Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Sheet Materials or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Product Reviews

Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm

Versatile non-structural building board with a smooth sanded surface
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 Reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Review 1 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor.,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
29 March 2015
Cons: substandard in several areas.
" Bought two sheets for custom project.
On checking at home found that it was 16.5mm NOT 18mm so did not match existing timber was working with.
The outer veneer was VERY thin and had de-laminated in places, it was also structurally compromised in several areas.
Ended up using it for odds and sods and bought from another merchants.
Would not buy again or recommend this product from this merchant.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team30 March 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to learn you’re having trouble with your new Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm, and we really want to understand why this has happened. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 03301234123. Thank you, Kind Regards.
Review 2 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but lacks quality control,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
17 March 2015
Pros: inexpensive boards
Cons: quality assurance lacking
" Bought two boards. One had a chunk missing from one side and the other board had surface delamination on both sides.
These boards were delivered and I could cope with their defects and really didn't want the aggravation of returning them.
Always collect materials that could be subject to defects and carry out your own quality assurance checks because Wickes checks aren't always good enough.
"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 March 2015
" We bought 3 boards on a red pencil offer - brilliant value, excellent quality and the boards were perfect with no glitches or blemishes - can highly recommend. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Peeling problems,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
02 March 2015
Pros: cheap
Cons: surface veneer peels and bubbles, not so suitable for exterior use
" The surface layer of veneer is paper thin and peels off from the edges when you cut the plywood, it also bubbles in the wet, which makes me doubt that it is actually suitable for exterior use. I got this as a replacement for the softwood plywood which was out of stock, but got this for the same price so I couldn't really mark the value for money as poor, especially as this is a lot cheaper than all other competitors. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Wickes:By WickesOnline Team27 March 2015
We would like to thank you for choosing Wickes to purchase your Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm, although we are sorry to learn of your experience. We take all of our customer reviews seriously, so please be assured that your comments will be read and any issues investigated thoroughly. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to speak to our Customer Services team on 03301234123. Thank you, Kind Regards Wickes.
Review 5 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's ok,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
29 December 2014
Cons: goes mouldy.
" It did the job of re-roofing our garage - with the support of some noggins. However the underside has started to go mouldy!
I guess it needs to be treated.. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 April 2014
" I wanted the hardwood ply to make some bookcases that I have faced in pine. The sheets I received were all of a consistently good quality. No problems at all. I've ordered some more to use on another project. "
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 December 2013
" The plywood was just as you would expect it to be. "
-13points
2out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
10 December 2013
Pros: good price
Cons: may vary in thickness
" Originally bought a batch of this plywood for stiffening a floor in June 2012. The plywood was made in Malaysia and looked like the picture. After four months I needed more for another floor I reordered what I thought would be the same good quality sheet but I received an inferior sheet made in China that varied in thickness. We tried laying it but when we realised that we had 2.5mm steps appearing along some edges we rejected it. Wickes to their credit tried to find the better quality sheet for us but in the end they collected it all and gave me a full refund. "
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shower base.,
  • Top 1000 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 November 2013
Pros: good quality
" I bought this plywood as i was making a frame to raise the floor in my small bathroom the plywood was for the top. I then put a new shower tray on the top of the plywood after treating the wood. The shower room is all finished now tiled from roof to floor. The plywood is very good quality and was cut with an electric saw to size and screwed down well. I renewed the walls first and replaced the toilet and basin then i started to tile the whole shower room all wall boards and tiles supplied from Wickes. "
-20points
11out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Splintery,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
31 December 2012
" Hopefully strong enough. Very splintery, dodgy to handle. "
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad quality plywood,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
25 November 2012
Pros: none
Cons: wrapped, bad quality
" I need these 18mm exterior grade plywood sheets for making workshop cabinets. In Wickes store, I had to pick through 3~4 sheets with surface damages before found two sheets that look OK.
Once started to cut the sheets, I noticed the sheets are not flat, actually quite badly wrapped, 30~40mm out from ends to middle. Also from the sides of the cuts, it clearly show the plywood mid layers have large holes. Very disappointed about the quality, and these are not cheap!
I hope Wickes will take note and stop selling these as exterior grade for joinery.
"
+63points
64out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Quality Ever,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
07 July 2012
Pros: nothing, firewood
Cons: price, quality
" Worst quality Ply I have ever used, once cut into the ply layers had not been glued, so they simply delaminated.
Face of sheet was OK, but repairs were of a poor quality.
"
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plywood,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
12 August 2011
Pros: quality
Cons: cost
" Used under ceramic floor tiles and gave a good surface. A bit expensive especially when delivery cost is included but was delivered at 9.00 a.m. the day after ordered. "
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Delivery,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 November 2010
" Very impressed with speed of delivery. Ordered pm Wednesday, delivered 07.30 Thursday morning. All as ordered and in good condition. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
18 October 2010
Pros: actual product is good
Cons: delivery too expensive
" The ply was good but slightly warped and slightly damaged on one side and scuffed all over. It looked like an old sheet that had been lying around in the store that nobody buys. Somebody needs to check the quality and condition of the goods before dispatch. I didn't need the whole sheet so it didn't really matter in this case.
Delivery is TOO expensive
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very satisfactory,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 September 2010
" I bought 5 sheets to cut into 2400x75mm strips and lay as an underfloor for oak t and g boards.
The boards cut cleanly and easily.
The boards had at least one good external face and could have been used for facing.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18mm Exterior Plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 September 2010
" Replaced 1933 floorboards in bathroom & WC area - excellent no problems - recommend this product. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Roof,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 August 2010
Pros: add a pro
" Perfect for my new extention roof & garage, I now have perfect peace of mind I have the best material for the job and it will last me for life. "
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for use as flooring,
  • Top 250 Contributor
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 June 2010
Pros: decent thickness for use as flooring, flawless finish, finished job looks really good
" I used three sheets of this plywood to renew the floor in our bathroom. When delivered I checked all three sheets and found they were all flawless. There was no evidence of filler used on them, even when cut.
They were a joy to lay and have performed faultlessly.
I would certainly recommend it.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Non Structural Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed,
By
Expertise: Trade
10 July 2008
Pros: none
Cons: many
" I purchased a sheet of this ext ply 5 days ago had to move several sheets to find one which did not have more filler than wood in it,
Now after only 5 days outside and moderate rain for a couple of days it is already parting and warping. will have to get another sheet and do the job again!. Total waste of money and to be avoided at all cost.
"
+42points
49out of 56found this review helpful.