Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Lining Paper or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wickes.

White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m

5.4m2 (58sqft). Easy to fix veneer for walls and ceilings. Manufactured from flame retardant additive material. Ideal as a lining under wallcovering. Reduces surface condensation. Provides extra insulation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Review 1 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous results,
By Ive171
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 February 2009
" Used it to line a badly cracked bedroom ceiling which I thought might need expensive re-plastering. The product covered the cracks really well, it was very easy to put up & the finish was brilliantly smooth to paper over. I recommend this to anyone with similar problem ceilings or walls. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not strong enough for 1000 lining paper,
By Iggy
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
10 March 2012
Cons: brittle and poor adhesion poor finish
" I hung this under standard lining paper (used wickes adhesive and left it for 3 days) - total disaster! After lining it all started curling and peeling off with grooves running through it and we had to strip it all off. It's put me off using any wickes decorating stuff. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saved me from major skimming job,
By ayjay
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 December 2011
" We wanted to wallpaper the hallway but the current finish was many layers of paint on top of woodchip textured wallpaper. A couple of professionals had a look at it and didn't want to touch the job; stripping would have been very time consuming and even 1700 grade lining paper apparently wouldn't guarantee a good finish for paper. And it's apparently difficult to get heavy lining paper on the wall cleanly without bubbling. So I was all set to skim the walls when I found this product. I found another professional tradesman and although he hadn't worked with this product before, it went up very smoothly and he's delighted with the finish. The Wickes pre-mixed adhesive holds it well, at least on the matt painted surfaces we had. And it's feather-light to work with. I'm not sure how well this would work if you expect to be bashing things into the walls, though; it's obviously quite soft although the wallpaper adds strength. Since all the textured surfaces are above the dado line this isn't a problem for us. Another advantage is that one wall has a slight damp problem from the bathroom so this will seal that off nicely. Highly recommended!. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD VALUE,
By SHREK
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 April 2011
" GREAT DEL/SERVICE & VERY WELL PACKED,PRODUCT IS QUITE THIN BUT IDEAL TO CUT WITH SCISSORS IT IS GREAT UNDER PAPPER OR UNDER TONGUE & GROOVE BATTERNS,MY BEDROOM IS NOW VERY WARM & DAMP FREE SO I WOULD RECOMEND TO ANY ONE. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed,
By DIYGranny
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
28 December 2010
Pros: cheap and easy to install
Cons: doesn't work
" Having read previous reviews I thought this product was the answer to condensation in my built-in wardrobe (against the outside wall of a stone cottage). Once it was fitted the wall felt wonderfully warm and I was hopeful that there would be no more wet walls but today I have discovered that the water is running down over the veneer - so it's back to the drawing board. This problem may be because of the extreme weather conditions we have been experiencing. It may well suit some situations but do not rely on it and keep checking that the walls remain dry or you too will have wet clothes and mouldy shoes like me! "
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple but effective,
By kitcar
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 December 2010
" Used it to surface a wall behind where wardrobes were to be fitted to reduce condensation. Surface of wall is certainly warmer. Very easy to apply with Ready Mix Wallcovering Adhesive (Product Code 610094). "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
By JohnPFW
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 November 2010
Pros: cheap to buy, stops condensation
Cons: easily torn. care needed
" Used this to line the wall inside fitted wardrobes on a north facing wall. Seems to have cured the condensation , and stopped the mould growth I had been suffering for last couple of years. No longer need to use a dehumidifier , and bedroom is definitely warmer too. Humidity levels in the bedroom have dropped noticeably. Recommended. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Versatile,
By heyhey
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 April 2010
Pros: cheap
Cons: none really!
" I actually used this to insulate a floor. Put 3 layers (cross lay each one) stuck it with spray glue, then plywood flooring. Then put the underlay & carpet back on top. Brilliant!!!!! Floor is cosy & warm. Tears easily, but as long as you are patient and careful it's a fantastically cheap way to make a cold floor warmer. The other option of jack-hammering up the flor & putting in jablite would have cost a fortune. EXCELLENT!! "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
By sidthekid
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 November 2009
Pros: warm and smooth, easy to hang (with care)
Cons: stock up on blades for your trimmimg knife
" I use this product in customers houses wherever possible, and the difference in the 'feel' of the houses is immediate. The rooms seem noticably warmer and the walls are evened out nicely without the need for expensive plastering repairs.
It needs handling with care and a VERY sharp trimming knife is essential, but a superb product never the less. In older houses with bumpy walls it will make a huge difference. Best to size with a PVA size first. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wickes wall vineer,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 November 2009
Pros: covers cracks
" I bought this product as I had draughts through walls thought I would try the vineer out done the job great for covering cracks
customers should use wickes ready mix adhesive with this product
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great purchase,
By Samson
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 October 2009
" A proffessional damp proof expert recommended that we use polystirene sheet to cover the walls in our kitched in order to prevent damp through condensation. We did this and the damp has gone. The sheeting was easy to apply and raises the temperature in the room, there are no more damp patches, its a hunky dory product that actually works. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
little gem.,
By DoIDIY
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 September 2009
Pros: reduce condensation on external walls, great to smooth uneven walls, easy to use.
Cons: not to strong if you just paint over it.
" Truly a great product. Easy to use and gives a great level surface to paper over. I have also just painted over the surface but this is not so good as it doesn't take knocks very well and you can damage the surface easily. I have used this many times and have cured my condensation problems in two of my homes using this. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent delivery service,
By clovelly
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 August 2009
" We were very satisfied with our purchase. Quality & price were good & very speedy delivery. Good web site. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
By MistaClean
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 August 2009
" I bought this to use as a backing for regular wallpaper on a thin walled room. it seems to have done the job at a very low cost. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
By SunshineGirl
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 September 2008
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
" Fantastic, very easy to use even for a beginner, can be used for many insulating purposes (not just as wallpaper lining). Have used this as cheap under carpet insulation with excellent results. I fully recommend this PLUS Wickes seem to be the only firm selling this online for home delivery PLUS so cheap too. You can't lose! "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent stuff,
By Maaz
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
22 June 2008
" This is the ideal stuff to cover cracked plater and provide and even surface, with the added advantage of provided a layer of insulation. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for White Polystyrene Wall Veneer 9.2m
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
RatingsOverall Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Quality:
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5