Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Aggregates & Sand or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag

Ideal for all general building use. Can be combined with cement, sand and water to make concrete. Supplied in plastic packaging and can be stored outside without wastage. Minimum packed weight 850kg. Sand may have a regional colour variance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.757 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(177 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
150
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
170 of 177(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Review 1 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product ,great value!,
By M8rk
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 July 2012
Pros: cheap nice natural colour
Cons: delivery cost (should have bought another bag)
"Perfect for graveling parts of my front and back garden to minimize maintenance.
I was concerned at 1st that this would be ugly rough stuff, however after reading the reviews I thought I'd give it a go. I must say I am very pleased with the end result, the driving rain over this weekend has washed off all the sandy orange dust to reveal a lovely light and natural effect.
I purchased 2x bags, which went further than expected... however I have started another part of the garden as I liked the result so much and now run out half way through so will have to purchase another bag.
Best value I could find on the net and a great product."
+82points
109out of 136found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
20mm gravel,
By nrob
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
04 April 2014
Pros: good value for money
Cons: colour varies from one depot to next
"I did go to our local depot to check the colour of the gravel before placing the order as it was going on top for a decorative effect. The local depot gravel was just right - pale colour (more county cream in colour). I went home and ordered through the internet thinking the delivery would be from my local depot…but it came from one about an hour away…..the gravel arrived and it was pink in hue. I was a little disappointed but i didnt really have a choice but to keep it as it was an awkward delivery - our access is restricted (the delivery driver was great) and we didn't have any more time to allow for redelivery time. Value for money wise it is good and the quality is good…but i was just disappointed with the colour."
+12points
28out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is what it is,
By HesItantDIYer
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
03 April 2014
Pros: the bag stays in tact
"A big bag of gravel. Exactly what was required for the garden. Went to the store to get a wheelbarrow to help distribute this product. Would use again."
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gravel,
By mike321
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 April 2014
"i am a very disabled person and had to fill in a large hole in my garden
the gravel i requested arrived and with the help of friends transported through the house to the garden and the hole filled making the garden perfect
"
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
By bigmig
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 March 2014
Pros: to spec
Cons: none
"Bought through internet. Sheffield Depot contacted re delivery. Bulk bag as full as you could expect.
Arrived as arranged. Will be buying more.
"
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill stuff,
By Touchwoodtoad
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 March 2014
"Excellent quality, good even grade, ideal for path or drive, doesn't spread everywhere, looks great - and is super cheap!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gravel and great customer service!,
By Babygirl1
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 March 2014
"Great value for money. Lovely coloured gravel. really pleased with purchase - I ordered x3 bags for pathway in garden, would definitely recommend, Fantastic customer service when I ordered by phone and a really helpful delivery driver."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value!,
By Naclaq
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 March 2014
"Great value for money. Don't waste time and money buying the fancy stuff when this does the job brilliantly. covered my drive and looks great!
Well done Wickes.
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no regrets,
By dcrockett
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 March 2014
"20mm gravel is not exciting but I received this product exactly as described and the coverage rate quoted is accurate."
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value,
By Willman2625
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 March 2014
"Have used a lot of this stone and it compares very favourably to much more expensive products , only issue I have is that differing bags sometimes don't match in colour of stone ."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good purchase.,
By nippersdad
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 March 2014
Pros: a good quality product for a good price.
Cons: none in my experience.
"I have purchased this product before so I knew what I would be getting. The gravel was clean, regular sized pieces with only a little dust (which you should expect to get).
I was using this to put down on top of landscape fabric to finish the rockery by my pond, and to make up in other areas. After I had finished I washed it down with the hose pipe, the colour of the stones, when wet, was really something, blue`s, grey`s, red`s, and some yellow`s.
After I had finished I still had a few wheelbarrow`s full left over, so I decided to lift up the slabs under my front window and lay the last of the gravel down. If anyone tries to walk onto my property at night and try the window then I will hear them walking on the gravel, so, in a way, this gravel could help to protect your property as well."
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value,
By SteveandVince
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 March 2014
"Really was the cheapest gravel we could find
But turned out to be great quality , so not cheap just great value
Service was good as well
Well done Wickes !"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
By LM66
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 March 2014
"Great for purpose we intended it for - gravel on driveway. Very pleased."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything it promised to be,
By rtfacts1
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 March 2014
Pros: quality, consistancy
Cons: delivery charge
"Easy booking, a call to say it was on it's way and prompt delivery (before 8am!). The gravel was a good consistency and was 100% the same from top to bottom of the bag. Brilliant and highly recommended."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drive gravel,
By digs
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
03 March 2014
"Topped my gravel drive up with this. did the job. Coverage estimated by Wickes was about right. Comes looking very light in colour due to the sand in/on it. Once washed off by the rain it looks very good."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing value for money,
By GYSPYCOB
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 March 2014
Pros: amazing value cheaper than the smaller bags
Cons: couldn't be delivered close to garden as liked.
"I needed a lot of gravel to make my garden accessible all year round for my children to use the trampoline.
This bulk bag certainly fitted the bill and was the cheapest around despite the delivery cost.
The gravel was as described, great quality and it was very helpful that the driver let me know exactly when he would be delivering so I didn't miss him."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jumbo gravel,
By MrsB57
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 March 2014
Pros: great value
Cons: none
"Very pleased with this purchase would certainly recommend this to family and friends great value for the money and it did the job perfectly"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same day delivery,
By Weekenderwils
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 March 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: i had to barrow it from front garden to back garde, n but i survived
"Ordered by phone in the morning, delivered at 13:45 the same day. 20mm meant 20mm, thanks."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bulk gravel,
By Bukbuk
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 February 2014
Pros: finish
Cons: delivery charges
"Gives a nice clean finish when washed by the weather. Cheap for what you get but delivery costs negate savings."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20mm Gravel Jumbo Bag
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good gravel,
By feduptryingtofindaname
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 February 2014
"I needed 2 bags of gravel for my son to gravel over my back garden as at 80 years old it got too much for me to look after all my plants and this has done the job perfectly."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>