Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Insulation or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2

Easy to fit secondary glazing film which is a simple and cost-effective way of saving energy and money by reducing heat loss and preventing draughts.
Average Customer Rating:
3.854 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 Reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
4
35 of 41(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Review 1 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heat Saving Ideas,
  • Featured
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 January 2011
Pros: helps keep heat in very well
Cons: needed help using it as windows are very large.
" Got this product as I have very large windows and even with double glazing was losing a lot of heat through them. This product worked wonders. It help to keep my home warm even through the very cold weather we had in December 2010. I bought 2 packs, but only used 1. A great product I highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap, effective but not easy!,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 February 2016
Pros: cheap effective money saving
Cons: quite a task to install
" The film is an excellent economical way to keep out cold winds, especially on old draughty sash windows. It works really well and is more or less invisible, as long as you install it right.
But it is quite hard to put up if your windows are big and definitely takes two people.
Worth it though as it makes a huge difference to the temperature in the house and saves on energy bills.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effective but needs care,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 December 2015
Pros: cost effective way to keep the cold out, increased room temperature is instantly noticeable
Cons: fiddly to install take your time, the tape will only stick well if degreased first
" The concept is very easy to understand, it creates a gap of air between the cold glass window and the film. The film is noticeably warmer to touch than the glass in behind it and therefore achieves what it is trying to do. It makes the room warmer and removes draughts..
The surface for the tape adhesion needs to be thoroughly cleaned, ideally with a degreasing agent like white spirit as the tape must stick firmly or it will let go when you shrink the film and ruin everything you have tried to do.
Take your time and try to get as many wrinkles out as possible before applying heat. Be very careful not to tear the film, the tear will keep going and will ruin the film. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good buy,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 December 2015
" I just applied these film so I can't say how much I will save this winter, but I can say that they are quite easy to apply and that I can feel with my hand that the glass is less cold than before. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Prepayment,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 November 2015
" I am very happy with the goods I purchased. They are as described and do the job adequately.
But make sure the instructions are read before use and followed carefully.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-19points
2out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
real boon,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 November 2015
" The real advantage of this glazing film is its transparency, allowing one to look out of the window during the winter months. Of course the product does keep out draughts, and acts as a thermal barrier, reducing heating costs too.
Care must be taken in its application, a second pair of hands is invaluable, especially if you're an amputee like myself. The double sided tape used to fix it is very strong, and requires a good deal of care to remove without damaging the paintwork, come the spring, though white spirit helps to remove the gum. It is quite resilient if properly shrunk to fit, even withstanding my dogs' noses.
Best to apply the film in cold, dry weather, to reduce the amount of vapour trapped within.Also, make sure the window is perfectly dry before using the film.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
28 October 2015
Pros: obviously cheaper than buying double glazed window
Cons: not enough tape
" This product was a bit fiddly to put up and when stuck was not re-positional. However when in place the rest of the procedures were no trouble. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
20 March 2014
Pros: none
Cons: adhesive residue difficult to remove
" Once applied correctly, the product proved to be quite weak with inadequate draft proofing but the worst was the adhesive residue left on the frames which I have problems removing. Never will I use this product again in spite of glowing reviews. It has messed up my window frames (pvc and wooden). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+12points
24out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invaluable product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 February 2014
" The film is a bit tricky to cut and stretching it onto the tape on big windows is hard work but it does its job wonderfully well. No more howling winds coming in through the sash windows. We're warm! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 January 2014
" this secondary glazing film has been the most fantastic purchase and has made my bungalow so cosy. I am disabled with limited mobility so sit quite a lot. Before the film I had to have my heating high and supplement with a gas fire now my heating is on a lower seating and my bills are reduced. Its not the easiest thing to a apply my friend says but it is well worth the effort.
Thank you
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
18out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Second time around,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
15 December 2013
" I wish this years' product was as good as my last purchase..
The film was not as clear and bright and did not tighten so well as previously and the "full" roll of tape was less than I had left from the previous purchase! What a shame because the effect and the product are such a good idea for temporary double glazing.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
secondary glazing film,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 December 2013
" Product instructions were easy to understand. I would have liked to have got a neater finish but my window was hard to get at above the sink unit. However the principle worked very well. Trying to cut off the spare edges with a knife almost led to a rip but scissors did the job, a bit of a messy finish but actually I can't see it. The film is invisible in daylight. Enough left over for next year. Good value for money Thanks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 December 2013
" This was easy to use, didn't take long to get on the windows and made a difference to the temperature in the room really quickly. I have recommended this to friends in the last week too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy fix for draughty windows,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 December 2013
" Great product, very easy to install and has made such a difference, no more draughts!
It does need a bit of maintenance as the film can go wrinkly if the window is very draughty and there is a strong wind, this is easily resolved by passing a hairdryer over it and it goes back to smooth.
Would highly recommend if you need to have some double glazing but don't want a blind/curtains.
Top tip - make sure you wipe the window frame down with white spirit or cleaning fluid so the tape sticks really well. When you come to remove it WD40 is great for removing sticky marks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Save money from the word go!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 March 2013
Pros: saves on heating bills, makes rooms warmer by 2 or 3 degrees overnight!, easy to do watch youtube tutorials
Cons: big windows can be tough but persevere!
" Excellent product for those saving up for double glazing! I put this stuff in one room in the evening and by morning it was 3 degrees warmer than it had been the previous morning!
The only thing I would say is the included instructions are a bit odd... There is a fantastic video tutorial on YouTube by GIY as to how to apply properly - however I ignored their tip of cutting out made to measure squares and results are still fantastic!
Don't apply the tape adjacent to the window, apply to a surface parallel to it too, that was my only mistake!
For a 3 bed terrace I bought two packs which has done all rooms with a tiny bit spare. Can't recommend this product more, makes life so much cheaper for those without double glazing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worthwhile product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 October 2012
Pros: it works, fool proof, first will be dodgy 3rd will be great
Cons: might look naff if badly done
" I used 'Draught Seal' ie not Wickes.
Same idea but my tape has not failed.
I am a useless DIYer but this is simple.
-its been used in Canada for 40 yrs!
-Try it outside, does it perhaps work better? I have used it inside and outside on certain windows.
-It can be put on some window styles so they still open
-Put top tape on first and uncover it.
-put both sides and bottom tapes on but keep covers on.(this if a big door or window).
-then see if your cut to size film fits. Keeping covers on stops it sticking while you try.
-If it fits, slowly stick it to the tapes uncovering as you go.
-Works best when not visible from street.
-I never bothered with hairdryer.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nasty,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
11 October 2012
Cons: yes this is one.
" I used Wickes glazing film last year, and it was fine. They must have sourced a new supplier because the product is now awful - cloudy and dusty on both sides despite taking great care not to dirty it while installing. Also, the adhesive from the double sided tape had oozed from the reel, contaminating some of the film. Although it appears to stick well initially, the tape gradually slips when under tension from the film and comes off the frame. Terrible product. Do not buy. Wasted a lot of time applying and then removing it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Secondary Glazing,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
03 February 2011
" For such a simple and inexpensive product this secondary double glazing has proved to be amazingly effective. I was very impressed. Covering my drafty sach windows, which I do not wish to replace, was easy to do and made a significant difference, even during the very cold weather. I am anticipating that I will have saved on my heating bill when this winter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
secondary glazing,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 February 2011
" Great stuff, works wonders for such simple, cheap product. Easy to install. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Seasonal Secondary Glazing Film 6m2
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
27 January 2011
" Worked well for a few days then came unstuck. have to renew tape quite often, but worked well during the really cold weather. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>