Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Freestanding Shelving Systems or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Heavy Duty Storage Unit

Holds up to 50kg per shelf, evenly distributed. Easy self-assembly - no tools required. Ideal for garage and workshop use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.644 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
57 of 59(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not what I expected,
By WinstonWolf
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
18 November 2013
"Cheap and looks it and far too wobbly to be of reliable use. Returned mine the next day for full refund."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase,
By Bob1950
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 July 2013
Pros: good quality and will last well
Cons: no instructions or diagram but none really needed
"These units really are very good indeed. The pack contains 5 black pre-formed shelves, 16 grey uprights, 4 feet and 4 top caps. All parts are strong plastic (polypropylene I think) and fit together very easily. Also, each of the black shelves is moulded with two projections on one edge and two matching recesses on the opposite edge so that several complete sets of units can be linked firmly together. If you're going to do this then I recommend you assemble them level by level, linking them as you go. I unpacked and assembled two linked sets in less than 20 minutes."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Buy !!,
By Twigslet
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 May 2013
"I am a complete amateur and I purchased two packs for my garage to store my business materials, hobby etc.
These freestanding shelves are the most easiest to erect. Despite they are advertised and sold at five shelve high, I have built mine one level higher due to only having room for four shelves in one place along the wall. I have tied them to the wall for security.
I am pleased to say my garage is looking so much better now and everything is off the floor.
These are well priced and will suit your purse/wallet.
I would highly reccommend them.. Having said that I'm not sure I'd have them in my house but one never knows.."
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic valus and no hastle.,
By MAC1234
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 April 2012
Pros: remarkably stable
Cons: utilitarian look
"Ordered a selection of shelving and these are WITHOUT DOUBT the easiest to construct- require no skill and you can't get them wrong. Unlike the pine shelving which looks good but does require some skill and takes 4 or 5 times as long.
I like the industrial look of these and for garages, sheds, bedrooms they look stunning- wouldn't use them in my front room but other than that - don't buy any others, these are BY FAR the best.
Clip together for extra stability if have more than one .
"
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product,
By BubblyTom
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 August 2011
"This shelving unit is really good buy. I bought 3 of these & put them in the garage. I have joined all 3 together to make them stronger. Very pleased with my purchase & I would recomend this product."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garage shelving,
By LeeDIY
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 May 2011
"Arrived promptly, easy construction. More sturdy than appearance suggests."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value, great product,
By jendo
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 January 2011
Pros: strong, quick assembly, light, units fix together
Cons: none!
"I bought 3 of these units for heavy duty storage in the garage. They are excellent value for money. Very strong and stable, particularly when fastened to each other. Very quick to put together - my children could have assembled them. I couldn't believe something so light and simple to assemble could be so strong. Smooth shiny plastic, wouldn't look out of place in a teenagers bedroom."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Storage solved,
By dingdongchippy
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 December 2010
Pros: an easy solution
Cons: not ideal for small items
"Bought two of these for storing tools and tool cases.
Prompt delivery as seems usual from Wickes. Well wrapped with no damage. Very easy to assemble and quite sturdy when assembled and stood in place. Price is reasonable given the quality. The only downside I have come across is that due to the top surface of the shelves being recessed small items will not store easily.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the job,
By NikHow
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 December 2010
Pros: very easy to put together and strong
Cons: none
"I have 5 in my garage and they are fantastic. Very strong and easy to put together. I'm very happy with the storage units and would get more if required."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
By Butterfingers
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 December 2010
"easy to put together and appears to be strong enough for what I need. Good value for what you get"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By Adam1234
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 September 2010
"I Must Add that is is one of the Best Purchases i have Ever made.
i like the idea u can conect them to each other.
easy to make up,
also easy to take down and reuse.
fairley priced to say the the least.
qulity on this product is a 5 star.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavy Duty Storage Unit,
By Briandb6
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 August 2010
Pros: good strong shelving
"Delighted with product. Bought before at lower price. Difficult to find on website."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase,
By Tidyshed1
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 August 2010
"My shed needed shelving and these were just right I put them together myself didn't have to wait for hubby to get home excellent."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By russet
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 August 2010
"These are brilliant. Easily assembled by one person. Light but strong, able to take a heavy load. Stable (don't need fixing to a wall for support) and are easy to move around and position. I now have three in the garage."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic storage!,
By BabyBirdieGirl
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 July 2010
Pros: easy to construct
Cons: none
"My husband bought 3 of these units to put at the rear wall of our shed/out-house. They took minutes to build up (my husband is a tradesman though!) and were very sturdy and strong. They were also a perfect fit for the area we put them in. I would recommend these to anyone especially as we were looking at shelving units online for alot more money initially. We think we got a bargain!!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good buy...,
By Charles1234
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 July 2010
"Excellent quality set of shelves, despite being plastic they are very sturdy and if you have more than one they lock together for extra stability. Great size as well. Finally found a way to get my junk off the floor and organised!!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great purchase for space saving,
By paviway
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 June 2010
"I have purchased two of these for my garage. They are so strong and hold a lot of weight. I didn't even have to secure them to the wall."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wickes Shelving Unit,
By sawhands
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 April 2010
"Excellent delivery - when nothing else could get through in the snow this was delivered.
Simple to assemble
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to erect,
By sjamb1
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 February 2010
"this is a great product, easy to erect, very strong great product"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Storage Unit
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must buy product,
By Zojak
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 December 2009
Pros: easy peasy
Cons: caps will not fit on top uprights
"Bought 2 which fitted exactly into the space in the garage. Very easy to fit together and very strong."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>