Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Sheet Materials or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm

High strength, premium quality structural panel
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 Reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Review 1 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value board,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 March 2014
Pros: good quality and good value!
Cons: none
" These sheets of external ply were better than I expected. They were well finished and extremely good value for money. "
+27points
31out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth using,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 February 2014
Pros: goodsolid structure to the ply layers
Cons: slightly warped when offloaded due to strapping
" Good straightforward product. Used for a medium sized external roof decking and has held up well under very wet conditions under a tarpaulin awaiting dry weather for felting.
Ply layers are solid when cut with very few cavities so is a good choice for furniture manufacture or external use.
Boards were a touch bowed due to tying down in damp conditions on the lorry over night but straightened out on the rafters when fixed down.
"
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
structural plywood,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 January 2014
Pros: reasonably light to handle with assistance
Cons: needs to be stored flat or upright
" this is a good product ideal for its purpose. I've used it to make workshop shelving and sliding doors. It's important to store it flat,I didn't resulting in some warping of the board. "
+25points
33out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll use this again,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
25 November 2013
" Better quality panels overall than I've had before from other sources. No edge delamination or surface divots, and no voids found when cutting.
I will order them again for my next project, despite the slight;y higher price than elsewhere. "
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
" I required a flat smooth surface to cover my garage roof and the boards did the job. Consistent size and thickness made the job easy. "
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Structual plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: easy to cut
" Bought this from wickes as the price was very good plus they delivery was quick and easy I used the ply to replace the floors in my home its an excellent product and would really recommend it "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Could do better,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: cheap
Cons: variable quality
" I bought 11 sheets. 1 proved unusable do to severe bowing. 3 others were also bowed badly but I could use them with additional stiffening in the construction (extra cost to me). Several of the flat sheets had many drop out knot holes on one side which was OK except where the other side had a surface where the wood had become 'furry' which was a pain. I recommend others to visit the store and select their sheets. I don't have transport for sheets this size so they were ordered online and delivered. "
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for use,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 November 2013
" I used this to build rough cabinets in the workshop, strong and cheap is what matters and this stuff is that and can take a good battering unlike some other sheet goods like MDF "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 November 2013
Pros: it was the cheapest in my area
" Used this plywood to replace rotten boards on a garage external back wall.
It is good quality, came at a good price, delivered on time and by helpful drivers.
Cuts well and has made a solid replacement to what was there previously.
Covered well when painted and look the part.
Well done Wickes. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Wood,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 April 2011
Pros: board size remains within a few mm's of each other
Cons: some boards come curved
" Great product at a reasonable price, when you buy alot then it works out even better. "
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 April 2011
" This board is strong and reasonably priced. An ideal product for roofing. "
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ply away!!!,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 February 2011
Pros: quality product
Cons: you will / may find cheaper
" quality plyboard, well constructed & at a decent price - however did not look too hard for alternatives - regularly use Wickes & will continue to do so. "
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
02 February 2011
" 18mm Structural Ply. Bought on-line. Wickes website very easy to use, good pricing and delivery personnel were really helpful and friendly. Would definately use Wickes on-line again. "
+9points
22out of 35found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
RatingsOverall Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5