Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Bark & Landscape Fabrics or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wickes.

Bark Chippings 90L

Big value bag. Supresses weed and growth. Helps retain moisture. Protects plant roots. Mulching. Provides decorative edges for paths and drives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.754 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
62 of 65(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bark Chippings 90L
Review 1 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
By Daddy
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 September 2008
Pros: easy as pie to spread, doesnt simply just dissapear into the ground.
"A wonderful product for an instant and tidy effect, for borders it couldnt be better,this product will save a lot of time weeding if used correctly ,with a nice colour to make your planting look more professional."
+50points
61out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the Job,
By BobtheGardener6
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 April 2014
Pros: value
Cons: none
"Wickes bark chippings are an excellent product especially when used with 'Weedstop' sheet to prevent weed growth."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By Anonymous
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 April 2014
"Brilliant bark , good size peices and nice colour ......well done wicks would defiantly order more."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By Isla
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 April 2014
Pros: cheap, consistent quality
Cons: contains shredded wood as well as bark, my cats think it's the best loo ever
"Really good value bark. I ordered 13 bags as it was cheaper to do this than buying a big dumpy bag. I covered up my broken concrete patio and path with it. It looks great and smells nice too."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Money,
By Glbee
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 April 2014
"An excellent product when compared with some of the debris currently available on the market. Very keenly priced even on a single unit purchase."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Stuff!,
By Aifie
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 March 2014
Pros: easy to move size bags.
Cons: none
"I ordered 40 bags of this, having previously struggled to pick up 5 bags in the car! The 5 bags for 4 deal makes this such a bargain. The wood chip is of much better quality than I have had from a bulk buy locally and the bags make it much easier to move around our large garden."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
By Gspanial
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 March 2014
Pros: value
Cons: none
"Excellent product, needed some more and it's obviously so popular not. Many depots have any in stock, managed to get some in the end. Just the right texture for mulching and unbeatable value for money. Well done Wickes!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase.,
By Nori
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
21 March 2014
"No hesitation in recommending this product, good quality Bark Chippings !!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bark Chippings 90L,
By TebortheCat
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 March 2014
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: more expensive but more attractive bark available.
"Covered up and instantly transformed an unsightly and much repaired bitumen sheet covered area and was used to recover a bark chipping path.
A good quality and relatively inexpensive product for ground coverage and bark chipping paths."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
By Chintzy123
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 January 2014
Pros: excellent product
Cons: none
"The bark chippings are of a very high & dense quality - far better than ones I have purchased in the past from other suppliers. Ground coverage is excellent. I would not hesitate in purchasing these again. I would highly recommend."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Stuff,
By Luckyboy
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 December 2013
"Very good for general use, the coverage is fine, but I would tend to over estimate what you require in order to get the coverage needed.. In my case I calculated 4 bags and purchased 6 and it was just enough. One thing to remember is that if you collect it yourself, make sure that you have a strong back or someone to help you as the bags weight approximately 35kgs!"
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good cover job,
By 70plus
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 November 2013
"These bark chippings were for a part of the front garden on my property which consisted of a very dry sandy soil which would not support plants through the year without drying out but on the other hand would grow weeds of every sort under the sun.
Having dug the area over and cleared all vegetation I laid a membrane down and then placed a good layer of the bark chippings on top.
This has transformed the area and kept all the weeds at bay and also looks nice and is a foil for the surrounding border of lavender etc..
Be aware that the bags are heavy and the contents are best removed by slitting the bag and removing by the bucket full.
"
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased.,
By lilac19
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 November 2013
"Used to cover over beds which had been dug out. Good quality, looks great. Evenly sized pieces. Would recommend."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beware the wooden pallet,
By evergreen
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
20 November 2013
"The Bark was fine, but I was not expecting to be left with a heavy wooden pallet to dispose of.... The driver lifted the bark plus wooden pallet into my front garden using a small crane. I had just paid for a man and van to remove some garden waste the day before, so was not happy to be left with more rubbish to dispose of. The driver would not take the pallet back , I would not have purchased from Wicks had I known. It maybe a good price for Bark but the cost shot up when I had to pay someone to remove the pallet. I had not other option as I live in a small block of flats."
-9points
4out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase ever,
By PippaLondon
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 November 2013
"I was unsure about putting bark on my flower beds
but got fed up with the weeds taking over.I am very
glad that I did. It did the job. The garden looks great.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bark around,
By Titch123
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 November 2013
"Product as advertised. The bark pieces are clean and attractive with a fair mix of size pieces. Very easy to lay and look good in the garden. Have used it over weed membrane in order to stop any weeds coming through."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bark,
By randr
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
18 November 2013
"Rubbish,never buy this ever again,big bits of any kind of wood thrown in,not suitable for childrens areas at all,over all very disappointed"
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well done Wickes,
By bigwhiteteddy
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 November 2013
"It was more than adequate for the money and did the job."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Chip Bark Product,
By Timthegardener
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 October 2013
"Really good quality bark - fresh; large chips so don't just disappear; gives good structure to the soil & suppresses weeds. One thing to watch out for - it's heavy; really a two man job to move many bags!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bark Chippings 90L
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
By Abbytude
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
05 May 2013
"My old bark-chipped path needed replacing after 8 years so I bought these chippings to do the job. Compared with the bark chippings I used the first time I am very disappointed. The chips are all different sizes - the effect is more of being shredded rather than chipped - so they do not pack down nicely. There was some light mould growing in the bags when I opened them and the smell was not great although it cleared once they had been down a little while. The really disappointing thing, though, is that less than six months later the chippings are already crumbling, dry and dusty. I will have to add a significant amount of new chippings - and you can bet that I won't be buying these ones again."
+15points
26out of 37found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>