Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Loft Insulation or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wickes.

200mm Loft Roll Insulation

Covers 5.93m2. Suitable for 600 and 400mm joist and rafter spacing. Glass mineral wool. Significantly improves energy efficiency. Compressed for easy handling. Easy to divide. * Product being replaced by SKU 190451 so may be unavailable to order. Please contact your local store for availability or for replacement product.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Review 1 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't believe the difference,
By Cbcbcb
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 January 2014
Pros: extra thick for second layer, easy to cut roll and lay, works!
" Bout a property built mid 60's and loft insulation inadequate. Never put insulation in before it's always just been there. The difference when adding this as a second layer to old loose insulation between rafters was amazing. The heating is on for just a couple of hours a day and it's warm. Never realised what a difference insulation makes. Easy to fit took very short time. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a quality product,
By fabel
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
15 December 2013
Pros: cheap
Cons: poor quality
" Although this product gets good reviews there are a lot better ones out there which are worth spending just a little bit more for. Starting with the wrapping - the film has been over glued so that it is stuck to the start of the roll leading to delamination of the product as you unpack it. 200mm rolls are designed as a top layer to be laid perpendicular to the joists like a large duvet to cover all the little gaps and cold bridges. So unless you have 200mm deep joists in your loft you dont need it pre-cut. Cutting it just creates gaps in your insulation and the pre-cutting on this product is almost fully through and just makes it look like a ploughed field full of gaps when laid. The material quality of this product is also not that good it fluffs and disintegrates really quickly. Its cheap though but its worth spending a little bit more for a decent insulation. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good, its insulation!,
By Suzannekm
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
25 November 2013
" Did the job! Easy to lay. What an i say its insulation.
Cheaper price would of been better but price was competitive.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
By pops272
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 November 2013
Pros: very light to lift and great insulation
" Did my research and this product looked the best value and it certainly was. My loft was already insulated but was 30 years old and was degrading. My son laid it for me and made an outstanding job. It was his idea to do it as a Christmas gift. Best one yet! The difference was immediate. The house is so much warmer, especially the "cold" bedroom over the garage. I was amazed how the insulation expands when opened. Rolls are very light so I was able to lift them up to the loft quite easily.
I over ordered but no problem with returning the excess. I would recommend this product.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do your own loft.,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 November 2013
" Forget getting British Gas etc to insulate your loft. With this stuff it is quicker, easier and cheaper. Perforated so no need to saw it up. Hassle free. Need a mask and goggles for safety's sake but otherwise a breeze. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 November 2013
" Delivered on time, unpacks easily. Easy to divide and cut when necessary. Needs two people to get these into the loft. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a comodity,
By tauras
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 November 2013
" brand leader loft insulation
does what it says on the plastic
"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
right enough,
By Andrew54
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 October 2012
Pros: not expensive., cuts easily.
Cons: tears easily.
" Not the best product, but not bad at all. Easy to work with, easy to cut, doesn't irritate or prickle the skin. I would advise a mask as it does give off 'dust' as you unroll it. Need to be careful unrolling or it might tear. It does the job at the right price. "
+35points
46out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what a bargain,
By daco133
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 October 2010
Pros: very easy to lay and easy to cut
Cons: very itchy i bought full white suit + gloves/mask
" this offer from is just what you want , you get a lot of loft insulation under the buy 1 get 2 free deal. no where else sells this at that price. i couldnt believe how cheap.
done my full 3 bed loft in about 2 hours
I cannnot recommend this product enough, all i can say is what a bargain!
"
+24points
32out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 200mm Loft Roll Insulation
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply great!,
By Gandalf
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 September 2010
Pros: easy to cut and layout
Cons: itchy material so wear a mask and cover your skin
" The offer from Wickes is just great as you get a lot of loft insulation under the buy 1 get 2 free deal! With just 3 of these rolls I did half of my loft and cutting the meterial was a very simple with a kitchen knife!!
Installed half the loft in about 3 hours (taking breaks here and there...). the material fluffs up pretty quickly. Will check the thermal qualities of the material this winter.
I cannnot recommend this product ehough... especially under the current deal - the whole loft (4 bed mid terrace) can be done for about £60 - what a bargain! "
+20points
31out of 42found this review helpful.