Wickes Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Wickes
Shop Sheet Materials or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top-Rated Products are highest-rated products that have received a substantial number of total customer ratings or reviews.
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm

High strength, premium quality structural panel
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 Reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Review 1 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 July 2015
" Used to reroof a shed. Good quality ply, will last a long time! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid, strong, well machined,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
06 July 2015
" I like these better than an equivalent from my trade supplier. Much cheaper than equivalent external ply but still neat and perfectly machined. This load was packed well and delivered promptly and carefully. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ply sheet,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
08 June 2015
" Great product for the price, did not have to carry, already dealt with by delivery lads, great service "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice quality sheets!,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 April 2015
Pros: nice quality (unlike their whitewood batons)
Cons: expensive to get large sheets delivered
" These plywood sheets are really nice quality and good to work with so am happy to recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shed head,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
22 April 2015
Pros: ease of use
Cons: heavy to lift in full sheet on your own
" This sheet of plywood was ideal for replacement to shed roof which had deteriorated.
Used it as a secure base to put weatherproof topping on so should last many years as I had painted it with weather protecting paint.
Good and easy to use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18mm Ply,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
18 April 2015
Pros: solid but light enough to handle
" Purchased 6 off for a shed roof. The product cut well and was solid but light enough to handle by one person. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 April 2015
Pros: price
" A good product at a good price, which suited me perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value product,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 April 2015
" I found this plywood very good quality and at a good price. I used it to replace a shed floor which was made from OSB and came with the shed when new, it only lasted for 3 years. I expect this to last much longer and I have no doubt it will. Easy to cut with no gaps between the layers that I could see. Also looks great now its down. I also used Wickes sleepers for the floor joists as I had some I bought some time ago. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting quality plywood. A* "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value.,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 March 2015
" I purchased 21 of these boards and they were delivered on a pallet. The boards are excellent quality with no gaps in the bonding.
My only gripe is that 2 of the boards in the centre were very badly marked. One with footprints and the other with blue paint from a previous pallet.
Other than that, I am very pleased with the quality.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ply Wood,
By
Expertise: Easy DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
09 March 2015
" Fantastic product purchased to strengthen the walls of a horse shelter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value board,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 March 2014
Pros: good quality and good value!
Cons: none
" These sheets of external ply were better than I expected. They were well finished and extremely good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+28points
34out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth using,
  • Top 500 Contributor
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 February 2014
Pros: goodsolid structure to the ply layers
Cons: slightly warped when offloaded due to strapping
" Good straightforward product. Used for a medium sized external roof decking and has held up well under very wet conditions under a tarpaulin awaiting dry weather for felting.
Ply layers are solid when cut with very few cavities so is a good choice for furniture manufacture or external use.
Boards were a touch bowed due to tying down in damp conditions on the lorry over night but straightened out on the rafters when fixed down.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+43points
44out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
structural plywood,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
29 January 2014
Pros: reasonably light to handle with assistance
Cons: needs to be stored flat or upright
" this is a good product ideal for its purpose. I've used it to make workshop shelving and sliding doors. It's important to store it flat,I didn't resulting in some warping of the board. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+27points
35out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll use this again,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
25 November 2013
" Better quality panels overall than I've had before from other sources. No edge delamination or surface divots, and no voids found when cutting.
I will order them again for my next project, despite the slight;y higher price than elsewhere. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
" I required a flat smooth surface to cover my garage roof and the boards did the job. Consistent size and thickness made the job easy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Structual plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: easy to cut
" Bought this from wickes as the price was very good plus they delivery was quick and easy I used the ply to replace the floors in my home its an excellent product and would really recommend it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Could do better,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
15 November 2013
Pros: cheap
Cons: variable quality
" I bought 11 sheets. 1 proved unusable do to severe bowing. 3 others were also bowed badly but I could use them with additional stiffening in the construction (extra cost to me). Several of the flat sheets had many drop out knot holes on one side which was OK except where the other side had a surface where the wood had become 'furry' which was a pain. I recommend others to visit the store and select their sheets. I don't have transport for sheets this size so they were ordered online and delivered. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for use,
By
Expertise: Expert DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 November 2013
" I used this to build rough cabinets in the workshop, strong and cheap is what matters and this stuff is that and can take a good battering unlike some other sheet goods like MDF "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plywood,
By
Expertise: Moderate DIYer
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 November 2013
Pros: it was the cheapest in my area
" Used this plywood to replace rotten boards on a garage external back wall.
It is good quality, came at a good price, delivered on time and by helpful drivers.
Cuts well and has made a solid replacement to what was there previously.
Covered well when painted and look the part.
Well done Wickes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wickes Structural Spruce Plywood 18x1220x2440mm
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Wood,
By
Expertise: Trade
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 April 2011
Pros: board size remains within a few mm's of each other
Cons: some boards come curved
" Great product at a reasonable price, when you buy alot then it works out even better. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>