Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Insulation or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m

An easy and cost-effective way to save energy and minimise heat loss through loft spaces, timber floors and wall lining.
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 Reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1
44 of 50(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Review 1 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even few sticky tabs,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
05 May 2016
" Eight sticky tabs? You were lucky. I got 5. Totally insufficient. Luckily I had some left over from another job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
too few sticky pads,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
24 March 2016
Pros: lightweight easy to cut and use
Cons: not enough sticky tabs
" I bought this to put behind some radiators. It said that double sided sticky pads were included. The roll was big enough for about 5 radiators but only 8 sticky tabs were included; not even enough for 1 radiator. I spoke with Wickes and they didn't know how many tabs should have been included (and they don't sell extra packs of tabs). They contacted the manufacturer and they advised that there should have been 14 tabs and they sent me some by post. However, even 14 is still too few to be of much use. It seems a good enough product but its effectiveness is limited by the tabs issue. I will be returning the product to Wickes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thermal Insulation Roll,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 February 2016
" Great product. Bought this for use behind radiators and it has made a difference. Easy to install. Will also be using this to insulate partition wall at balcony. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A1,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 February 2016
Pros: easy to work with, cuts easy, reflective for lighting purposes
" Great little insulation roll. I used it to cover over Celotex in my garage instead of using Boards because the metal will reflect the light. Easy to use and cut. Either rip it cut it or use a blade. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
insulation foil,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 February 2016
Pros: very light and easy to use
Cons: wasnt quite as thick as we thought it would be
" our loft insulation irritates my asthma and my husbands throat, we have now lined the roof beams with foil. it was easy to staple up and in due time we will replace the floor loft insulation. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A perfect covering,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 February 2016
Cons: runs out quickly so make sure you order enough
" Easy & Light to handle, cut & moulds into difficult places, makes, a nice finish to. Keeps insulation in place in rafters & walls. Would purchase again! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
10 December 2015
" Used this Thermal Insulation Foil to insulate within my camper van during winter between the cab and habitation area, does the job nicely. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
foil roll,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
16 September 2015
Cons: not double sided like other shops, better quality at same price in other shop
" It is only single sided in foil the other is just bubble wrap you can get same stuff double sided in foil so it's better stronger for same price elsewhere "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Economic and easy,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 August 2015
Pros: easy fit, cheap
Cons: unsure of insulating value.
" Easy to handle. Easy to fit. Quickly fitted. Economical.
I used an electric stapler to fix to a wooden shed.
8 rolls used with about 1500 staples. Use a power stapler - to have done it with a hand stapler would have been painful.
The aluminium tape I bought with it was excellent. tidied up the job and sealed the layers - fitted horizontally on walls just going over the ribs.
Fitted the roof between the ribs,
Cannot comment on its insulation properties cf expanded products, but cutting blocks of rigid foam to fit between ribs would have been a long job.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 July 2015
" Great price and product. Looked around and wikes was the best price by far. Only gripe was it was not on display in the shop so I had to click and collect I.e they had it in the store room. Service was as good as ever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product !,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 June 2015
Pros: clean, flexible, easy to use, easy to fix, easy to cut
Cons: not enough pads for more than one radiator
" I used this Thermal Foil to insulate the inside of an airing cupboard built in a loft space. The product needed to be flexible, easy to use and above all clean (no transfer of fibre etc.). Thermal Insulation Foil achieved all of this and is easy to fix (I used double sided tape). A Great product at a Great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First class,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 March 2015
" First rate material, does its job and reasonable price - btw - delivery was excellent too.
So, well pleased
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great insulation for the loft,
  • Top 25 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 March 2014
Pros: is very easy to cut to any shape
Cons: none that i can think of
" This is great to put under the loft flooring boards as it will compress and make an air tight seal and stop those unwanted drafts. I also stapled it onto the rafters to stop any dust falling down on those windy days we get occasionally "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+66points
93out of 120found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Stuff,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 December 2013
Pros: perfect for the job
Cons: its a shame it was so pricey for what it is
" I ordered this on line for the roof in the loft, it came the next day as promised and was well packaged.
It was really easy to use and easy to staple to the rafters and did the job perfectly.
I had previously used an alternative lining and it was thin and difficult to use.
This was perfect.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+40points
59out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Needs backing,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
02 December 2013
" This product is good value but could be better with a backing both sides "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+27points
41out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Expensive and rubbish,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
30 September 2013
" Foil backing is to one side only. Very flimsy and easy to snag. As a loft liner it will need more than just staples to hold it up for years to come. Really should have battens applied to the underside of the rafters and screw them on.
.
The competing product sold by another well known chain with an '&' in their name is far better and slightly cheaper per metre. The principle benefits of the competitor's product is that there is foil on both sides and it will tolerate more abuse before it tears. The double layer of foil also means it has a higher insulation rating.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+195points
228out of 261found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silver service,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 April 2012
Pros: next day dilivery.
" Good stuff. Silver on one side only. Does full length of small detached house roof space. I stapled to roof joists. Easy to put up. Brightens loft space due to reflecting light. Wife says looks like the inside of a spaceship now. Stops dust falling from roof. Next day dilivery from Wickes. Polite carriers. Arrived well packaged and perfect condition. Text to tell me of arival day. Also e-mail to inform of dispatch. Wickes OK to deal with. Would use again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+55points
64out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 February 2011
" Easy to apply with mix of staples and gaffa tape. Already had an effect on making the house warmer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great thermal qualities,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 January 2011
" it made a significant improvement in the room. we felt the difference once on and no radiator is fitted in the room. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
21out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Thermal Insulation Foil Roll 600mmx8m
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 September 2010
Pros: very easy to install
Cons: none that i can think of
" This was easier then i thought to put over the rafters in my loft to exclude the draughts from the holes in the roof lining.
I used about 6 rolls in total for a 3 bedroom mid terrace.It was very easy to staple to the rafters.One roll covered a whole width and a half across.I used about 2 rolls of duck tape to go over the joins.I would definately recommend this to anyone wanting some extra insulation at rafter level.It took a good afternoon to do, and i did have some help too!
I ordered this online and it came the next day so the service was excellent too.Ordered too many rolls so just took the extra ones back to the local store for a refund.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
47out of 79found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>