Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Power Tools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w

Wickes Hammer Drill is equipped with variable speed control and a 2 speed gearbox.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 Reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Review 1 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well.......er....,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
01 July 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap!
" The jury is out on this kit as yet, but I couldn't unreservedly recommend it from my couple of days of intense use. The torque is good and it blasts through brickwork no problem, but the brand new one I got is as sparky as something that has seen some action and has occasionally made noises like there is something not right somewhere in the bowels of the beast. The keyless chuck is a bit fiddly and awkward to undo and the forward/reverse switch feels very cheap like it wouldn't take much abuse and a couple of mishaps could knacker it. The outer casing is fine, but so what really.
I may be trading up from this, because I don't feel I have a lot of confidence in it. For a DIYer who has a one off job to do and a few quid that can get lost in the overall price, then fine, but if you are making your living with it, spend a few quid more to make sure you don't find yourself on site miles from anywhere with a hole to drill and a red face.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD QUALITY DRILL,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 February 2015
Pros: quick fit chuck
" Powerful (drilled rapidly through brick) and easy to use - variable speed is very useful "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 January 2014
Pros: a low gear giving high-torque & low speed, electronic speed control even when latched on, solid construction, good value for money, easily tightened keyless chuck
Cons: rather heavy for hand held use
" This sturdy drill fits my B&D drill stand and gives the low-speed, high-torque combination required to properly drill steel. Very satisfying to see the continuous cuttings twisting their way out of the drill bit flutes. This powerful tool effortlessly drilled 8.5mm holes through steel in low gear & minimum speed setting. Brilliant!
A very effective, easily tightened (& released) keyless chuck, with no drill bit slippage in the above use.
Note: a label on the tool says it's NOT suitable for plaster or adhesive mixing - doing so voids the warranty. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keyless chuck poor,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 December 2011
" Keyless chuck has proven difficult to operate after 3 years. Instructions don't tell you how to change the keyless chuck and searching for the instructions on line has drawn a blank. I guess wickes want you to replace the whole drill. I now have a phone call or visit to get further instructions. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 May 2010
" I use it for mixing plaster. always 1 gear and full power, mixer is -O- 9 cm for drilling in concrete is not ok, but for brick and wood and steel acceptable but keyless chuck don't hold properly "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 April 2010
" Only used a few times however seems very powerful drill and easy to use chuck. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peace of mind,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 April 2010
Pros: 3 year warranty
" My previous drill was only 15 months old when I had to replace it as it only had 12 months warranty. This wickes drill, as well as being fit for purpose and good value for money comes with 3 years warranty. Would recommend it to all DIY part timers! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice piece of kit,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 March 2010
Pros: well built, has 3 year guarantee
" Brought this drill a few weeks back and it is well constructed and has a good feel about it as well as coming in a useful carrying case. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 August 2009
Pros: ideal for the home or small site jobs
" very happy with the drill key less chuck is very important for quick changes of bits, very easy to use, lightwieght and balanced . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No good for timber framing,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 November 2008
Pros: cheap
Cons: useless
" I built an oak-framed garage this summer and purchased drill for use with 22mm (and occasionally 25mm) auger bits. I chose a 1050W drill as I realised I would need extra power for this. What let the product down was the tiny pin that drove the rotating parts. This continually broke - esp. when putting drill into reverse. No replacements were available for this cheap and small part so I had to keep getting the whole drill replaced. I got through 4 drills in total! It is to Wickes' credit that they kept replacing item, but better if they just could have supplied me with some spare drive pins. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great drill,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
08 April 2008
Pros: very hard wearing
Cons: none that i can see as yet
" this is a superb drill it has lots of extra features it is super stong and tough we have had a conservatory built and had tons of shelves to put up bookcases etc to attach to walls [we have concrete walls and they are the very devil to drill into]it did the job in double quick time.highly recomended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Hammer Drill 1050w
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1