Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop TG Chipboard Flooring or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3

Ideal for lofts and other parts of the home, except in damp and humid areas such as kitchens and bathrooms.. Tongue and groove design for rapid and easy installation.. Smooth finish. Not to be used in living space, consult a builder if using area as habitable space.. Do not use on joists or ceiling ties more than 600mm apart.. Butt joints must be positioned in the centre of joists.. Sits directly on top of space board insulation.. Responsibly sourced and E1 emissions compliant.. CE marked and compliant with EN13986 governing panels for use in construction..
Average Customer Rating:
4.596 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
45 of 47(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Review 1 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect!,
By Joeman
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 January 2013
Pros: quick and simple, cheaper than buying sheets of timber.
Cons: some where damaged, dont lay at 600mm spacing - 400mm max
"Great product, three boards per pack seems low, but any more and you would struggle to lift into the loft.
works out cheaper than buying complete boards of 18mm T&G, and saves the time having to cut them.
Dont lay at 600mm spacing unless you want a springy floor, 400mm maximum!
Only complaint would be some of the boards seemed to have been damaged in transit."
+59points
68out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product,
By Tom22
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 May 2014
Pros: fits together well, handy size for fitting in car and taking to loft, no mess, easy to install
"Good size to city the loft for a tidy installation, easy to carry, no need to cut so tidy and easy to use product"
+1point
41out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great small flooring boards,
By Digger50
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 March 2014
Pros: small size and easy to handle
"these are great for flooring the loft as there very small size make them easy to handle and get up into the loft, I would recommend you lay them all down first before fixing them as you sometimes have to lift up the previous one to giggle the tongue into the groove."
+48points
52out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy,
By Kingpinbrickie1
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 February 2014
"Good communication from all staff re delivery and purchase on line."
-31points
15out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loft Storage Panels,
By Elsupreamo
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 January 2014
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: could be a little longer
"A good product, easy to fit but for me would have been better if they were slightly longer."
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
By Trippy
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 January 2014
"Excellent item. Used these before in the garage. Now completed loft floor. Easy to use, Like laying laminate flooring.
Easy to cut with a good saw.
Would reccomend.
"
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lesser quality than previous,
By Pistemagic
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 January 2014
Pros: cheaper than competitors
Cons: size lengths widths all variable
"I have used these to board three lofts in the last 12 months. My last purchase was for 42 packs.
Within the batch were 4 packs of boards that were clearly from a different manufacturer, 1mm thicker, and the length of the boards varied by 4mm, even from the same packet, and also 2mm wider. A complete nightmare. Despite the size variation the larger boards were noticeably better quality, appearing denser and with less flex over 60cm spacings. A simple job in essence, but a nightmare thanks to Wickes poor quality control. I would not recommend these again.
"
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Service,
By brixite
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 January 2014
"Ordered 14 packs of loft boards at a very good price.
Delivered within 2 days and they even carried the packs in for me and stacked them where required.
No breakages.
Flooring was quick and easy to lay and more than adequate to store things away in the loft.
"
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
By Wox2014
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 December 2013
"The Product was delivered as expected / promised and is now installed - 'nuff said..."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loft boarded out,
By ChipperNicous
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 December 2013
"I purchased 15 packs to complete our loft space and was pleased with the result. Only downside was 3 individual boards (equivalent to 1 pack) found damaged on the side and I couldn't use them."
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loft Board,
By Cookie2
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 December 2013
"The loft board was exactly as I expected, decent good quality product.
What was exceptional was the communication and delivery service from Wickes. They asked when I would like delivery, kept me fully informed of the situation, the delivery guys called when they were nearby to let me know. It was like clockwork.
Many Thanks
"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well,
By TinaN
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
07 December 2013
"A few boards were chipped in transit however easy and quick to fit."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Prompt Service,
By DIYGI
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
03 December 2013
Pros: easy installation.
"Good product. Easy to install. Some minor chips on a few boards but understandable as I ordered a lot. Came very promptly."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By Hetty
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 November 2013
Pros: good quality well priced
Cons: possible metal fragments in fibre
"Good product reasonably priced. Only concern boards would seem to contain tiny metal particles which blunted the saw very quickly."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
By mercaclassman
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 November 2013
"good quality product, sadly several boards were damaged in transit."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chipboard loft boards,
By mammy
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
21 November 2013
"Ideal for the job, should be laid in a brick pattern and i also used batons between some of the joists to give some of the boards a little extra support.
Downside, now there is more space to store stuff I don't really need.
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what is says on the...pack,
By Squadibear
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 November 2013
Pros: good t&g to lock together
"Quick delivery and helpful driver.
Packs all arrived without any damage or snagged edges/corners.
Good T&G locking and very easy to lay. Boarded out garage roof in a couple of hours and main house roof in just a day.
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
By Trackdog
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 November 2013
Pros: easy fix, width makes easy to move, lays down quick
Cons: none
"Easy to fit, size make easy to move, goes down quick and easy to cut. Overall good product for the job"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use,
By WaveyDavey
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: easy to use, easy to handle
Cons: sneezing whilst disturbing old itchy insulation
"The packs of three are not too heavy to handle, a helper to pass up the packs, pass you tools and brews makes the job much easier than having to keep climbing up and down the ladder.
Easy enough to put together, I recommend using a small off-cut to fit the tongue pattern as a block to tap the edges of the boards flush (being chip board the tongue and groove edges are quite fragile, but it makes for easy cutting).
I doubled up the joists with 38x89mm timber prior to laying the boards so I could double up my insulation at the same time and ensure that my joists are safe to carry any extra weight.
Main benefit for me being an extra 16m2 of stable storage space that was previously wasted."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Chipboard Loft Storage Panels PK3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected,
By Artistico
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 July 2013
Pros: good value for money, relatively solid, easy to install, convenient size to for narrow loft hatches
Cons: none
"I needed some cheap and cheerful floorboards to add storage space in my loft, and after looking up another major company, I went with Wickes due to more positive reviews of their version of the product combined with a lower price and faster delivery.
I was not disappointed. The product was delivered next day, as promised, and it took me less than two hours to install the approximate 17 square metres of flooring in my loft.
My first impression, which I got as I was helping the delivery man offload his van, was that the floorboards felt solid and heavy, more so than I expected. As I unpacked them and laid them down, this first impression was quickly verified.
The spacing between the spandrels in my loft is 60cm, the maximum recommended on the product packaging. To me, however, the boards felt solid enough to accommodate even wider spacing if necessary.
The tongue and groove makes laying the boards down evenly a doddle, and though attaching them with screws is recommended, I opted to leave the floorboards loose for easy future access to wiring and to avoid tension due to heat expansion, only adding a few spots of extra strong water-based quick-bonding adhesive in strategic places to keep them from sliding when moving heavy boxes over them, though I think the conveniently high friction of the relatively rough boards against the beams and insulation would have been enough to keep them in place.
I am very happy with my purchase and wish I had done this sooner as I can now use the loft properly rather than just popping the odd box just around the hatch as I did before, adding a significant 20-odd cubic metres of convenient storage space to a small flat."
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>