Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Central Heating or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3

Wickes Loft Storage Boards are ideal to use if working in a tight area
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 Reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
54 of 57(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Review 1 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect!,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 January 2013
Pros: quick and simple, cheaper than buying sheets of timber.
Cons: some where damaged, dont lay at 600mm spacing - 400mm max
" Great product, three boards per pack seems low, but any more and you would struggle to lift into the loft.
works out cheaper than buying complete boards of 18mm T&G, and saves the time having to cut them.
Dont lay at 600mm spacing unless you want a springy floor, 400mm maximum!
Only complaint would be some of the boards seemed to have been damaged in transit. "
+71points
86out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
convenient size,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 March 2015
Pros: individual sheets light, easy to handle, easy to cut and lay, nice smooth surface finish
Cons: why no t & g on all sides
" size makes it cost effective and easy to load into any vehicle, it is easy to handle and cut with minimum wastage, now tanked out to combat damp, this is ideal as a new floor to be covered with carpet or laminate in the conservatory "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
notthebestaround,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
23 March 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: get what you pay for
" Out of a delivery of about five packs, one pack arrived with the 'tongue' side crushed. Meant that 3 panels were unuseable. Others were ok, but not especially good quality. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team27 March 2015
We would like to thank you for choosing Wickes to purchase your Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3, although we are sorry to learn of your experience. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 03301234123. Thank you, Kind Regards Wickes.
Review 4 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
loft flooring,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
19 March 2015
" Bought this product to board out the loft for which it was quite suitable. There were a few damaged edges but was able to work round them. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 March 2015
" A good value product that was very easy to lay due to the t&g joins. Although fairly heavy to handle they are the ideal size to pass through the loft hatch. They seem very strong and care needs to be taken so that they don't hang over a joist! A jig saw will come in handy! Would certainly recommend to friend. "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
did exactly what was intended,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 March 2015
" good value for money and did the job that was wanted "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't fault it,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 February 2015
" Very good value for money, seems to be decent quality chipboard too so even when cutting notches out for joists and other awkward shapes it doesn't fragment and splinter too much.
It's sized for some common joist spacing so once I'd raised the joist height to put more insulation in, fitting these was a doddle. The tongues and grooves all fitted together perfectly well.
All in all very happy with this product. Now I can put all that junk back in the loft! "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
27 February 2015
Pros: correct size for rafters
Cons: except some slightly oversize
" Click & collect worked well. Packs a little heavy to carry straight into loft, so took one at a time. Easy to fit but beware as some planks wre slightly longer than standard. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well with LoftZone,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 February 2015
" I used these to board on top of a LoftZone StoreFloor raised loft floor. I'd read that you mustn't board directly on to the joists as squashing loft insulation stops it working and contravenes building regulations. So I bought a loftzone kit and used these boards on top. They worked a treat! - I did a 6m2 section in only 45 minutes, including raising the height. A million times better than using timber to raise it up. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked well and looks good,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 February 2015
Pros: good quality easy to work with and cheap
Cons: length did not match my rafter spacing
" I was covering the whole loft space so I bought 45 packs. These arrived on a pallet well wrapped in polythene, but with tight strapping that had damaged a couple of edges. That said, Wickes are one of the few DIY suppliers who will deliver such boards.
A handful of boards had chipped corners, but since I had to shorten every board, it was not a problem.
Otherwise the boards were good quality, all the same thickness and had a smooth finish. They we easy to fit together (good tongue and grooves).
My rafters are at 470mm centres which meant I had to cut some 300mm off every board. This was quite quick with a circular saw (I did 3 at a time), but they also cut easily with a normal hand saw. A longer board would be a good option.
I had previously tried to get a 2400 x 600 board into the attic, which proved to be difficult, and which is why I went for these smaller boards.
In detail, I fitted 100 x 47 carcasing timbers to the existing rafters to bring the whole area up to the same height, and filled with 100mm of fibreglass. I cut the bottom part of the groove off every board (circular saw set to shallow depth) and screwed each board down with 3 off 4x55mm screws (one per rafter) near the groove edge (so that the top of the groove holds down the tongue of the next board) - this means that it is easy to lift a single board should I need access to wiring etc.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
21 February 2015
Pros: great product
Cons: no obvious ones at the moment
" Grooved chipboard easy to put together, served it's purpose. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
05 May 2014
Pros: fits together well, handy size for fitting in car and taking to loft, no mess, easy to install
" Good size to city the loft for a tidy installation, easy to carry, no need to cut so tidy and easy to use product "
+3points
73out of 143found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great small flooring boards,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 March 2014
Pros: small size and easy to handle
" these are great for flooring the loft as there very small size make them easy to handle and get up into the loft, I would recommend you lay them all down first before fixing them as you sometimes have to lift up the previous one to giggle the tongue into the groove. "
+75points
87out of 99found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 February 2014
" Good communication from all staff re delivery and purchase on line. "
-28points
32out of 92found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loft Storage Panels,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 January 2014
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: could be a little longer
" A good product, easy to fit but for me would have been better if they were slightly longer. "
+15points
40out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 January 2014
" Excellent item. Used these before in the garage. Now completed loft floor. Easy to use, Like laying laminate flooring.
Easy to cut with a good saw.
Would reccomend.
"
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lesser quality than previous,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 January 2014
Pros: cheaper than competitors
Cons: size lengths widths all variable
" I have used these to board three lofts in the last 12 months. My last purchase was for 42 packs.
Within the batch were 4 packs of boards that were clearly from a different manufacturer, 1mm thicker, and the length of the boards varied by 4mm, even from the same packet, and also 2mm wider. A complete nightmare. Despite the size variation the larger boards were noticeably better quality, appearing denser and with less flex over 60cm spacings. A simple job in essence, but a nightmare thanks to Wickes poor quality control. I would not recommend these again.
"
+39points
42out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Service,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 January 2014
" Ordered 14 packs of loft boards at a very good price.
Delivered within 2 days and they even carried the packs in for me and stacked them where required.
No breakages.
Flooring was quick and easy to lay and more than adequate to store things away in the loft.
"
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 December 2013
" The Product was delivered as expected / promised and is now installed - 'nuff said... "
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Chipboard Loft Panels Pack 3
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loft boarded out,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 December 2013
" I purchased 15 packs to complete our loft space and was pleased with the result. Only downside was 3 individual boards (equivalent to 1 pack) found damaged on the side and I couldn't use them. "
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>