Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Constructional Insulation or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5

Provides high level of sound and thermal insulation.. Very high compressive strength providing durability..
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Review 1 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked for me,
By wornoutfromrenovating
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 January 2014
Pros: easy to use, deadens sound well
Cons: expensive
"I read all the previous reviews before buying this product - on balance I felt it would do the job I wanted it to which was to deaden the sound between our bedroom and that of our next door neighbours. Our house is a Victorian semi and there is only one brick width and a thin bit of plasterboard between us and next door. I found the product much easier to use than I expected and it cut easily with a Stanley knife. I wore gloves and didn't find any problem with itching. I must admit I didn't follow the instructions on the packet and laid it in rows flat against the wall (not in the recommended brick pattern) because I wanted to hold it all in place with a framework over the top and staggering the joins would have meant too much wood on top. I then put 18mm mdf over the top with strip-wood over the vertical joins to create a panelled look. It's still early days but either next door have been much quieter than usual recently or it's working! Can't say how it would be with loud music but for deadening normal noise I'm very happy with it."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By roastpotatos
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
06 January 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: silly
"this is not very good it made me cry xox xox xox xox"
-9points
13out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TOTAL waste of money,
By MaidofKent1
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
05 December 2013
Pros: none
Cons: expensive mistake
"I bought this product together with the acoustic plasterboard to make sure it would stop my neighbours blaring TV spoiling my evenings.
I had this installed by my builder and hey presto -
IT HAS MADE NO DIFFERENCE TO THE NOISE COMING THROUGH THE WALL!!
My advise - don't waste your money on this product.
"
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not impressed,
By Kpanting
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
12 November 2013
Pros: easy to cut
Cons: heavy
"I thought this product was very expensive but bought it thinking it would be good because of the price.
I used it in conjuction with other items such as sound boards and green glue in the hope of reducing the sound of my neighbours. It didn't work and I think the sound boards reduced the noise a little but was not impressed with the acoustic insulation.
Far too dear and make sure you use a mask!
"
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
do not buy,
By nathan1
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
01 June 2013
Pros: none
Cons: rubbish
"bought this too stop next doors music put 2 lots of sound proof plasterboard on top and not made any difference at all DO NOT BUY"
+1point
20out of 39found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By Wickes Insulation Team19 June 2013
"Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you found this product unsatisfactory. We take all our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you want to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123.
"
Review 6 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, but at a price,
By DIYDO
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
22 May 2013
Pros: reduction of wall borne sound
Cons: high price
"This is an excellent product for reducing sound transmission through stud walls. My only criticism is the price....it has increased by 50% in the last twelve months!"
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
By MrMongoose
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 December 2012
"Used this heavy density to put in a party wall for soundproofing, Easy to cut and handle which cuts down time on the job."
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
By Wadey
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 April 2011
"Great product, it`s pretty heavy and the sound insulation is superb, it also cuts easily with a stanley knife, which doesn`t make as much dust as a saw, use gloves cos it`s itchy stuff!!"
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product,
By Berryfields1967
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
19 November 2010
"Plus points - Heavy duty sound slab and easy to cut with your average saw. quite dusty so a face mask is advisable.
Negative point - This is usually available 'Off the shelf' so I was a tad irritated that I orederd online and paid £5.95 delivery, when a differently wrapped product arrived at my door - i.e the version available in the shop. So, a minor gripe, but I didn't need to wait and could have saved myself £6. That said, it does do what it says on the wrapper."
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound insulater,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
21 September 2010
"This product is the best I have found for sound insulation. It was also easy to install - all I used was an old carving knife to cut it to size."
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
By Lostontheplot
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
10 December 2009
Pros: heavy duty
Cons: itchy as to be expected
"Easy to cut with a knife, retains shape when cut meaning good butt joints can be achieved."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product,
By KellysRaven
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 October 2009
Pros: good solid material
Cons: gloves definately needed
"Easy to cut and install. Have used other cheaper so-called solid slab insulation that have fallen to bits and this is a far better product.
Noticeable sound deadening too."
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to work with,
By Ddiy
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 October 2009
"Very easy to work with. Great performance. Delivery on this product was quick too."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
By Kieran
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 September 2009
Pros: easy to work with, easy to install and cut, great performance
Cons: itchy (wear gloves)
"Easy to work with, this insulation has made a huge difference in sound transmition (reduction)."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Proofing,
By Cron
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
06 August 2009
"This sound proofing material is excellent for reducing sound transmission between rooms - far better than rock wool"
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Acoustic Slab Insulation 30mm PK5
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good product,
By rytona
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 September 2008
Pros: simple to do, quick and easy to fit
Cons: can be itchy
"Up to now i have lined two walls of my cottage with these sheets. The sheets are very strong and can be just fixed to the wall with rawlplug and screws fitted with large washers. They cut easily to size with a wood saw and i found them excellent.
PS The room now is a lot warmer and saves heating costs.
"
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.