recommended) you can tile straightaway."
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A brilliant product,
By doronron
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 September 2012
"I use Aquapanel about 5 years ago for my bathroom. It was very easy to use and cutting was first class. As for tiling,it made the job easier and quicker. Well done wickes for suppling"
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
14 October 2010
Pros: it works
Cons: none
"Used this to build a shower cubicle and it was easy to handle and cut. Dont use pva on this in a shower room tho, its not needed, just tile straight onto it."
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use this !!,
By Sydnovich
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 March 2010
Pros: peace of mind, very simple to cut to size
Cons: heavy but it is concrete after all.
"I used this to make up the new walls in my bathroom and shower. The large sizes made it real easy to get a nice straight wall that i know I havern't got to worry about in the future. The special sealer is a little dear, but really has to be used, albeit more than they say if you want to make sure of a perfect seal. And really really really DONT get the sealant on your hands. It took about a week and a bit for it to fully disappear even with me picking at it all the time !! The board did break a couple of times in corners, but this was probably me being a little heavy handed or innaccurate with my fixing points. As a previous reviewer said, you must use the right screws aswell or it goes horribly wrong. It's far easier to have two people to hang a full size panel as they are quite heavy"
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff,
By Kieran
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
07 September 2009
"Good board, very hard and stiff cement type board. I've used it in my bay window where the vent is and there has been damp problems. Easily hung a radiator on it."
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
By GiveItTheBeans
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 December 2008
"I agree with my fellow reviewers, this is a good quality product that does what it is supposed to do. Cutting is easy. They are much heavier than plasterboard so bear this in mind when erecting your studwork."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 October 2008
Pros: excellent quality product
"I have used Aquapanel to line the walls around the bath and shower, it is very easy to cut and fit. The manufacturers Knauff have an excellent DIY section on their website with lots of advice. I would recommend that the correct Aquapanel screws are used, I tried drylining screws but soon gave up and used the correct screws which are ceramic coated.
I shopped around, Builders marchants etc before deciding where to buy the panels and Wickes were the cheapest by far.
"
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
By NoDIYisEasy
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 September 2008
"I have used aquapanels around the sink and the shower cubicle. They are very sturdy and easy to install. The reason I have used aquapanels instead of ordinary plaster boards is because I have heard so many disasters of failing plaster boards in wet areas. Their size makes it really practical as well. Don't forget your joint adhesive or tape."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cement based boards,
By trade
Expertise: Trade
03 July 2008
"I always use this aqua board on stud walls in showers or above the bath if a bath shower is fitted. Then tile onto it using water proof tile adhesive.
My trade is bathroom fitter, I often have to rip off rotten plasterboard on stud walls that was just skimmed then tiled (asking for trouble), I replace with this stuff. It works great.
"
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aquapanel Backing Board 1200x900x12.5mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aquapanel - excellent product,
By Rockford
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
27 May 2008
Pros: cost effecttive
Cons: need to know what you are doing as are brittle
"Highly recommended for lining a shower before tiling. The most cost effective way I have found for water proofing an area especially if you buy the panels from Wickes, where the panels are much cheaper than other 'centres' I know."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.