Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Sheet Materials or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm

Versatile non-structural building board with a smooth sanded surface
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 Reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Review 1 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality plywood,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 February 2015
Pros: good price
" It does what it says it does. It is a good quality plywood for non structural work, such as boxing in pipes, making shelves etc. It is good enough for task and well worth the buy. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
10 March 2014
" Did the job it was required for good quality value for money "
+10points
19out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hardwood ply,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 November 2013
Pros: very suitable
Cons: can splinter use with care
" I purchased hardwood ply for top covering baseboards for model railway. On the correct base construction this has been a very suitable material for the tops. In 8x4 foot sheets it did tend to curve slightly, but laid flat with weights I managed to keep it in suitable shape. It is easy to cut, even with a small tennon saw provided it has suitable support.
I also used it for baseboard construction with double skinned frame and ribs. It has turned out to be a strong but light construction.
"
+22points
29out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shuttering quality ply,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
01 November 2013
" Bought 12 sheets to lay over a poorly boarded floor to provide a nice smooth surface under flooring. It was not really good enough for this. The surface layer was not sufficently bonded and tended to flake off. Also, delamination at the edges was evident on some sheets. "
+29points
41out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great value board material,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 June 2012
Pros: lightweight
Cons: my sheet was closer 5mm than 6mm
" I spent quite some time looking for a versatile sheet material for a solar oven project. It needed a sheet which was quite lightweight, fairly strong and as large as possible. The cost and lightness of this were very good, and it was strong enough for this job. "
+15points
23out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
6mm Ext Plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 May 2012
Pros: will do the job
Cons: very thin outer plys
" Not quite what the picture shows it's stout heart plywood with two thin plys and a thick centre rather than 3 or 5 even plys. "
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not much to say!,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 October 2011
Pros: good all round in side or out.
Cons: you better have big pockets.
" ply wood is expensive! wickes is the cheapest place i could find, especialy if you make a bulk order. you get what you see. "
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheet is huge!,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 July 2010
" I should have doubled checked the size as I thought it was smaller - but worked out perfect. Used the wood to redo my shed roof - Easy to cut - fitted perfectly! "
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered plywood, I got it,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 June 2010
" This plywood was exactly what I ordered! Delivery was fast and efficient, and the plywood has exactly met my expectations. I have used it to mount laminated prints for an exhibition.
I'm going to get some more!
"
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5