Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Floor Levelling Compound or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Wickes.

Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg

Suitable for single applications from 5 to 50mm, avoiding the time and expense of multiple layers. Can be walked on in just three hours, minimising disruption within the property. Floor coverings can be installed after six hours allowing project completion within a day. Heavy-duty compound which can be used in high traffic and wheeled traffic areas and in areas subjected to high stress such as conservatories. Can be used in conjunction with normal underfloor heating systems. Excellent self-levelling properties, requires minimal work with a smoothing trowel. Latex free so can be used in biologically sensitive areas such as kitchens, restaurants, hospitals etc.. Coverage - 2.2m at 5mm thickness with 3.4 litre water addition. 1.1m at 10mm thickness with 3.4 litre water addition. 0.73m at 15mm thickness with 3.4 litre water addition..
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Review 1 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy peasy,
By Wraakian
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 January 2014
Pros: easy to mix, easy to lay, perfectly smooth finish, up to 5 bags can be mixed and laid in the 20 mins
Cons: if mixing more than 5 bags 20 minutes is a short s
" Considering both my drills packed in after starting to mix 5 bags of this, it was brilliant how it turned out. My wife poured the bags into a wheelbarrow whilst I mixed it with two wooden cooking spoons due to the failutre of my drills which I had ready with a mixing paddle sadly not used (Bought a new drill since). We manage all 5 bags within the drying time of 20 minutes and filled the whole of the 2" base ready for a new limestone and Travertine fireplace arriving the following day. The end result was a perfectly smooth surface exactly level to the floorboards as required. A great product from Wickes! "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well,
By JBFUK
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
27 January 2014
Pros: easy to use, levels well
Cons: expensive even in bulk
" I used 10 bags to level the floor of my 3mx3m workshop at home. Did the job well - as the temperature is quite low at the moment it stayed workable for several hours allowing me to mix/pour a bag at a time and still rake over at the end to get rid of any bubbles and ensure an even coverage.
SDS drill and paddle for mixing is a must. I found the cheap wickes buckets have a mark around the inside at 3.4/3.5L which makes measuring out the water quick and easy.
Now wondering how long to wait before painting with heavy duty floor paint and whether or not this is going to be strong enough to use as a top surface (some Q&A's suggest it's not a suitable wear surface)? Would be good to hear what people's experience is - I don't know what else I would lay over the top as it needs to be a painted concrete floor and I only have 10-15mm clearance left on the door etc. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deep Base,
By Mara
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 January 2014
" I used this product to cover an area of 20sqm at depths between 5mm and 30mm. I was connecting an old conservatory, a kitchen and a utility room where the old floors were in varying conditions and levels with several construction joints. In some places it was 50mm deep.
The instructions on the bag were clear and the areas were true.
The first bag was mixed at 3.4litres and was too liquid as a result I lost 30% out of the shutters. Mixing at 3.2 litres gives a more workable solution at this depth.
I found that a mixing machine is an essential investment.
The finished result was excellent with a flat uniform surface with no cracks ready for tiling
I would recommend weariing a dust mask when mixing as I felt ill after using this product.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
By Lorry
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
02 November 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: pricey
" Excellent product, although quite pricey. Much better and easier to use than the sika levelling compound I originally started with. This mixes to the right consistency by following the guidelines on the bag, pours and self levels with very little tooling with a float. Would definitely use again. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked a treat,
By Go1dy
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 October 2013
Pros: great finish, mixes to a smooth pour, covered some deep holes, good instructions on packaging, requires very little 'working'
Cons: a little pricey but for small areas its worth it
" I had to re-tile my porch floor and after removing the old tiles the floor was in a real mess. There was also an extension to the porch some years back and the old and newer floors were at a different level (around 5 - 10mm difference at the high points). There were also some holes about 15mm in depth dotted around the floor the floor.
I'm certainly not a builder but a keen DIYer so when I saw the previous reviews online I thought I'd give it a go.
This is a really an excellent product but the key is to follow the instructions on the packaging exactly with regards to the water amount required. You need a whisk attachment or paddle for your drill to allow you to quickly mix it thoroughly enough before pouring.
Yes, it is a little pricey but I only had about 4m sqr to cover and used exactly 4 bags for the 8-10mm depth.
Although it does self level it does need some encouragement to spread to the corners (with a float or rake)
Also it really is dry enough to walk on after 90mins! and no funny smells. The finish looks almost like polished concrete.
Definitely unibond the floor 1st, minimum of the day before, and hoover up any grit or dust before you're ready to start pouring
very pleased with this product "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressive - at a price,
By eastgrinstead
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
08 October 2013
Pros: finds its own level with no troweling, easy to mix
Cons: fairly expensive
" I used this to level a new porch base. I had to lay 50mm celotex insulation so I wasnt entirely sure if it would work OK. It did. Its a very clever product. I had the luxury of my builders mixing machine which no doubt made life a lot easier. The porch was 8 feet square and I had to raise the level about 20 mm above the celotex. I used 18 bags, quite a bit more than I thought. A bag doesn't go very far. Its like liquid gold! A very heavy gooey mix which spreads itself and find its own level. Went hard very quickly, about 2 hours. Its a great way of levelling a small area by yourself as proper screeding is a skill like plastering. Overall it is a very expensive way to screed a floor but it was cheaper for me as I didnt have to pay a builder. I dont think it would be suitable for a very big area if you had to level deeper than 10mm. You can add layers after it has gone off. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product, too expensive,
By Harrycat2
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
20 August 2013
Pros: easy to mix
Cons: too expensive
" I had to level a conservatory floor, approx 8 square metres with a fall of approx 45mm from one end to the other. Working on my own I decided to divide the floor into three sections using some batten screwed to the floor. I'm glad I did this because in my opinion it would be impossible to cover a large area in one go because the product has only got a 20 minute working time! Setting time is slower in cooler conditions but it was about 21c while I was working. The finish is very good but I would like to see a longer working time. I used the recommended amount of water and an electric paddle mixer and an old garden rake to initially spread it around . I actually ordered 20 bags and used 18. My other criticisms are cost and the terribly poor bags it is supplied in, vey easy to tear. "
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
By Stoneylion
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
25 May 2013
" Needed to level floor in 2.6m x 2.4m conservatory - high spot in the middle, dropping away by 15mm all around at the walls. Mixed PVA 3:1 water and coated floor, allowed to dry completely. Bought 6 bags, lined up 3 big buckets, measured 2 lots of 3.4 litres clean water into each (be aware that although the water may not look like much, each bag of powder more than doubles the volume of mix in the bucket). Added 2 bags of powder to each bucket half a bag at a time, mixing with mixing paddle until smooth after each addition. Ran a trowel around the sides of the buckets to get any dry mix sticking there, then gave each bucket a final mix. Now got 3 really heavy buckets of creamy mix. Poured mix from bucket over an area of roughly 2 m square and into a corner then used garden rake (upside down to use the flat edge) to gently encourage mix over uncovered areas by walls, took no more than a minute or so to do. Repeated for other buckets covering whole floor in less than 5 minutes.No further action needed. Left overnight to cure completely, perfectly flat and level floor in the morning. "
+29points
32out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sulpherous odour,
By ChickenLady
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
11 February 2013
" We laid this product at the weekend following instructions and using recommended primer first - now, 2 days later, whole house is filled with a REALLY bad smell of rotten eggs! No-one else seems to have mentioned this 'side-effect'! Is this normal?
The product did what we hoped and levelled a large area but the smell is a real issue.
"
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.,
By WiganerMCFC
Expertise: Expert DIYer
20 May 2012
" This levelling compound is so easy to mix and use. Well recomend it. "
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice hard finish,
By peeweegreen
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 May 2012
Cons: you will need more than you think
" Used this to prepare my kitchen diner floor which needed tidying after removing old tiles. The concrete floor was in a right state but now looks nice and smooth which will make laying the new tiles much easier. The thickness states minumum of 5mm but I'm definately below that in places especially at the edges but the compound appears secure. I did use the recomended primer which I imagine must help.
I got through 17 bags covering 30 sq metres so it does work out expensive. Did it all in around 4 hours.
"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By magoo66
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 March 2012
" Works well easy to mix and easy to use.( First time i've used it) "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Deep Base Disappointment,
By DESPARATE
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
21 April 2011
" Basically I was disappointed with this product. Having used 70kg in all to try and level my bathroom floor. I found that the product, even though, being mixed with the correct amount of water and stirred with a Wickes paddle stirrer was too viscous. It is not, in my opinion, self levelling even after raking. It should be re-formulated to be runnier so that it actually will self level. "
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deep base levelling compound,
By stmartinsdiver
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
13 January 2011
Pros: easy to work with., good finish
Cons: expensive
" Easy to use and work. Don't take "self levelling" as meaning quite what it says though - if you pour and leave it to find its own level without working it across the area to be levelled you will find it will look like it has flowed evenly everywhere but will not necessarliy be level even when used in small areas. Rake and roll it and you will end up with a fine smooth and level finish.
Nice to use but too expensive for large areas.
"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality stuff,
By easypips
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
05 December 2010
" Great product, levelled a large area, with minimal work. Easy to mix as long as you have the paddle mixer. Shame it is so expensive, but definately a lot easier than any other method of levelling the floor. "
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chocolate cake mixture,
By jnjn
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
26 October 2010
" Pricey, but a quality product and easy to use. Mixed it up with the whisk that attaches to a drill, and and self-levels beautifully. A few learning points:
- I mixed in a bag at a time in a 14L bucket within a much larger bucket - helped contain the spashes
- My drill strugged with the mixing as it got thick towards the end. I found it best to add the powder quickly at the start, then more gradually at the end.
- A garden rake is fine for spreading: no need for a float.
- First bag split and I lost some of the powder. Consequence was the consistency was too thin and it took longer to set meaning it didn't join smoothly with the next bucketful. I should have taken some powder from the next bag, and reduced the water for the next one to compensate.
- In a few places I ended up with bubbles which led to holes in the final surface. I think I could have avoided this if I had raked through the whole area, rather than only raking where I wanted to redistribute.
"
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By ProSparky
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 June 2010
Pros: does exactly what it says and does it brilliantly
" Beeing in the construction industry, I am a very willing DIYer with most things but as I have never levelled a floor before, I was a little unsure how difficult it would be to do. Our kitchen floor had a drop in some places of upto 50mm, so I opted to use this product and I found that it performed brilliantly. Once set, I put my level on the floor and it was indeed bang on level. I will deffinitely be using this again when we tackle our lounge. If you are going to buy this product, make sure you buy a paddle for mixing it as I would imagine it would be a nightmare to mix quickly enough without one. "
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant - but...,
By SteveFromLondon
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
10 June 2010
Pros: superb for raising floors
Cons: too expensive.
" Deep base has doubled in price in just one year making it unaffordable for large jobs. It was simply the best product on the market, now I'll just knock up standard screed as this is way too expensive - shame. "
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Messy, but very quick & easy to use,
By JackoSenior
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 April 2010
Pros: superb finish effective quick & easy
Cons: messy
" Part I - Preparation:
I enjoy a bit of DIY, and I’m not afraid to try things out. But I’d never levelled a floor before. Old bathroom, 2.6m by 2m, quarry tiles, sloping about 20-25mm in one direction, about 10mm in the other leaving a ridge along the centre of the room. I had removed everything, including the skirting, and had primed the tiles with a 1:4 solution of PVA overnight, which was now dry enough to walk on. Calculations from the pack and other reviews suggested I would need 4 to 5 bags.
Bought a 40litre mixing bucket £4, 5 packs of deep base (£13.49 each), and a whisk thing (they call it a mixing paddle - £6.49), all from Wickes, because of price - and the reviews for the levelling compound.
Part II – Mixing & spreading:
I also needed an old – clean – plastic bucket for the water, marked at the level for 3.5 litres, a pair of scissors, an ordinary garden rake (cleaned!), and a trowel or scraper.
Ready! Poured first lot of water into bucket, cut open first bag of compound & poured it in. Push the powder under the water and put the whisk at the bottom of the mix before you turn on the drill, otherwise it can get VERY messy. I have splashes on the ceiling… Mixed for the required 2 minutes – I timed it to make sure. Put drill & whisk aside & poured out contents into the far corner of the room. Used scraper to get as much mixture out as possible in case it dried. Used rake (usual way up!) to push liquid into corner, and found it spread very easily indeed.
Repeated with other four bags, finishing job in 30 minutes. Used rake to encourage the mixture to cover any gaps. It really is that easy, even for an old man like me.
Part III – Afterword:
The result is superb, though I would suggest leaving it longer than the recommended 3 hours before walking on it. I left it overnight. But I got an absolutely smooth floor. It won’t level itself horizontally perfectly, but the gradient that was left was very small, certainly ok for my large ceramic tiles.
"
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deep Base Levelling Compound 20kg
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good stuff!,
By HalfEatenYorkie
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 October 2009
Pros: very easy to use., gives a good level finish without much work.
" Bought this instead of one from a builders merchant costing almost double the Wickes price. It does exactly what it says on the pack. I used it over a floor that previously had marley tiles and removed the adhesive with an SDS drill with a hard material chisel (very light pressure at about 75 degrees to surface). Pack suggested using a PVA primer which I did. Using the recommended water/powder mix produces a good flowing mix that is easy to spread and then allow to level. Coverage and drying times are also as stated on the pack. Gives a good finish. Recommended. "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>