Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Sheet Materials or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.

Product Reviews

Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm

Versatile non-structural building board with a smooth sanded surface
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 Reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Review 1 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just The Job!,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 August 2015
Pros: flexible and reasonably sturdy
Cons: size - 2400 mm x 1200 mm. you'll need a roof-rack!
" I cut the plywood board into eight strips (each 150 mm wide), which I used to form border edging to re-landscape a friend's garden. The plywood is 5.5 mm thick, which means it is sturdy enough (when screwed to battens driven into the ground) to hold back a grass edge, but also flexible enough to provide edges to curved borders. Some green wood stain finished things off before building up the ground with soil and sowing grass seed. Job done. Neat! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09 August 2015
" We bought the plywood to put down into the kitchen onto floor boards. Went down easy cut easy and is solid to put a floor on top of it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful Sheeting,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 August 2015
" This board has an attractive finish which be varnished or painted. As it is only 5.5mm thick it needs pinning to a sturdy frame. This served well as a cupboard side and top. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mold,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
30 July 2015
" Only ordered one sheet but it arrived with mold on it on the top and bottom 6 inches. Fairly simple to remove but still left a stain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 May 2015
Pros: good quality
Cons: can be large differences in colour between sheets
" Does what you would expect, easy to cut with not much chipping. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rock and a hard place,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
14 May 2015
Pros: ok for our purposes
Cons: warped chipped and different colours
" I ordered two sheets. I purchased these because it was slightly cheaper than elsewhere, said they didn't warp and next day delivery was available.
A corner was chipped on both - about an inch - they were more than slightly warped on arrival but moreover, they were completely different colours. The colour doesn't matter for us as we have cut two semi circles to form a circle under a hot tub and painted with yacht varnish but the warping before even used does. The colour differentiation will also affect other customers as they may have wanted to use both pieces unpainted somewhere. I felt we were given 'odds and sods' to be honest but when tacked down and under a foam protector this product should still do the job. For others, I'm not so sure "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not great quality,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
12 May 2015
" Ordered 7 boards and they were all warped. Used them anyway as only for an internal garage roof but they were badly warped. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team13 May 2015
Hello, we appreciate you spending the time to write a review and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience and we assure you our Customer Services team will be happy to look into this matter for you. Please don’t hesitate contact Customer Services on 0330 1234 123. Kind Regards, Wickes.
Review 8 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
05 May 2015
" Very few imperfections, corners square.
Nice wood, took primer and emulsion well and has given a nice finish.
I used 3.5mm TurboGold Woodscrews Double-Self-Countersunk to fix the ply to the frame and was able to set the screw holes even only 5mm from the edge without crunching.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not all it seemed,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
07 April 2015
Pros: 6 sheets excellent
Cons: 1 sheet not the same quality as the others
" Ordered 7 sheets of this plywood . 6 were excellent quality but one was definitely inferior and had been 'hidden' in the middle of the others when delivered.
It was a different colour and in fact appeared used. Because of the inconvenience I decided to take a chance in the hope it would look OK after painting.
The sheets were to line a summerhouse and the odd sheet is now evident. Very disappointed and would never order this type of product online again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality plywood,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 February 2015
Pros: good price
" It does what it says it does. It is a good quality plywood for non structural work, such as boxing in pipes, making shelves etc. It is good enough for task and well worth the buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
10 March 2014
" Did the job it was required for good quality value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
21out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hardwood ply,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 November 2013
Pros: very suitable
Cons: can splinter use with care
" I purchased hardwood ply for top covering baseboards for model railway. On the correct base construction this has been a very suitable material for the tops. In 8x4 foot sheets it did tend to curve slightly, but laid flat with weights I managed to keep it in suitable shape. It is easy to cut, even with a small tennon saw provided it has suitable support.
I also used it for baseboard construction with double skinned frame and ribs. It has turned out to be a strong but light construction.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+26points
33out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shuttering quality ply,
  • Top 100 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
01 November 2013
" Bought 12 sheets to lay over a poorly boarded floor to provide a nice smooth surface under flooring. It was not really good enough for this. The surface layer was not sufficently bonded and tended to flake off. Also, delamination at the edges was evident on some sheets. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+35points
47out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great value board material,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 June 2012
Pros: lightweight
Cons: my sheet was closer 5mm than 6mm
" I spent quite some time looking for a versatile sheet material for a solar oven project. It needed a sheet which was quite lightweight, fairly strong and as large as possible. The cost and lightness of this were very good, and it was strong enough for this job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
23out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
6mm Ext Plywood,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 May 2012
Pros: will do the job
Cons: very thin outer plys
" Not quite what the picture shows it's stout heart plywood with two thin plys and a thick centre rather than 3 or 5 even plys. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not much to say!,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 October 2011
Pros: good all round in side or out.
Cons: you better have big pockets.
" ply wood is expensive! wickes is the cheapest place i could find, especialy if you make a bulk order. you get what you see. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheet is huge!,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
04 July 2010
" I should have doubled checked the size as I thought it was smaller - but worked out perfect. Used the wood to redo my shed roof - Easy to cut - fitted perfectly! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
14out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered plywood, I got it,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 June 2010
" This plywood was exactly what I ordered! Delivery was fast and efficient, and the plywood has exactly met my expectations. I have used it to mount laminated prints for an exhibition.
I'm going to get some more!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
8out of 18found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 5.5x1220x2440mm
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingsOverall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5