Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Plywood or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.

Product Reviews

Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm

Smooth sanded surface.. Has a high weight to strength ratio.. Uses include general joinery, shelving, boxing in, signage, fascia's and soffits, van and trailer linings, stressed skin panels, huts, garages, sheds, external joinery, walkways, temporary structures, rail and road containers, packing cases, bins, silos, hold lining in ships, vehicle building, cold storage containers, benches, shelving and concrete formwork. Used as external wall panels and claddings but only when edge sealed.. Responsibly sourced and E1 emissions compliant.. CE marked and compliant with EN13986 governing panels for use in construction.. When used externally all faces and edges should be treated with an appropriate preserver. Made from thin timber layers laid at right angles and heat bonded with resin adhesive. Trimmed and sanded. Designed to resist warping and bending.
Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Review 1 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality product,
By DeviantDIY
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
01 April 2014
"I wanted the hardwood ply to make some bookcases that I have faced in pine. The sheets I received were all of a consistently good quality. No problems at all. I've ordered some more to use on another project."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended,
By jonxb
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 December 2013
"The plywood was just as you would expect it to be."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
By Macker55
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
10 December 2013
Pros: good price
Cons: may vary in thickness
"Originally bought a batch of this plywood for stiffening a floor in June 2012. The plywood was made in Malaysia and looked like the picture. After four months I needed more for another floor I reordered what I thought would be the same good quality sheet but I received an inferior sheet made in China that varied in thickness. We tried laying it but when we realised that we had 2.5mm steps appearing along some edges we rejected it. Wickes to their credit tried to find the better quality sheet for us but in the end they collected it all and gave me a full refund."
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shower base.,
By Dreadgod
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 November 2013
Pros: good quality
"I bought this plywood as i was making a frame to raise the floor in my small bathroom the plywood was for the top. I then put a new shower tray on the top of the plywood after treating the wood. The shower room is all finished now tiled from roof to floor. The plywood is very good quality and was cut with an electric saw to size and screwed down well. I renewed the walls first and replaced the toilet and basin then i started to tile the whole shower room all wall boards and tiles supplied from Wickes."
-9points
3out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Splintery,
By CPochin
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
31 December 2012
"Hopefully strong enough. Very splintery, dodgy to handle."
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad quality plywood,
By GardenDIYer
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
25 November 2012
Pros: none
Cons: wrapped, bad quality
"I need these 18mm exterior grade plywood sheets for making workshop cabinets. In Wickes store, I had to pick through 3~4 sheets with surface damages before found two sheets that look OK.
Once started to cut the sheets, I noticed the sheets are not flat, actually quite badly wrapped, 30~40mm out from ends to middle. Also from the sides of the cuts, it clearly show the plywood mid layers have large holes. Very disappointed about the quality, and these are not cheap!
I hope Wickes will take note and stop selling these as exterior grade for joinery.
"
+50points
51out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Quality Ever,
By Chippy4x2
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for money:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
07 July 2012
Pros: nothing, firewood
Cons: price, quality
"Worst quality Ply I have ever used, once cut into the ply layers had not been glued, so they simply delaminated.
Face of sheet was OK, but repairs were of a poor quality.
"
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plywood,
By Roye
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
12 August 2011
Pros: quality
Cons: cost
"Used under ceramic floor tiles and gave a good surface. A bit expensive especially when delivery cost is included but was delivered at 9.00 a.m. the day after ordered."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Delivery,
By Plum
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 November 2010
"Very impressed with speed of delivery. Ordered pm Wednesday, delivered 07.30 Thursday morning. All as ordered and in good condition."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By getonwithit
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
18 October 2010
Pros: actual product is good
Cons: delivery too expensive
"The ply was good but slightly warped and slightly damaged on one side and scuffed all over. It looked like an old sheet that had been lying around in the store that nobody buys. Somebody needs to check the quality and condition of the goods before dispatch. I didn't need the whole sheet so it didn't really matter in this case.
Delivery is TOO expensive
"
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very satisfactory,
By manasotaman
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 September 2010
"I bought 5 sheets to cut into 2400x75mm strips and lay as an underfloor for oak t and g boards.
The boards cut cleanly and easily.
The boards had at least one good external face and could have been used for facing.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18mm Exterior Plywood,
By Constructor7
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
08 September 2010
"Replaced 1933 floorboards in bathroom & WC area - excellent no problems - recommend this product."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Roof,
By billmart
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 August 2010
Pros: add a pro
"Perfect for my new extention roof & garage, I now have perfect peace of mind I have the best material for the job and it will last me for life."
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent for use as flooring,
By Teece
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 June 2010
Pros: decent thickness for use as flooring, flawless finish, finished job looks really good
"I used three sheets of this plywood to renew the floor in our bathroom. When delivered I checked all three sheets and found they were all flawless. There was no evidence of filler used on them, even when cut.
They were a joy to lay and have performed faultlessly.
I would certainly recommend it.
"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hardwood Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed,
By Anonymous
Expertise: Trade
10 July 2008
Pros: none
Cons: many
"I purchased a sheet of this ext ply 5 days ago had to move several sheets to find one which did not have more filler than wood in it,
Now after only 5 days outside and moderate rain for a couple of days it is already parting and warping. will have to get another sheet and do the job again!. Total waste of money and to be avoided at all cost.
"
+35points
42out of 49found this review helpful.