Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Water Based Shed & Fence Treatment or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.

Product Reviews

Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer

Sprayer allows fast and easy treatment of multiple fence panels. Reusable. Provides an accurate and even spray for effective coverage and treatment. Easy to clean with water after use. For use with Spray and Protect Timber care (supplied separately). 5-litre capacity. For best pressure and results fill to the 3-litre mark.
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
10
6 of 16(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Review 1 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish,
By Retiredandhappy
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
04 May 2013
Pros: none
Cons: not compatible with wickes fence treatment, doesn't maintain pressure, clogs in less than 30 econds
"This was given to me as a birthday present. Having read the instructions, I went out and bought Wickes sprayable fence treatment to use with it.
I'm disgusted. In less than half a minute, the nozzle had clogged and the paint was squirting out at all angles, covering everything in the garden except the fencing. The pressure had also dropped within that short usage time too so even if the nozzle hadn't clogged, I would have been too hard at work pumping to maintain the pressure to actually paint the fence.
The recommended fence treatment is far too thick and gloopy to be used with this spray and Wickes should remove the recommendation that they're compatible. I am furious. Avoid this product for fence treatment!!!!
"
+63points
65out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pressure spray pump,
By Loobyloo
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
12 August 2012
"It worked okay about four panels then gave up - the pressure valve wouldn't stay in then the nozzle got blocked."
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor,
By BellyJelly
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
24 May 2012
Pros: easy to get a refund
Cons: dreadful quality
"I have now had three of these and all have had problems. The first one worked OK for a day and a half - about 30 litres of spraying, though it did lose pressure quickly as others have mentioned. But on the second day it stopped spraying completely (I cleaned it out thoroughly the previous night and it did work for a while in the morning so I cannot see that being the issue).
The second one sprayed well for the rest of day 2 (about 20 litres) but would not work at all the next morning (again, I cleaned this thoroughly).
The third one just blobbed the product out rather than spraying it - it sprayed occasionally, just long enough to trick me into pointing the hose at my fence panel, before turning into a bubbling mess and leaving me with a messy panel that needed sorting out.
Following some advice on here I have watered the product down and that seems to have helped a bit.
The only positive that I can add is that on each occasion I have returned to Wickes they have replaced it without any fuss."
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works very well,
By decs
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 May 2012
Pros: does the job
"just remember,only fill to the 3ltr mark to maintain reasonable pressure.Add about 10% water to improve spray pattern and the sprayer works perfectly.Great value for money."
+16points
24out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read this first,
By Spike2
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
02 September 2011
Pros: it does work
"Many of the reviews are negative and I was hesitant but had so many panels to paint ...
The sprayer does work and you can do a good job if you bear the following tips in mind.
First the Wickes timbercare treatment varies greatly in thickness. I had some bottles that poured easily and they sprayed perfectly. Others were so gloopy they hardly poured from the bottle. Those gave trouble at first - poor nozzle pressure resulting in blobs and sometimes total blockage. SOLUTION add 10% to 20% water and shake the mixture in the sprayer. RESULT was perfect.
Secondly If you fill the sprayer with 5 litres there will be little room for air and pressure will drop fast as you start spraying - perhaps one panel. Repump :it will take longer but you will have more space to fill. Pressure will probably last for two panels. And so on - its simple physics.
Finally don't expect to get the advertised coverage - its like MPG and you never get the advertised figure. I managed about 4 panels per 5 litre bottle"
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just don't buy it!!!,
By KevM9
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
25 August 2011
"Never before have I felt the need to write a review but this is the worse product I have ever bought.
Just as the other reviews say.... blobs out the preservative and loses pressure too quick- I ended up using a brush to sort out the blobs.
Got loads on the floor. Works just about ok with water.
Its also hard to pour any unused preservative back into the container.
So if you buy one of these make sure you get a brush, gloves and a funnel at the same time - and don't expect to save time and don't expect a cleaner better job than a brush.!!!
I'm going back for a refund.
"
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
steer clear,
By cobra1uk
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
12 July 2011
Pros: looks good in adverts
Cons: everything
"bought this the other day,worst purchase ever,(i should have taken notice of other reviews),i did exactly as instructions said,i got more preservative on floor and walls than on fence panels,and what did go on panels was either too thick and ran,or not enough,
also pressure drops too quickly,forever having too pump
"
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
spray and protect sprayer,
By wollfman
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 March 2011
Pros: easy to use but do read instructions
"Purchaced the sprayer to coat 90 feet of fence. like one review I initially got blobby sqirt from the nozzle on full pressure. on removing the hose from the pressure container I found that the small filter on the end of the pickup tube was blocked.The preservative was not wickes own, I must say. On cleaning this little filter and washing out the sprayer completely, then reassembling it. Refilling it with Wickes own brand of fence preservative it worked ok. I would recommend this product but before critisiing its performance one should have some knowledge of spraying equipment"
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money and time,
By John8
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
01 September 2010
Pros: nothing
Cons: rubbish for spraying fence paint.
"I bought one of these to spray a couple of fence panels. It pressurised OK but it just came out a as a 'blobby' jet, going everywhere but the fence panels.
There was not enough pressure to make it spray properly, any more pumping just released the safety valve.
I spent quite a time cleaning it after using a brush to finish the panels. When tested with water it seemed to spray correctly if the pressure was as high as possible. Even with water when the pressure was any less than maximum, after a few seconds of spraying, the jet reformed rather than a fan shaped spray. It looks as if it is totally unsuitable to spray anything that is any thicker than water.
It's going back for a refund as being' unsuitable for purpose'
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - needs TLC,
By HandySidney
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 August 2010
Pros: super fast, easy to clean
Cons: you must follow the instructions to the letter, make sure you check the unit before buying
"I bought one of these today to paint 8 6' x 6' fence panels.
The first one I got was missing the yellow pipe and the spare nozzle. A trip back to the store sorted that (apparently loads of people steal them from the box - so make sure you check the pack before you buy).
I filled it up and started pumping - nothing - 5 minutes later, still nothing - no pressure at all.
I went back to the store and swapped the pump (the middle bit) and it was fine. Basically, if the pump handle has no resistance when pushing down, it's faulty. If there's resistance (like a bicycle pump) then it's ok.
Then I was off. I got down to about 4 minutes per fence panel and one 5l bottle covered 2.5 sides (about 8 sqm).
I made sure to re-pressurise back to 2.7 bar once the pressure got down to about 1.8 bar (only takes a few seconds to re-pressurise). The relief valve kicks in at 2.7 bar so you don't even need to bother looking at the dial.
Cleaning was pretty simple too - rinsed it with cold water, filled it up with water and sprayed to clean the pipe.
If you find it's losing pressure (hissing noise), tighten the green connector where the hose goes into the unit.
Way faster than using a brush - just make sure it's not a windy day else you'll end up with freckles!"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad start and got worse.,
By spanner1
Expertise: Expert DIYer
22 August 2010
Cons: useless
"Please do not waste your money on this sprayer,
use your money to buy a good brush because you will end up using a brush. first of all would not build up pressure, because relief valve kept leaking.sohad to fix that,tookabout half an hr,then try again,got pressure up to about 1bar and connections on lance leaked,so fixed that with some more rubber washers, another half hr,and pumped for another 10 mins,got no higher than 2bar,so enough was enough,decided to go back to brush and finished fence in less time than i had spent fafing about with this useless piece of kit.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good start poor finish,
By PeterGMc
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
16 August 2010
Pros: works for a short while cheap
Cons: they are junk
"I bought one of these because I'd previously used a Hozelock equivalent which was great. This said it was designed to be used with the Wickes Timbercare product.
I had one and it was great for a while (about 3 containers worth of spray fluid) but then it just started squirting rather than spraying. I cleaned everything, fitted a new nozzle and it was just the same.
So I bought another and it was exactly the same story.
I finished off by brushing, slower but actually better quality."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By pipspal
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 April 2010
Pros: very quick
Cons: loses pressure quite quickly
"Bit sceptical having read other reviews but went ahead and got one!! No problems and it certainly beats a brush. BUT keep the pressure up otherwise you get a jet rather than a spray and that gets messy."
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Items are never like what they show on TV,
By Notaveryhappyperson
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
07 March 2010
"I used one of these sprayers about 10 years ago and wasted my money then as I have now. I've always since painted wooden fences by hand as there is no easy way of doing it, However I thought after 10 years the sprayers might have improved and being older struggle with a brush these days.
The sprayer releases the paint like a hose would, you still have to paint over it otherwise it just in clumps.
I'm now mad at myself for wasting £14.99 for the sprayer which I'm going to bin and return the paint I bought which cost £9.99 a shot.
My advice - Don't waste your money"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Rate Product,
By Funnybone
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 September 2009
Pros: ease of use
"I purchased one of these for fence spraying. It was a delight to use from the start, and has proved totally reliable since. I have yet to find as good a product for a similar price."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spray & Protect Pressure Sprayer
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sprayer,
By Grinder
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
04 July 2009
Cons: does not do what is says.
"Bought this sprayer today along with 3 x 5 litre sprayable fence and timber care and the sprayer is rubbish. Good mind to take it back and say why l want my money back. It simply does not spray the product. My advice, use a brush."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.