Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Concrete & Cement or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.

Product Reviews

Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg

Suitable for steps, paths, wall foundations and all general concrete projects. General purpose concrete - no need to buy separate ingredients. Ready-mixed - just add water. Uses low- CO2 cement.
Average Customer Rating:
3.615 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Review 1 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin,
By Waterfall
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 October 2014
Pros: cheap & cheerful, quick & easy to use
Cons: paper bag is weak ripped easily, finish is not perfect
"Bought this product to fill a couple of holes in a patio. Followed the instructions to the letter and mixed in a wheelbarrow very easily.
Quick drying but as others have said the finish is not ideal and you may need to skim over the top to finish although this was not an issue for me on this job as the patio is being covered."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for Purpose,
By Dee53
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
17 March 2014
"Did exactly the job bought for, seating fence posts"
+24points
46out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ready Mixed...,
By Sammyone
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 February 2014
Pros: cheap and cheerful
Cons: need to apply cement top layer for smooth finish, paper bags... weak and not waterproof
"Well, it did what is says on the bag... it is a Ready Mix concrete, just add water, mix well and put it where you want it...
Unfortunately, the MIX seems to be wrong... The 'gravel' used appears to be chips of coarse gravel or light Ballast... I ended up with more pieces of 'Ballast' sitting on top of the final concreted area, when it was dried out... I had to sweep those pieces away
I will not be buying this again... I will be Mixing my own... using Pea Gravel..."
+26points
40out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hard standing,
By shedbuilder
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 January 2014
"stuff does the job, sets fast and good composition,tho i would recommend something else to lay over to get a smooth finish"
+24points
33out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Packaging needs a re-think,
By Louboo
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
23 November 2013
Pros: easy amount to work with, sturdy, good mix
Cons: packaging not good, some concert had already set in bag
"Can't fault the concrete itself, it's very sturdy stuff. Very had to drill into when it's set! It takes more water than is specified and would recommend you make it quite wet as it tends to go off quite quickly. The packaging however needs a serious re-think. It was raining when it was delivered and I picked a bag up and it just fell apart. Some concrete had already gone hard at the bottom of the bags which wasted a bit. Other than that happy with it."
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
set in stone,
By leontry
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 November 2013
Pros: convenient
Cons: expensive way to concreat
"It's a bag of ready mix. It does what it says on the bag."
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not cheap,
By PMace
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
18 November 2013
Pros: not working against the clock, can buy in quantities that suit your needs
Cons: bags are ridiculously flimsy and non water proofed
"It does the job but is expensive for what it is."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Think twice,
By ConcreteCalamity
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
16 November 2013
"Aggregate rather too large and dries to an odd colour too. Poor, unless perhaps you will use some sort of top layer to mask it. Once again Wickes products leave buyer with some regrets"
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for a quick fix,
By antonyl
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
18 August 2012
Pros: does what it says on the bag
Cons: packaging needs a rethink
"Decent mix of cement and aggregate (agggregate is very sharp stone chunks from what I can tell)
The packaging however is rubbish, half the ones I was delivered had got damp and fell to bits when I picked them up. Easily fixed by a trip to the store though who replaced without argument."
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 May 2011
Pros: very very easy to use
Cons: not suitable for a smooth finish
"This stuff is great!. You just add water. I've never used concrete before and looking at the mixing instructions to make concrete...one part this two parts that....I was pleased to spot this stuff. Provides a good rough finished base for paving etc. I even produced a path at the washing line area with it, just packed it down firmly when wet. After my success with laying a patio I'm looking to build a shed, this stuff will be the base. Highly recommend"
+32points
36out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Preferred the old one,
By PurpleTomcat
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 April 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor packaging, large amount of dust
"Why is it when something works well someone somewhere decides it needs changing. I bought some bags of this ready mix concrete recently and was disappointed with the change, the paper bag wheezes cement dust every time you move it which I suppose is fine if you are transporting it in a van but in the boot of a hatchback inevitably some ends up in the car.
I mix these using a bell mixer and decided on a dust mask after I tipped the first bag in, it really was horrendous.
Also regarding the bag it is only just up to the job, several broken bags on the pallet I got mine from, and at least one that seemed to have got wet and was solid.
Sorry Wickes but the previous plastic bags with separate plastic bags of cement in with the aggregate were much better than these."
+33points
42out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy To Use,
By geekgirl
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
25 April 2011
Cons: too heavy for this female to move alone-had to get
"Quick and easy to use-excellent for people like us who are not confident DIYers!"
+6points
26out of 46found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ready Mixed Multi Purpose Concrete 25kg
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5