Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Fillers & Putty or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml

Wickes Decorators Caulk White is a fine flexible crack fliier that is easy to tool and overpaintable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 Reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Review 1 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good stuff,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 May 2015
Pros: well priced, good quality, nice to work with
Cons: not in the bulk buy any more
" as good as if not better than some leading brands nice and thick tools off well have used a lot over the past year or two "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 March 2015
Pros: good price, right consistency, very white
Cons: none
" Ran out of the stuff that I normally buy from my decorators trade centre so thought Id give the wickes caulk a try. I found it to be excellent stuff. Not thin like some caulks, and very white. A little bit more expensive than merchants budget caulks, but better quality in my opinion. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decorators Filler,
  • Top 25 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 February 2014
Pros: price, ease of use
Cons: none
" Great price but an even better product, very easy to use & a pleasure to work with, I always buy this to prepare for many jobs in hand & it's always a delight to use, I always keep some in stock, 10 out of 10 from me, a genuine well made product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most versatile product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 October 2011
" I've been doing DIY for years and came across this product in a reference book. Previously have used all the big brand name fillers and they've nearly always needed a bit of sanding. This stuff is flexible and works in some of the most awkward filling jobs. My house is c1880's and I've used it extensively throughout to seal and smooth cracks and gaps. I would really recommend it to anyone.
Small downside is that the instructions on the packaging don't tell you that it is suitable for exteriors too. And that it can be sanded. It also says don't run your finger along it to smooth it - which I find works brilliantly in awkward joins (especially if you wet your finger). You really can get some amazing results and a top finish.
Love it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decorators caulk,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 March 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: make sure you have the right size gun
" I recently helped my nephew(professional decorator) decorate my son's new house, and for 40 years I have used various fillers to fill gaps. This stuff is brilliant it seals those fine cracks along skirting boards etc. dries quickly and is easily decorated.
So much easier than a filler which usually needs sanding before you can paint it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For decorating,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 November 2009
Pros: low cost
" Good low cost product that works. Good value if you are using a lot. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better then sliced bread,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 August 2009
" I love caulk. It hides a multitude of sins and is surely one of the greatest inventions ever. The price is unbeatable and the quality as good as any. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Acrylic filler,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
18 July 2009
" Sadly this product failed dismally, for us. It does produce an initial fill for joints; but, after 24hours it shrinks to such an extent that re-application is necessary. OK, we probably over-filled the joins; however we have used similar products from EU suppliers that have never exhibited the same problems of shrinkage and cracking.
As a small crack filler, and at the price, probably acceptable, but don’t rely on this one in a commercial filler. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By Wickes Decorating Team07 October 2009
Overfilling joints will always cause problems. The recommended coverage of this product is a 6mm bead, and when applied at this rate it will not crack unless there is excess movement within the substrate. It is a water-based product and some shrinkage will occur, however this will not be noticeable if you have followed the instructions and used a 6mm bead.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Decorators Caulk White 380ml
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
RatingsOverall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5