Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Cement, Mortar & Aggregates or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wickes.

Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg

Ready-mixed blend of aggregate and cement for all concrete projects
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 Reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Review 1 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so practicle.,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 May 2015
Pros: manageable to use
Cons: paper bags prone to ripping
" This product is great for the smaller jobs,so easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on bag,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 May 2015
" Good Quality item, does what it says and quick drying, would reccommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MULTI PURPOSE CONCRETE,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 May 2015
" SEEMS OK HAD CHUNKS STUCKS TOGETHER ,NOTHINGS PERFECT ANYWAY SEEMED O.K TIME WILL TELL. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Concrete,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 April 2015
Pros: easy to use, accurate coverage estimate, good workability time
Cons: bags aren't very good
" Coverage estimates provided seem to be accurate.
Handy size 25kg bag as well, some others are only 20kg for similar costs, which obviously doesn't go as far.
As others have said, you will not get a smooth finish with this, but then it's not designed for that purpose. I did find that by rapidly scraping a hand float tool over the top of the product to sort of smooth it off did actually help a little though. Finish wasn't a problem for me because paving stones were going on top.
Was easy to mix too.
Biggest issue is the bags - they're sort of paper 'coal-sack' types of bags, which tear and split really easily. Of the 6 that I bought, 3 had small tears in them, which had turned into rips by the time I arrived home (at which point I established that I had concreted half of my car boot). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 April 2015
Pros: handy sized bags
Cons: bags not waterproof and can tear easily
" Excellent for the job required,erecting fence posts, dug the holes put the posts in and dropped half a bag in each hole,drop of water,job done. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great crete,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 April 2015
Pros: easy to use
" This did the job perfectly.
Easy to mix and very consistent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the bag...!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 April 2015
" Good product, works well, stays workable for a sensible time so can get through a whole bag in one go.
I found it needed around 4.5 litres of water to a bag.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 October 2014
Pros: cheap & cheerful, quick & easy to use
Cons: paper bag is weak ripped easily, finish is not perfect
" Bought this product to fill a couple of holes in a patio. Followed the instructions to the letter and mixed in a wheelbarrow very easily.
Quick drying but as others have said the finish is not ideal and you may need to skim over the top to finish although this was not an issue for me on this job as the patio is being covered. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for Purpose,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
17 March 2014
" Did exactly the job bought for, seating fence posts "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+27points
54out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ready Mixed...,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 February 2014
Pros: cheap and cheerful
Cons: need to apply cement top layer for smooth finish, paper bags... weak and not waterproof
" Well, it did what is says on the bag... it is a Ready Mix concrete, just add water, mix well and put it where you want it...
Unfortunately, the MIX seems to be wrong... The 'gravel' used appears to be chips of coarse gravel or light Ballast... I ended up with more pieces of 'Ballast' sitting on top of the final concreted area, when it was dried out... I had to sweep those pieces away
I will not be buying this again... I will be Mixing my own... using Pea Gravel... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+26points
44out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hard standing,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 January 2014
" stuff does the job, sets fast and good composition,tho i would recommend something else to lay over to get a smooth finish "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+23points
36out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Packaging needs a re-think,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
23 November 2013
Pros: easy amount to work with, sturdy, good mix
Cons: packaging not good, some concert had already set in bag
" Can't fault the concrete itself, it's very sturdy stuff. Very had to drill into when it's set! It takes more water than is specified and would recommend you make it quite wet as it tends to go off quite quickly. The packaging however needs a serious re-think. It was raining when it was delivered and I picked a bag up and it just fell apart. Some concrete had already gone hard at the bottom of the bags which wasted a bit. Other than that happy with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
set in stone,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 November 2013
Pros: convenient
Cons: expensive way to concreat
" It's a bag of ready mix. It does what it says on the bag. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not cheap,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
18 November 2013
Pros: not working against the clock, can buy in quantities that suit your needs
Cons: bags are ridiculously flimsy and non water proofed
" It does the job but is expensive for what it is. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Think twice,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
16 November 2013
" Aggregate rather too large and dries to an odd colour too. Poor, unless perhaps you will use some sort of top layer to mask it. Once again Wickes products leave buyer with some regrets "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for a quick fix,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
18 August 2012
Pros: does what it says on the bag
Cons: packaging needs a rethink
" Decent mix of cement and aggregate (agggregate is very sharp stone chunks from what I can tell)
The packaging however is rubbish, half the ones I was delivered had got damp and fell to bits when I picked them up. Easily fixed by a trip to the store though who replaced without argument. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+35points
40out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 May 2011
Pros: very very easy to use
Cons: not suitable for a smooth finish
" This stuff is great!. You just add water. I've never used concrete before and looking at the mixing instructions to make concrete...one part this two parts that....I was pleased to spot this stuff. Provides a good rough finished base for paving etc. I even produced a path at the washing line area with it, just packed it down firmly when wet. After my success with laying a patio I'm looking to build a shed, this stuff will be the base. Highly recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+35points
39out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Preferred the old one,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 April 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor packaging, large amount of dust
" Why is it when something works well someone somewhere decides it needs changing. I bought some bags of this ready mix concrete recently and was disappointed with the change, the paper bag wheezes cement dust every time you move it which I suppose is fine if you are transporting it in a van but in the boot of a hatchback inevitably some ends up in the car.
I mix these using a bell mixer and decided on a dust mask after I tipped the first bag in, it really was horrendous.
Also regarding the bag it is only just up to the job, several broken bags on the pallet I got mine from, and at least one that seemed to have got wet and was solid.
Sorry Wickes but the previous plastic bags with separate plastic bags of cement in with the aggregate were much better than these. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+37points
47out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy To Use,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
25 April 2011
Cons: too heavy for this female to move alone-had to get
" Quick and easy to use-excellent for people like us who are not confident DIYers! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
28out of 49found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5