Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Sheet Materials or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm

Versatile non-structural building board with a smooth sanded surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 Reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Review 1 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Outdoor use?,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
01 March 2016
" Picked up 18 sheets for a workshop, looked good quality. But after 6 months the sheets have come apart and de-laminated even after it was treated with a good quality wood preserver. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team03 March 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. Please don’t hesitate to call our Customer Services team on 0330 123 4123 if you wish to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Wickes.
Review 2 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 January 2016
" Used as a conservatory floor....Laid on an original concrete surface and then carpeted....The plywood was flat and smooth.....Delivered in excellent condition ....Dry. On laying the finish was good enough to have been left as a final surface...Would most definately use again...Excellent product, Excellent value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Quality Plywood,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
28 December 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: poor quality dressed up to look good
" Sold as hardwood plywood the hardwood veneer on the face is less than paper thin and you sand right through it to a light core without trying. The core plywood may or may not be hardwood but is very poor quality whatever it is. The product looks good but in my opinion is poor quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 December 2015
" Great product excellent in every aspect. It served my purpose, happy with the item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
02 August 2015
Pros: smooth, lightweight
" A good quality product ,I used to make shelving / racking for my new work van.Strong enough to take 6mm screws in the edges. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality at best price,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
07 July 2015
Pros: delivered as stated on time
" I purchased 6 sheets of this to make a dance floor for a charity event. The finish is good, they were delivered on time and were cheaper than equivalents from all oher sources I researched "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality.,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 February 2015
" We have used this for decking for Onduline roofing. We have just used it for going under the external cladding of our rebuilt garden/office. We have had two online deliveries, all sheets delivered in good condition. We shall be ordering some more soon. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tropical hardwood ply,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
01 November 2014
Pros: good price
Cons: lots of small gaps in internal plys
" "This is a 7-ply softwood plywood with both faces finished with a VERY thin tropical hardwood veneer. It is a standard commercial item that can be sourced from numerous outlets, although at least around here, the Wickes prices is good. To be honest I am not sure what this product is aimed at - why sacrifice tropical hardwood if it is not to be seen? I actually bought it to make some book cases, which will be edged with hardwood strips, sealed and waxed. If you want something to paint there are far more appropriate and suitable plys available - hardwood does not take paint well anyway, and as for lining a shed, unless you regularly have cocktail parties in it............. Unless you do want a hardwood finish even something like very cheap and cheerful shuttering ply, if you pick and choose for finish and grain pattern, will produce a perfectly acceptable/smart finish when sealed, for any non-load-bearing use. Please be responsible - if you don't need tropical hardwood, even if sustainably produced, even if a wafer thin veneer, DO NOT USE IT." "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
32out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flaws,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
04 April 2014
" When cutting to sizes for the project in hand small patches of non adhesion between plies were found were revealed. These had to be glued by me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 December 2013
" I purchased this ply on the reviews I had seen. Good product no flaws I could see, sharp corners and edges without damage, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for a shed,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
04 July 2012
" I used the exterior plywood panels for the roof of a shed I have constructed; they do an excellent job. I would use them again. Used in conjunction with Wickes roof shingles, the roof of the shed looks good and will last for many years. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+25points
30out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
timber sheet,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
02 February 2011
" Nice plywood good for lining out my shed.
Good purchase
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 January 2011
" Very decent plyboard that arrived dry and all edges and corners were intact. Exactly as required. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
16out of 27found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 12 x 1220 x 2440mm
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
RatingsOverall Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Quality:
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5