Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Dehumidifiers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Domestic Dehumidifier

Designed for optimum performance in the lower temperatures and humidity found in the UK. Suitable for 3-4 bedroom house. Unique design means 40% more water can be extracted from the atmosphere without any increase in energy consumption. Intelligent defrost saves on running costs. Electronic humidistat turns dehumidifier off when not needed to lower running costs. Reduce the time to dry laundry indoors. Can be used to circulate and purify air in the spring/summer months. Automatic cut-off when 3.5 litre water container is full. Stand- by mode for lower running costs. Easy-fit castors, permanent drainage kit and Bactiguard filter are available as optional extras.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Domestic Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous dehumidifier,
By penelopepitstop
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 February 2011
Pros: it's quiet small and aesthetically pleasing.
"I've had this product for two days only and have switched it on between the hours of 5pm til 11pm both days. It's positioned at the top of the stairs as the problem I have affects all three bedrooms, the windows are dripping wet with water every morning throughout the winter months also resulting in the walls above each window to grow black spot mould. I'm gobsmacked the back bedroom window is beautifully dry this morning and the two front bedrooms which are more open to the elements are slighty misted but not wet. I researched cheaper units but their reviews and specifications weren't that good. I can honestly say this dehumidifier is worth every penny I spent to purchase it."
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did as it said,
By LondonLad
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 March 2014
Pros: air filtration, simple to operate
"Suffering some internal damp following the months of rain a friend suggested a dehumidifier. This one looked like really good value (but not the cheapest) with next day delivery.
Once turned on, it took out more than a gallon of water from the office annexe within the first week and is still pulling out about a pint a day on the eco setting.
The air feels better, warmer, and the musty smell that I'd previously tried to mask with an air filter / ioniser has completely gone."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing Dehumidifier,
By DudleyDIYer
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
03 March 2014
"I've been using this dehumidifier for around 6 weeks now. Initially I followed the instructions, and left it running constantly on 'Auto' mode, but I now run it on it's maximum setting for 6-7 hours each evening.
During this 6-7 hours period, it typically collects between 1-2 litres of water, which is nowhere near the claimed 18 litres per day. Nor is it sufficent to prevent a considerable amount of condensation building up on the windows the following morning.
Overall I'm quite disappointed with the product, especially given the number of other positive reviews. Perhaps I got a dud?"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill,
By Adolf
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 February 2014
"Good product. Works brilliant and house now is warmer. Decorating house and took 2 days for paint to dry before had dehumidifier. Now when painting it`s dry next day. Would not be without it now. Dont have it on all the time just every now and then."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
By Tuggy
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 February 2014
"This dehumidifier has lived up to all expectations.
We bought it to dry the washing through the winter,it has been a great asset.
No more wet clothes hanging about the house for days.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 February 2014
Pros: works perfectly
Cons: non
"The product is superb. Does the precise job that we wanted it to do. Cleared all condensation from our main bedroom which was caused by the ensuite shower room. Really pleased. Would thoroughly recommend anyone to buy this product from Wickes."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
By BazzaBagshaw
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 January 2014
"Bought this for our buy-to-let flat. Wet walls and windows in flat. The local council are due to re-do the cavity wall insulation which should solve the problem permanently but we needed a quick fix to solve or at least mask the problem in the meantime. The morning after the first use I got a text to say the dehumidifier was amazing and all walls and windows were dry in the morning. Tenant is happy and so am I. I would definitely recommend this product. It may seem a little pricey but well worth every penny."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By butchersboy
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 December 2013
"does exactly what its supposed to, takes out condense and makes the rooms feel warm
try it, you wont be dissappointed"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In two minds,
By Gonz
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
11 December 2013
Pros: it collects olenty of water
Cons: windows are still wet
"After reeadkng the reviews i decided this product was just the thing we needed. We have lots condensation on our windows. We have the unit on from 2.30pm till 10pm . We have the controls on max. As suggested in the manual . We hace had the unit for 4 weeks now, and i was suprised with the amount kf water it does collect, however our windows sre still wet, hence im in two minds on the dehumidifier. We was advised to leave it on auto all day, but i was concerned about the running costs, and not keen on lewving it on whilst we are out of the house.
The actual unit is a nice size and doesnt make alot of noise. We have it placed on our landing .
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product,
By Vozza
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 April 2011
Pros: ease of use
Cons: would have liked larger water tank
"I use this machine in my motorhome when it is stored next to my garage to keep the interior dry and mould free.
It is easy to use and very effective.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How did I manage without one before?,
By mmd11
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 January 2011
Pros: does it's job properly
Cons: slightly awkward to carry
"This has been a wonderful purchase, I bought this to dry out a couple of wet patches when my log cabin was built and have kept it there since to maintain moisture levels. Since then it has also been employed in drying out the inside of the car and is being used to help dry the washing too. It's next assignment will be in the loft to see if it will help dry out the loft space after all the snow we had sitting on the roof for weeks. Giving serious consideration to buying another unit to keep in the house to dry out the steam from the bathroom and the small amount of condensation we get elsewhere in the house.
It's not that noisy and when kept on AUTO ECON mode it behaves more like a fan heater. It's easy to empty the water container though there is the odd occasion where it releases a small amount of water when you've just removed the water container."
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solved the problem,
By DoctorAl
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
13 January 2011
"Very very pleased with this, to solve the problems of condensation in my kitchen.
As a bonus, it also gives a ready supply of distilled water, perfect for the car's windscreen washer and the venus flytrap!"
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By dory
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 January 2011
"we had a problem with condensation in our hallway so we decided to buy a dehumidifier after reading reviews on the ebac we decided to purchase one, we were not disappointed we were amazed at the amount of water collected! Noise wise we would compare it to a small desk fan we would recommend one to anyone thinking of purchasing such an item"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it is designed for.,
By FullBodiedRed
Expertise: Expert DIYer
02 January 2011
Pros: looks good and unobstrusive.
"Excellent way of removing excess moisture from hermetically sealed (double glazed etc) homes. Improves the air quality too."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
By jacqs
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 December 2010
Pros: quiet, effective, stylish, affordable
"We have had ongoing damp problems for the past 5 yeays in our 1870's cottage but this de-humidifier is making a huge difference... if only we'd bought one sooner, it would have saved time & money spent redecorating!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good buy,
By Andy772
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 November 2010
"Works very well. It quickly lowered the humidity in a damp room.
Also the price and delivery were both excellent.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase,
By George06
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 October 2010
Pros: easy to use and empty
Cons: can be a little noisy but not too much
"I am very pleased with my purchase. I have wanted to buy a dehumidifier for some time now and never got around to it. Also there are so many on the market but purchased this after reading previous reviews on Wickes website. It does a great job and is easy to use."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the Job,
By omitob
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
26 April 2010
Cons: a bit noisy to be on all the time
"Worked well and easy to setup. Previously very damp room walls are now dry as a bone."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By MICK01
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 April 2010
"HIRIED INDUSTRAL DEHUMIDIFIER FROM HSS AFTER FROST BURST BEFORE XMAS FOR TWO WEEKS , BROUGHT ONE WORKED OUT CHEAPER WITH SAME RESULTS"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Domestic Dehumidifier
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful Machine,
By Bellringer
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 April 2010
Pros: quiet and efficient
Cons: none found so far.
"We bought the Wikes machine after research as it represented good value compared to others. It has fully met our expectations and dried out the house very well.
It is now used when damp washing is brought into the house to dry. The running cost is very much less than a Tumble Drier.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>