Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Draught Excluders or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm

5.93 square metres of film. Includes fixing tape and instructions. Easy to fit. An economical alternative to double glazing. Apply film to window frame with tape provided and the heat from the hairdryer creates a tight draught proof secondary glazing effect.
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
29 of 35(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Review 1 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heat Saving Ideas,
By kya7000
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 January 2011
Pros: helps keep heat in very well
Cons: needed help using it as windows are very large.
"Got this product as I have very large windows and even with double glazing was losing a lot of heat through them. This product worked wonders. It help to keep my home warm even through the very cold weather we had in December 2010. I bought 2 packs, but only used 1. A great product I highly recommend."
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality,
By yraid
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
20 March 2014
Pros: none
Cons: adhesive residue difficult to remove
"Once applied correctly, the product proved to be quite weak with inadequate draft proofing but the worst was the adhesive residue left on the frames which I have problems removing. Never will I use this product again in spite of glowing reviews. It has messed up my window frames (pvc and wooden)."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invaluable product,
By SouthLondongirl1
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 February 2014
"The film is a bit tricky to cut and stretching it onto the tape on big windows is hard work but it does its job wonderfully well. No more howling winds coming in through the sash windows. We're warm!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
By purplepat
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 January 2014
"this secondary glazing film has been the most fantastic purchase and has made my bungalow so cosy. I am disabled with limited mobility so sit quite a lot. Before the film I had to have my heating high and supplement with a gas fire now my heating is on a lower seating and my bills are reduced. Its not the easiest thing to a apply my friend says but it is well worth the effort.
Thank you
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Second time around,
By Maysie
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
15 December 2013
"I wish this years' product was as good as my last purchase..
The film was not as clear and bright and did not tighten so well as previously and the "full" roll of tape was less than I had left from the previous purchase! What a shame because the effect and the product are such a good idea for temporary double glazing.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
secondary glazing film,
By violetta
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 December 2013
"Product instructions were easy to understand. I would have liked to have got a neater finish but my window was hard to get at above the sink unit. However the principle worked very well. Trying to cut off the spare edges with a knife almost led to a rip but scissors did the job, a bit of a messy finish but actually I can't see it. The film is invisible in daylight. Enough left over for next year. Good value for money Thanks."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good,
By notadiyer
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 December 2013
"This was easy to use, didn't take long to get on the windows and made a difference to the temperature in the room really quickly. I have recommended this to friends in the last week too."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy fix for draughty windows,
By workingfulltime
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 December 2013
"Great product, very easy to install and has made such a difference, no more draughts!
It does need a bit of maintenance as the film can go wrinkly if the window is very draughty and there is a strong wind, this is easily resolved by passing a hairdryer over it and it goes back to smooth.
Would highly recommend if you need to have some double glazing but don't want a blind/curtains.
Top tip - make sure you wipe the window frame down with white spirit or cleaning fluid so the tape sticks really well. When you come to remove it WD40 is great for removing sticky marks."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Save money from the word go!,
By DIYdaddyo
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 March 2013
Pros: saves on heating bills, makes rooms warmer by 2 or 3 degrees overnight!, easy to do watch youtube tutorials
Cons: big windows can be tough but persevere!
"Excellent product for those saving up for double glazing! I put this stuff in one room in the evening and by morning it was 3 degrees warmer than it had been the previous morning!
The only thing I would say is the included instructions are a bit odd... There is a fantastic video tutorial on YouTube by GIY as to how to apply properly - however I ignored their tip of cutting out made to measure squares and results are still fantastic!
Don't apply the tape adjacent to the window, apply to a surface parallel to it too, that was my only mistake!
For a 3 bed terrace I bought two packs which has done all rooms with a tiny bit spare. Can't recommend this product more, makes life so much cheaper for those without double glazing."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worthwhile product,
By saskatchewan25
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 October 2012
Pros: it works, fool proof, first will be dodgy 3rd will be great
Cons: might look naff if badly done
"I used 'Draught Seal' ie not Wickes.
Same idea but my tape has not failed.
I am a useless DIYer but this is simple.
-its been used in Canada for 40 yrs!
-Try it outside, does it perhaps work better? I have used it inside and outside on certain windows.
-It can be put on some window styles so they still open
-Put top tape on first and uncover it.
-put both sides and bottom tapes on but keep covers on.(this if a big door or window).
-then see if your cut to size film fits. Keeping covers on stops it sticking while you try.
-If it fits, slowly stick it to the tapes uncovering as you go.
-Works best when not visible from street.
-I never bothered with hairdryer.
"
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nasty,
By OrganMorgan
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
11 October 2012
Cons: yes this is one.
"I used Wickes glazing film last year, and it was fine. They must have sourced a new supplier because the product is now awful - cloudy and dusty on both sides despite taking great care not to dirty it while installing. Also, the adhesive from the double sided tape had oozed from the reel, contaminating some of the film. Although it appears to stick well initially, the tape gradually slips when under tension from the film and comes off the frame. Terrible product. Do not buy. Wasted a lot of time applying and then removing it."
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Secondary Glazing,
By Willo
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
03 February 2011
"For such a simple and inexpensive product this secondary double glazing has proved to be amazingly effective. I was very impressed. Covering my drafty sach windows, which I do not wish to replace, was easy to do and made a significant difference, even during the very cold weather. I am anticipating that I will have saved on my heating bill when this winter."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
secondary glazing,
By americandyi
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 February 2011
"Great stuff, works wonders for such simple, cheap product. Easy to install."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By creamware
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
27 January 2011
"Worked well for a few days then came unstuck. have to renew tape quite often, but worked well during the really cold weather."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended,
By Siluosaurus
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 January 2011
Pros: crystal clear
Cons: may damage paint when removed
"We found it easy to put up. Very tough. Very forgiving. Easily re-tensioned with hair dryer if it becomes slack.
The job of putting it up is very satisfying because you can feel the cold draught stop as you seal the bottom edge. (do it on a cold day!)
I wait to see whether it will last two years, or three, or perhaps even more.
This must be by far the most cost-effective of all comfort-raising and energy-saving wheezes available today.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheap secondary glasing,
By simonron
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 January 2011
Pros: cuts down heat loss and condensation a lot
Cons: must have 1 inch of flat wall all round the window
"IF, and it is a big if, you have space for a line of the sticky tape all around your windows - that is totally flat - then this stuff is brilliant. However, if, which is most likely, there is not quite enough space to put two lines of tape side by side then this won't work - for long.
Be very careful not to overheat the film, as it will pull any weaker areas of tape off the woodwork and leave rumples and ripples - which will make you want to user the hair dryer even more. The result? The film is now too small for the window.
The tape will stick to moldings but the film will pull away unless it is totally flat in-line with the glass.
I note, the price of this has just doubled - but, it's still good value... IF..."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good and Bad!,
By Budj1e
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
31 December 2010
"Bought this to try and reduce draughts on old single glazing, fairly easy to install and isn't too visible (although it does have a slight haze, if it's behind net curtains it's invisible).
Initial impressions were great, rooms are definately warmer and draughts are much reduced. But unfortunately, in a couple of rooms, the sheet has started to come adrift from the adhesive tape itself (within two weeks of fitting). It sticks back down, but as the sheet is tight it's not possible to avoid creases when re-sticking it.
Overall not a bad product, good performance, poor longevity. (Three star quality is for the tape, the sheet is good and quite strong!)
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!,
By Lil81
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 December 2010
"Im so happy I found this product. After 4 years of suffering with drafty non double glazed windows and literally seeing your own breath cause it was so cold in my livingroom I was a bit sceptical at first but thought for £7.14 even if it didnt work it wasnt a great loss.
After doing one window I could already feel the difference, this stuff is absolutely amazing and ive actually decided not to bother getting my double gazing done in a hurry.
Its a bit fiddley to fit but once you have done one window you will be able to do the others a lot more quickly.
Basically just stick the double siding tape round the wooden part of the window, stick the film to the tape and get the hair dryer out!
I would recommend this product to anyone who is cold and fed up of putting the heating on high!.
ONLY downside to this product is that you cant open your window...no problem for me though cause its winter. Im going to take it off in the summer and if I still havent got my double glazing done by next year ill buy it again.
Brilliant product A++++++++++++
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap, quick solution,
By GingerBloke
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 November 2010
Pros: cheap easy solution, instant benefits
Cons: tape is fiddly, film is clear but not completely transparent
"My house suffers from drafts and condensation. I have metal framed windows and live in a conservation area so replacement double-glazing is not an option for me.
I bought a single pack and did my two large lounge windows - as this is where we sit most evenings. A pack would easily have done more but I did the blokey thing and didn't follow the instructions at first.
You must follow the instructions to the letter, make sure the area is clean, make sure the tape is fully pressed down, use the tape trick mentioned in the instructions for the corners, TAKE YOUR TIME with the film.
Once in place and smoothed with a hairdryer the results are very good indeed. Drafts have gone, no condensation at all.
I'm off to buy some more....."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SEASONAL SECONDARY GLAZING FILM 6sqm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good, if it stays up!,
By Popz1111
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 November 2010
Pros: did work when it was up
Cons: fell down after three weeks
"Bought this to try and insulate our very draughty sash windows in our rented period flat. After reading the mainly good reviews and seeing as it was a relatively cheap option we thought it was worth a try. The film is of a more than adequate size, even for our very large windows. Putting it up did take some time, as expected, however there was a quite noticeable effect on the temperature of our bedroom. However I am quite glad we did not shell the money to do the other three windows as after about three weeks of the film staying in place it has now all come away as the tape provided has completely lost it's stickiness to the film! I think I will now try to bodge my own insulation from cling film and sticky tape; might not look as good but at least it will stay in place! Overall quite disappointed in this product, and I'm cold!"
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>