Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Interior Wall & Ceiling Paint or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.

Product Reviews

Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L

For all interior and exterior wood and metal surfaces. Tough solvent-based formulation for long-lasting good looks. High-sheen finish. Durable and washable. Less prone to dripforeasy application.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
5 of 12(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Review 1 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't ever buy it,
By Robkirkfolly
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
09 June 2014
Pros: its better than going to the dentist
Cons: it really is like watching paint dry, life is too short for this paint
"Its like painting with treacle, it pulled most the bristles out of my brush.
It takes forever to dry and I can honestly say it's the worst paint I've ever used.
I've no idea who made this paint for wickes but whoever made it never had to use it.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No worries,
By Puff
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 March 2014
Pros: bargain price, easy to use, quality finish
Cons: none
"I'm a retired painter & decorator, and I've probably used every type and brand of paint known to man.
This paint is excellent!
Easy to apply, covers well, dries evenly, has a superb finish, and I've had no problems with drying times.
If you want to achieve a truly brilliant gloss finish with this paint, then invest in a couple of good quality pure bristle brushes.
Yeah it'll drip (show me a usable paint which doesn't), so try not to apply 2 coats in one go!
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Probably the worst paint in the world,
By Veryunhappybunny
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
25 November 2013
Pros: on special offer, staff very nice
Cons: bad finish
"Runs like a tap and takes forever to dry. Very unhappy."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Non Dyring Non Drip Gloss!,
By HolJul
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
07 July 2012
Pros: none
Cons: does not dry
"Decided to decorate son's bedroom as away for week with school. Applied this paint on Thursday & today (Saturday) it is still wet, not even tacky!. Having read reviews it seems this batch ((W709351002 / 101506957) purchased from Feb this year (2012) has had problems with not drying & going yellow very quickly. It has caused so much inconvenience, son has asthma & therefore not able to sleep in there when returned Friday. We have been advised to take all the paint off from everywhere we have painted in the room which is going to ruin the rest of the decorating we have done in there."
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Takes Forever To Dry,
By WORKHORSE
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
18 February 2012
Pros: very good finish eventually
Cons: it takes an aternity to dry!
"Do not believe the drying times on the tin! Even after 48 hours in a centrally heated room my 5 year old managed to leave finger prints in the surface. Too soft to be rubbed down after 3 days !"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
a lot of drips,
By trojan1
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 February 2012
Cons: it drips
"never seen so many drips from a non drip paint"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ages to dry and goes yellow too quickly,
By NIv2011
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
01 February 2012
Pros: easy to apply and doesn't really drip
Cons: takes days to dry, turns yellow after a few months
"Bought this because of previous reviews however I'd extremely unhappy with the product. At first I liked it, covers well and doesn't really drip at all but my opinion started going downhill slowly after that.
Drying time is measured in days rather than hours, and even after a few days when you think it's completely dry you'll find if you rub against it with your clothes chances are you'll end up covered in the stuff.
Once it dries it does look excellent for a few weeks at least. In my hallway and stairs I painted the walls pure white with wickes own brand emulsion which I have to say is excellent, I painted skirtings rails etc with this gloss and the difference in shades is terrible after only 3 months.
The gloss now looks like it's been up for years in a household who smoke 100 cigs a day or more, it really is that bad. The irony here is the fact I took a door off my kitchen as it leads to a small porch and isn't needed, it was painted three years ago when I moved into my house and even with some scuffs etc from wear and tear it still looks better than the doors painted with this gloss.
Maybe I wouldn't have noticed it as quickly if I'd have painted the hall and stairs a different colour but there's no way on earth it should have changed colour so fast.
Very very poor."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS JUST GREAT,
By scoobydoo1
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 April 2011
Pros: no drips
Cons: none
"NO MORE DRIPS AND THE PAINT GOSE ON EASY AND NO MESS"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Covers great but....,
By impy
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
24 October 2010
Pros: cover's great
Cons: takes how long to dry?
"Covers great, easy to use. Bit smelly but if it stays white and doesn't yellow like others I can put up with that.
However, stopped painting at 14.30 now 00.51 and still wet! - not tacky, wet. Tried to dry with hairdryer and appears to get wetter!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best I've Ever Used,
By HappyJack
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 September 2010
Pros: easy to apply, good coverage, brilliant finish
"The new Wickes non drip gloss is Excellant. The best I've ever used. I thought the old formulation was good but the new one is even better. It's easy to apply, covers really well and the finish is brilliant."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By gazgaz
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 June 2010
"the best non drip gloss i have ever used.far better than dulux paint."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Non-Drip Gloss Paint White 2.5L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KING OF GLOSS,
By YEAHBABY
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 May 2010
Pros: finish and colour
Cons: drying time can take 48hrs to fully harden
"HAVING SPENT MANY POUNDS ON INTERIOR GLOSS PAINT OVER THE YEARS, THIS IS THE BEST GLOSS PAINT EVER.
FORGET THE LEADING BRANDS, AND TRENDY NAMES, GET A TIN OF THE NON-DRIP AND TRY IT FOR YOUR SELF.
THE FINISH IS UNBELIEVEABLE, AND A MIRROR FINISH, MY DOORS ARE VERY BRILLIANT WHITE, AND THE RADIATOR COVERS ARE AMAIZING.
YOU WOULD THINK THAT ALL THE GLOSS WORK WAS POLISHED, BUT IT'S THE FINISH.
THE GOOD THING IS, THE NEW TINS PREVENT ANY SKIN, BUT ALWAYS LEAVE YOUR TINS UPSIDEDOWN WHEN FINISHED WITH.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.