Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement, Mortar & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Most Popular Products are highest-rated products that have recently received a substantial number of customer ratings or reviews.
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag

Wickes 20mm Gravel is suitable for all general building use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(296 Reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (296 Reviews)
5 stars
250
4 stars
34
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
288 of 296(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Review 1 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product ,great value!,
  • Featured
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 July 2012
Pros: cheap nice natural colour
Cons: delivery cost (should have bought another bag)
" Perfect for graveling parts of my front and back garden to minimize maintenance.
I was concerned at 1st that this would be ugly rough stuff, however after reading the reviews I thought I'd give it a go. I must say I am very pleased with the end result, the driving rain over this weekend has washed off all the sandy orange dust to reveal a lovely light and natural effect.
I purchased 2x bags, which went further than expected... however I have started another part of the garden as I liked the result so much and now run out half way through so will have to purchase another bag.
Best value I could find on the net and a great product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+123points
198out of 273found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purchase,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 August 2015
Pros: easy to order, good value
" This was delivered on time .looked a nice colour, and spread well. Everyone who helped said it went a lot further than they expected and was good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stone Me,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 August 2015
" What I wanted, when I wanted it, where I wanted it.No more to say. Proper Job! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff, good value.,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 August 2015
" It's an attractive gravel once it has been rained on and the white colour it initially dries to has been washed off.
A good mix of orangey-brown, white-cream and grey-black. Just right, and looks particularly good with dramatic plants growing through in big clumps. Much better than pea shingle, this stays in the garden and doesn't come indoors on your shoes. 40mm thickness is plenty, any deeper and it becomes like the struggle to walk up Brighton beach.
Nobody else is selling gravel this pretty at this price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a bag of Gravel,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 August 2015
" what more can i say about it other than it's a bag of gravel, well at 20mm i would consider them stones really so i guess i would say i was very happy with my giant bag of stones that i ordered and that were delivered. There is nothing negative i can say about it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gravel,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 August 2015
" measure the area properly - a little goes a long way!!!
i bought 3 bags thinking I may not have enough, when two would have been plenty.
however, they were such good value I'm sure I'll find a place for the other bag.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That was easy!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 August 2015
Pros: great colour
Cons: none
" Bought this product to tidy up the front garden. very easy to handle with great coverage. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Gravel,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 August 2015
" Hi
We bought 8 bags of 20mm gravel for use in our driveway. The first driver was really helpful in placing the bags in positions that made them a lot easier to spread. One bag seemed to have slightly smaller size and colour and Wickes were fantastic in replacing the rogue bag.
Excellent product and great customer help. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great driver,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 August 2015
Pros: cheap -attractive- good delivery
Cons: no cons
" gravel is good enough for front garden and much cheaper than decorative gravels - driver was brilliant and was helpful in craning the bag to the best position for us "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Gravel!,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 August 2015
Pros: easy to lay and looks great
" Looked around for the best prices and fastest delivery this was the only option, bags came proper full and the content great. The large bags made it easy to lay as i had them stacked two high, a decent quality rake is essential though. Ordered 3 bags to many and despite me dreading calling to ask about returning it was a very simple process and a full refund was made. So delivered within 24 hours and the over ordered bags picked up within 48 hours brilliant. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 August 2015
Cons: none
" Product used to form a raised gravel bed. The finished item looks really good.
Using a mini spade to empty the bulk bag is definitely the way to go. Using a full sized spadel or shovel is too difficult
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 August 2015
Pros: arrived when text said it would
Cons: delivery was a bit expensive but did have to come
" This is just what I wanted for my weedy border. No more weeds now. I put down a heavy duty membrane then 5cm roughly of gravel . Looks great, gravel is a lovely colour now we have had some rain.
Delivery driver was amazing, we have phone lines outside the house which are quite low how he managed to manouvre the crane to miss them was brilliant. If I need any more I shall be buying from Wickes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent as a shingle ground cover,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 August 2015
Pros: easy to use, looks great, clean so no grit, great price
Cons: none that i can think of
" Purchased this for my elderly neighbour s a way of covering up the broken concrete he has over his front garden and as a way of keeping down the weeds.
Purchased three bags of this and used all three. Easy to rake out and spread, clean gravel so didn't need washing first, looks great as a ground cover and he really likes it.
In fact he keeps showing it off to all and sundry.
If you plan on splitting the bags do it in stages and open a flap rather than split the middle or just one corner.
Can be raked out or shovelled.
3 bags took two people three hours to shovel and level but ask the driver to drop them where you want. Wouldn't want to have to barrow this too far.
3 bags covered 26 square meters to a depth of 3 inches.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fifty shades of grey,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 August 2015
" The product is well packed in sturdy bags which seemed to get deeper as my back got more painful but perhaps that is just me. The overall effect is very good as there are many shades of grey which change as the stones get wet. The gravel looks very durable and I expect it will still be giving good service many years after I am gone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely pleased with product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 August 2015
Pros: looks good when down
Cons: delivery was delayed
" This gravel is a must buy especially if your covering a large area. Its very good value for money. I had previously looked at many other stores and compared prices, this by far is the cheapest i found. The gravel is as described, and is very good size and colour. They come with a slight pale dust on, but wash off to a lovely colour. I ordered five bags but wish i had just one more ,just to add that bit of depth as i had a large area to cover. The only downside was the delivery didnt happen on the first day given as there was a problem with the lorry ( not good if you've booked the day off work for it) but it did come the day after with a text the night before and call on the morning. I cant praise the delivery driver enough, he was so very good with a happy cheery smile, a very kind friendly man, i wish they could all be like him. Wickes are very fortunate to have him.I would definitely shop back at wickes. I now have a beach garden, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 August 2015
Pros: very good
" very good for what it was wanted for done the job we were look for and did the job "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reporting very good service,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 August 2015
" I purchased 2 jumbo bags of gravel on-line. Process was smooth and efficient. Driver came on-time and was helpful. Plus the product was a good buy. Value for money in spades.
I have not used Wickes before but I certainly will in the future.
Well done Wickes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20mm gravel,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 August 2015
" Brilliant price for a brilliant product. Just as stated online. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 August 2015
" The best I have ever purchased from this company, which is not top of my DIY shopping places. Impressed with the value and quality. It matched existing gravel and very happy customer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 August 2015
" Excellent value for money. Highly recommended and looks fantastic! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>