Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cordless Drills or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill

Forward and reverse action. Variable speed control with 2 speed gearbox. 10mm keyless chuck. 17 position torque control and hammer facility. Supplied with 1 x 1.5Ah battery, 13 piece accessory kit and 1 hour fast charger. Speed (no load): 0-400/0-1150r/min.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Review 1 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tool,
By norfolkpaul
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 November 2013
"Does just what it says. Good torque for virtually all uses, good battery life, feels robust but also light enough for sustained work. Its been heavily used and has been a great buy."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed.,
By DaNjamin
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
10 February 2013
Pros: great deal
Cons: too good to be true
"After reading the reviews I thought I would pick one up. When I got it home I thought it was a great deal until the battery charged and I started drilling. The chuck wasnt straight. -_-
So I took it back. Got a replacement. And the chuck wasn't straight.
So I will be taking this one back also. I'm getting more and more unhappy with wickes. Quality is slipping and they never seem to have what I'm looking for these days. Quite unhappy."
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent item,
By Willthediyer
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 March 2012
"Been searching for an 18volt for some time and decided the use will not be alot so decided on a cheap purchase and was so delighted with the price and the power and quality of the wickes 18 volt cordless drill. With the drills and screwdrivers included with magnetic bit and 1 hour charger its the best around go for it peoples wont be dissapointed"
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as my old Makita,
By Johnboy55
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 March 2011
"I bought two of these drills in a special offer deal over a year ago and thought I would get enough service life from the two to make it worthwhile. But they have turned out to be amongst the best quality tools I've bought in over forty years of DIY. I wouldn't hesitate to buy a Wickes power tool again and I'm comfortable recommending them to anyone. I'm looking for a corded drill at the moment and came across this page hence the un-planned review."
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Combi Hammer Drill,
By backdraft1
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 August 2010
"I am very pleased with this combi used it a few times now and for the price it is a very good buy.
Best price anywhere"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent choice,
By doctor
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 October 2009
Pros: see my review
Cons: no major deficiencies
"18v Combi Hammer Drill (rechargeable).
Extremely pleased with this. Lightweight, very easy to load/offload the drill bits, impressively powerful, very fast re-charge cycle. I highly recommend it.
"
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hammer Drill,
By Sashman
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
05 August 2009
Pros: not too heavy
Cons: not a lot of punch, lacks torque, battery life short under use
"I am a little disapointed with this drill. Compared to other 18v it lacks power and the battery runs out fast under constant use. It is cheap but is definately more occaisonal DIY than a reliable regular tool."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product battrey rubbish,
By alfajob
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 June 2009
Pros: easy to use and nice balance
Cons: wont last even 12 months!!!!!!!
"A really good product to use and has great torque for a rechargable - But be warned the battries dont last even a year and are not covered under the guarantee ! ( strange but true ). ( seems wiered to offer a rechargable product with battrey that isnt covered for even a year but apparently thats the case) - so buy it if you dont mind how long it works for or you are happy to pay £17 for a new battery each time you need one ???"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18V Cordless Combi Hammer Drill
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice unit,
By Dangerous
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 November 2008
"I have been using this drill for a few days now and have found it to be well constructed and easy to use.
My only minor complaint is the change direction switch which I find a little awkward to access without changing my grip. Its not a huge problem and I think with time my brain will retrain my hands to adjust this problem out."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.