Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement, Mortar & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Most Popular Products are highest-rated products that have recently received a substantial number of customer ratings or reviews.
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag

Wickes 20mm Gravel is suitable for all general building use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(271 Reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (271 Reviews)
5 stars
225
4 stars
34
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
263 of 271(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Review 1 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product ,great value!,
  • Featured
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 July 2012
Pros: cheap nice natural colour
Cons: delivery cost (should have bought another bag)
" Perfect for graveling parts of my front and back garden to minimize maintenance.
I was concerned at 1st that this would be ugly rough stuff, however after reading the reviews I thought I'd give it a go. I must say I am very pleased with the end result, the driving rain over this weekend has washed off all the sandy orange dust to reveal a lovely light and natural effect.
I purchased 2x bags, which went further than expected... however I have started another part of the garden as I liked the result so much and now run out half way through so will have to purchase another bag.
Best value I could find on the net and a great product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+115points
187out of 259found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gravel for our drive,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 July 2015
" Nice colouring. just took one day of rain to clean off the dust/sand. It was really handy that the deliverer could slit the bottom of the bag enabling it to pour out onto the weed-suppression sheets. Had it all spread in half an hour! We now have a small beach to park the car on! We went back for a few small bags to top up where it was thin and the stones matched perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what is says,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 July 2015
Pros: excellent value for money
" I purchased 6 jumbo bags of this gravel to replace a tired lawn in my back garden. I was extremely impressed with the product which is a nice golden colour and a good size, The delivery went very smoothly and I have to thank the delivery driver Mark, who was extremely pleasant and helpful and placed the bags exactly where I asked him to. Can't wait to see the end result! . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st Class Gravel,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 July 2015
Pros: excellent value
Cons: none
" Very happy, Quality gravel. Excellent top coat dressing for my driveway. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 July 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: none
" Thank you very much Wickes for a great value product . We had a budget and this gravel was just great .Good delivery and driver very helpful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 July 2015
Pros: good product
" Good product, had six bags delivered driver really helpfull found that I needed another two and the next weekend a different driver but also really helpfull. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not what you expect in the bag,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
16 July 2015
Pros: it is great at dressing an area of garden/border
Cons: it is far too soft to use on drives or walkways
" The 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag does not contain the same Gravel as you would expect from the 20mm Gravel single bags. So do not try to match up product from both types of Gravel. The Jumbo Bag contains chalky white gravel that is softer and more like reconstituted recycled building material. Please check out a sample before ordering a delivery in bulk, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team22 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 8 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20mm gravel,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 July 2015
" Easy ordering procedure, very good price. Polite helpful driver. I used this for a gravel drive, once you get a feel for the correct depth it settles down nicely with little movement. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good value for money.,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 July 2015
" very pleased with this gravel my garden looks fantastic now,and people have commented on it as well as neighbours,good sized bags, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
high quality product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 July 2015
Pros: reliable, none
" the gravel is sized and coloured as advertised and looks good especially after it rained following laying. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's gravel,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 July 2015
" It's gravel. As gravel goes it's great. No problems whatsoever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 July 2015
Pros: good value
Cons: will take time to wash sand away but no big deal
" Overall I'm very happy with this The stones are large and good for a drive (doesn't get stuck in tyre tread)
They are coated in fine sand and will take a few rainy days to clear away. I used a jet wash to wash away most of it. If you want them less sandy coloured off the bat I'd recommend buying Golden Shingle instead.
I got the delivery driver to stack one on top of the other, I then cut a small hole on the top one and let the stones fall into a wheel barrow - this will save a load of time and with some trial and error you can stem the flow by using a large stone or piece of wood as a kind of blocker. Also get yourself a long handle spade - your back will thank you for it :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gravel,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 July 2015
Pros: you get to hunt for tiny shells
Cons: not really a con but should have got 2 bags
" Was a bit worried when I saw some of the reviews, needn't have been. This gravel is a good mixture of pale and darker flint colours, no sand in it and a perfect match for what we have already. The delivery drivers couldn't have been more helpful and were able to place it on the drive just where we needed it so it wasn't in the way of the cars "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 July 2015
Pros: quality and value for money
Cons: none
" I must admit i was sceptical, even after reading some of reviews, but all the reviews i read for this 20mm gravel were spot on, it really does look very nice. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 July 2015
" Perfect quality for creating a garden path. Colour natural. Looks more expensive than it was. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality stones,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 July 2015
Pros: good quality
Cons: delivery not during given time
" Ordered this bag of gravel for using in our garden, very pleased with our purchase "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spot on,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 July 2015
" excellent value for money, does exactly what it says on the packet, time slot for delivery 10-14 on a saturday, came at 11.35 with a 10 minute advance call from the delivery driver, very helpfull "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good gravel,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 July 2015
" Happy with the delivery. The gravel was quite dusty when delivered so fairly white, but as the dust has worn off the gravel is showing as multi-coloured. It looks good.
Spread three jumbo bags myself in one evening - it was easier than I had thought it would be. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 July 2015
Pros: affordable
Cons: only one size & a little course looking.
" There are more expensive & better looking stones out there but these are really good value for money, always order a bag or two more than you think & ask delivery driver to pack them on top of each other, makes it easier to pour into a wheelbarrow or at least the top one anyway! Great for driveways. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 July 2015
" Great chippings. Very nice quality for the price. Quite light in colour and look great in my garden. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>