Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Sheet Materials or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm

Versatile non-structural building board with a smooth sanded surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 Reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 31(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Review 1 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
please with my purchase,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 June 2016
Pros: good quality, good price
Cons: none
" came on the day i that i had arranged delivery men were helpful . very pleased with the product as i was lining my shed i found the plywood ideal . will order again in the future. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
panelling,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
02 June 2016
" good product easy to handle (with gloves) and easy to cut to size "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 May 2016
Pros: good price
Cons: variable quality
" Since installing the plywood to a floor, some of the layers on one of the sheets has started to lift off. All the others are okay. Variable quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I needed.,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 May 2016
" A light weight ply with a good face. Pity I will not be varnishing them, they would look good.
There were two people who delivered them and they were very helpful and polite.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 March 2016
Pros: good delivery
Cons: cost to much to get deliverd
" Nothing wrong with the product . Delivery was fine. Delivery cost. Was far to dear. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 February 2016
" I'm producing a large built in wardrobe and wanted a more robust backing than often used hardboard. This provided the extra strength needed in an economical way. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just Right,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 February 2016
" Ply was as expected and of good quality with no damage on delivery. Delivery guys were excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sheets,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 February 2016
" These were great sheets no blemishes or other defects as they are thin sheets this was a big asset "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's ply and it's wood.,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 December 2015
Pros: it's what it says on the tin.
Cons: awkward to carry from delivery point to shed.
" Says it all really. Not much more to add. Seems like decent quality but I'm a DIYer not a tradie. What would I know ? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
average,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
19 December 2015
" It would have been nice if the plywood sheets supplied had been flat and curled up like a stale sandwich. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Made the job easy,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
02 November 2015
Pros: good quality plywood
" Perfect product for the job in hand.
Just make sure you have the right tools (ie saw and panel pins for example.)
All of theses were available at Wickes too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply The Best,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 September 2015
Pros: reliability is what it's all about !
" Last delivery of 5.5mm Ply, on time, good quality, no shakes, helpful, friendly delivery guys, as always. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just The Job!,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 August 2015
Pros: flexible and reasonably sturdy
Cons: size - 2400 mm x 1200 mm. you'll need a roof-rack!
" I cut the plywood board into eight strips (each 150 mm wide), which I used to form border edging to re-landscape a friend's garden. The plywood is 5.5 mm thick, which means it is sturdy enough (when screwed to battens driven into the ground) to hold back a grass edge, but also flexible enough to provide edges to curved borders. Some green wood stain finished things off before building up the ground with soil and sowing grass seed. Job done. Neat! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-13points
3out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 August 2015
" We bought the plywood to put down into the kitchen onto floor boards. Went down easy cut easy and is solid to put a floor on top of it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful Sheeting,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 August 2015
" This board has an attractive finish which be varnished or painted. As it is only 5.5mm thick it needs pinning to a sturdy frame. This served well as a cupboard side and top. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mold,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
30 July 2015
" Only ordered one sheet but it arrived with mold on it on the top and bottom 6 inches. Fairly simple to remove but still left a stain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 May 2015
Pros: good quality
Cons: can be large differences in colour between sheets
" Does what you would expect, easy to cut with not much chipping. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rock and a hard place,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
14 May 2015
Pros: ok for our purposes
Cons: warped chipped and different colours
" I ordered two sheets. I purchased these because it was slightly cheaper than elsewhere, said they didn't warp and next day delivery was available.
A corner was chipped on both - about an inch - they were more than slightly warped on arrival but moreover, they were completely different colours. The colour doesn't matter for us as we have cut two semi circles to form a circle under a hot tub and painted with yacht varnish but the warping before even used does. The colour differentiation will also affect other customers as they may have wanted to use both pieces unpainted somewhere. I felt we were given 'odds and sods' to be honest but when tacked down and under a foam protector this product should still do the job. For others, I'm not so sure "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not great quality,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
12 May 2015
" Ordered 7 boards and they were all warped. Used them anyway as only for an internal garage roof but they were badly warped. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team13 May 2015
Hello, we appreciate you spending the time to write a review and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience and we assure you our Customer Services team will be happy to look into this matter for you. Please don’t hesitate contact Customer Services on 0330 1234 123. Kind Regards, Wickes.
Review 20 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 May 2015
" Very few imperfections, corners square.
Nice wood, took primer and emulsion well and has given a nice finish.
I used 3.5mm TurboGold Woodscrews Double-Self-Countersunk to fix the ply to the frame and was able to set the screw holes even only 5mm from the edge without crunching.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>